Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Maybe a silly question

Old 02-08-2012, 01:02 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Holt mi usa
Posts: 91
Default Maybe a silly question

It may be a silly question but I am going to ask it anyways....
Can you mount a GPS Unit with an internal antenna in the dash? Or how about in an electronics box or even roof mounted in the case of a hardtop? Or will any of those methods impact the antenna's ability to recieve satilite signals.

Thanks
grabnmcbutt is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 01:10 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,010
Default

Yes ..... could in some instances but not enough to degrade positional info.

Both these units use internal antennas.



bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 01:20 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,115
Default

Originally Posted by grabnmcbutt View Post
It may be a silly question but I am going to ask it anyways....
Can you mount a GPS Unit with an internal antenna in the dash? Or how about in an electronics box or even roof mounted in the case of a hardtop? Or will any of those methods impact the antenna's ability to recieve satilite signals.

Thanks
Not a silly question at all...

A silly question is like..."Will Tim Tebow replace Peyton Manning with the Colts!"..

And in dash units seem to work quite well.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 02-09-2012, 08:17 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Satellite Beach, FL
Posts: 10,614
Default

I have been tinkering with my new HDS 7 inside my CBC house, the GPS finds me with pinpoint accuracy.
Danny33486 is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 08:31 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,564
Default

Originally Posted by grabnmcbutt View Post
It may be a silly question but I am going to ask it anyways....
Can you mount a GPS Unit with an internal antenna in the dash? Or how about in an electronics box or even roof mounted in the case of a hardtop? Or will any of those methods impact the antenna's ability to recieve satilite signals.

Thanks
As everyone else said, its not a silly question, and yes you can mount it on the dash. If you have a hardtop, you may not get crystal clear reception with the antenna. It also depends on what unit you are mounting and what is overhead (canvas or fiberglass)?

This past summer, I was fishing on a 76 Viking, with an enclosed bridge, and sky lounge. I had my ipad on inside the bridge, and opened the Navionics app. It worked perfectly, no loss of signal. Impressive given the 10,000 lbs of fiberglass and steal directly above me.

Does that mean every single internal antenna will work perfectly through a hardtop? I would bank on that.
I'm on a boat is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread