Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

How to make a TM 260 easily removovable (cable routing)

Notices

How to make a TM 260 easily removovable (cable routing)

Old 02-09-2012, 05:03 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 518
Default How to make a TM 260 easily removovable (cable routing)

I just received my TM 260 from Semper Fi the other day and upon studying, it became apparent to me that with its 6 foot cable with plug on end and the fact that it can be removed from its bracket by simply pulling the two pins,
that it could be removed for off season or when Im not going fishing etc. but the problem is how to run the cable through the transom and either have water tight seal or drill high and put some type of hardware to finish the hole off, but still be able to pull the cable out when its time to remove the ducer. I thought of getting a beaker stopper (like we used in science class) LOL and slice it long ways, put the cable in the hole and push it in a sized hole in the transom above the waterline - anyway I am just looking for some creative ideas of how to "Gitter Done" ! Attached is a photo of the transom thanks for any ideas 1
Attached Images  
spokewrench is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 06:15 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,804
Default

The are two ways to do it with your bracket set up. Your first item is decide how you want to run the cable from its moounting location pictured by the blue dot in the picture below. The first question is how are your motor cables and gas lines routed thru your transom?

Here are two options ......

1. Route it thru the boots for the starboard motor if there is a boot configuration.

2. Drill a hole in the transom bulkhead and do one of two things. Pull the cable thru the hole use marine putty to seal the hole and cover is with the clam shell that came with your tm260 OR buy a female/male static plug that would be permanently installed in the hole you drill in your transom. You could plug the tm260 cable in the outside female plug and the cable that runs to your MFD to the iinside part of the plug. It would be very simple to connect and disconnect the ducers 7 pin cable to remove it from your boat.


bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 06:28 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 10,453
Default

The main thing I would be concerned with on your setup is the transducer placement. The TM260 is Huge and if you place it in the wrong place you can starve your motors cooling system. Im guessing the right placement would be pretty close to where your old transducer is then run the wiring up the starboard side of the motor bracket then through the rigging hose. its hard to tell from your picture what kind of rigging setup you have for your motors. I would want the cable to run either over the transom or trough the transom well above the waterline. Once again cant really see your transom configuration.
offshore3144 is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 06:37 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,804
Default

Mark ....... Looks like he has enough room to mount the TM260 where his other ducer is currently mounted. You need at least 6 inches in width for mounting this whale. Might be an issue with the tralier bunks but that can be over come.


Last edited by bluewaterpirate; 02-09-2012 at 07:39 AM.
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 08:05 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 518
Default

Thanks for the replies ! It has to go where Tom put the blue dot as this is where I mounted my p 66 as the location on this photo (old pix) would not hold bottom at speed. I think my water intakes on the motors are lower, but It could be a concern.

I like the plug in Idea Tom, just not too sure about corrosion issues with all the salt spray back there.
spokewrench is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 11:40 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alaska
Posts: 271
Default

Spoke: I have been using a TM260 with an FCV 585 for the last two seasons - LOVE IT!

I used a Blue Seas Cable Clam http://bluesea.com/category/82/productline/overview/1
to run the cable though the transom. I think the one I used was the large one. The hole in the Clam was large enough for the for the transducer connector to go through without any hassle. Simple, easy and waterproof.
Shark Bait II is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 01:11 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,300
Default

Originally Posted by Shark Bait II View Post

I used a Blue Seas Cable Clam http://bluesea.com/category/82/productline/overview/1
to run the cable though the transom. I think the one I used was the large one. The hole in the Clam was large enough for the for the transducer connector to go through without any hassle. Simple, easy and waterproof.
That sounds great.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 02-09-2012, 07:19 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 518
Default

Originally Posted by Shark Bait II View Post
Spoke: I have been using a TM260 with an FCV 585 for the last two seasons - LOVE IT!

I used a Blue Seas Cable Clam http://bluesea.com/category/82/productline/overview/1
to run the cable though the transom. I think the one I used was the large one. The hole in the Clam was large enough for the for the transducer connector to go through without any hassle. Simple, easy and waterproof.
I think you solved my problem ! Thanks for sharing ! Imagine learning about a problem in Fl. from a member in Alaska ! So cool-
spokewrench is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 08:05 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,300
Default

Originally Posted by spokewrench View Post
Thanks for sharing ! Imagine learning about a problem in Fl. from a member in Alaska ! So cool-
And you were sold a transducer from someone who lives in both Northern Ca. and Alaska..but it was shipped from S. Carolina to you in FL......lol

The world of the internet.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 02-10-2012, 05:07 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 518
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
And you were sold a transducer from someone who lives in both Northern Ca. and Alaska..but it was shipped from S. Carolina to you in FL......lol

The world of the internet.
LOL ! It looks like WestMarine has them ! Thanks for the help !
spokewrench is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 08:22 AM
  #11  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,874
Default

While you are making a convenience for yourself, I'm sure there are thieves who appreciate your efforts more than you know.

You need to lock those two pins somehow.

Edd
Edd is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 05:48 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 518
Default

Originally Posted by Edd View Post
While you are making a convenience for yourself, I'm sure there are thieves who appreciate your efforts more than you know.

You need to lock those two pins somehow.

Edd
Funny you mention it, this is one of the main reasons why I want to be able to remove it when we are not in Florida and the boat is just sitting on the lift - I doubt anyone would steal my P-66 but the tm 260 @ over $700 - that might be a different story !
spokewrench is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 08:40 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MD/DC & IRI - 05 Southport 26 Honda 225s
Posts: 3,914
Default

The theft issue is a problem with in-hull transducers as well, I would imagine.
Frank007 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread