Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

In hull transducer on Hydrasports

Old 02-08-2012, 02:44 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 19
Default In hull transducer on Hydrasports

Any hydra sports owners care to share what transducers they run on their boats? Just purchased a new 23 Vector Center Console and am in the process of choosing a transducer. Unit will be a Garmin 4212, the bundle that comes with the boat comes with an Airmar M260. Will there be any issues with this shoot through on this hull?
Gread22 is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 03:33 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,234
Default

M260 on mine, no problems.
VanW is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 04:45 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 19
Default

New to having a shoot thru transducer. It looks like a seperate temperature sensor needs to be installed in order to read water temp. Correct?
Gread22 is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 05:23 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 375
Default

yes, additional xducer for temp. R199/fcv1100 on my 33 HS w/Furuno T2000 temp interfaced.
dogfather is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 06:20 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,113
Default

Originally Posted by Gread22 View Post
New to having a shoot thru transducer. It looks like a seperate temperature sensor needs to be installed in order to read water temp. Correct?
Yes, very easy to do.
Temp sensor with a "Y" connector to the transducer cable.

You can use either a thru the hull sensor or a transom mount.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 05:15 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sebastian, FL
Posts: 133
Default

I run a 4212 GSD24 to a B164 ducer...it's been a good setup. Don't be afraid of the thru-hull...took me a little while to get over drilling that big hole in the bottom of the boat but don't even know it's there now.
tiger9a is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 07:57 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,862
Default

I didnt think you could do a shoot thru because these hulls are cored?.
timothyj is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 08:20 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,932
Default

I've had the M260 in mine for 6 years. No problems. I can see about 1700 feet down using my Raymarine DSM 300 (1000 watts).
ltcavery is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 08:28 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,862
Default

Originally Posted by ltcavery View Post
I've had the M260 in mine for 6 years. No problems. I can see about 1700 feet down using my Raymarine DSM 300 (1000 watts).
Really? They didnt have to anything special, like fiberglass around it?
timothyj is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 09:28 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 375
Default

Cut out the inner liner, remove coring, attach "tank" to inside of "outer" hull. I have pictures if you need them...send me a pm with your email address if you want them.
dogfather is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 09:32 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,862
Default

Originally Posted by dogfather View Post
Cut out the inner liner, remove coring, attach "tank" to inside of "outer" hull. I have pictures if you need them...send me a pm with your email address if you want them.
PM Sent
timothyj is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 11:42 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,932
Default

Originally Posted by dogfather View Post
Cut out the inner liner, remove coring, attach "tank" to inside of "outer" hull. I have pictures if you need them...send me a pm with your email address if you want them.
Mine was factory installed but dogfather has it right.
ltcavery is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread