Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin bluechart G2 Vision problem

Old 01-29-2012, 04:16 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin bluechart G2 Vision problem

My wife got me a g2 Vision bluechart sd card for my garmin 740s chartplotter/depthsounder. Great gift... lots of added data to the already great data on the 740s...

Only problem is, I'm finding lots of areas within the coverage of the card where the satellite picture data is corrupt (the images get blurred into huge pixels without any contour).

see the pic...

Anyone else have this problem? If so, what can I do to rectify?

Thanx!

wfrueh
2001 Donzi 23ZF with twin 2011 yamaha 200hpdi's
Garmin 740s
Attached Images  
Old 01-29-2012, 04:23 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,434
Likes: 0
Received 403 Likes on 263 Posts
Default

Send the card back ........... if you got it from Garmin or dealer they will exchange it if you got it on e-bay it's SOL. I have a 740 with G2 Vision Charts and not one issue.
Old 01-29-2012, 04:39 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Satellite Beach, FL
Posts: 168
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have a G2 card in a 740S and it never does anything like you are describing.... you have a bad card. Garmin customer support is awesome, use them.

Originally Posted by wfrueh View Post
My wife got me a g2 Vision bluechart sd card for my garmin 740s chartplotter/depthsounder. Great gift... lots of added data to the already great data on the 740s...

Only problem is, I'm finding lots of areas within the coverage of the card where the satellite picture data is corrupt (the images get blurred into huge pixels without any contour).

see the pic...

Anyone else have this problem? If so, what can I do to rectify?

Thanx!

wfrueh
2001 Donzi 23ZF with twin 2011 yamaha 200hpdi's
Garmin 740s
Old 01-29-2012, 05:03 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 218
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Good Luck......your going to need it........hopefully enough people will complain about this problem............you will get some interesting replays from forum members on here....disregard the negative posts....they will be posted by losers...

I really don't need to say anymore.....just read the post below

You must see this post about same issue

http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...n-told-me.html
Old 01-29-2012, 05:39 PM
  #5  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,770
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

wfueh, or it is Tom?

If you keep posting about the same issue, and don't call Garmin for help.... some-ting aint be right. Just saying!


LOL!!


.
Old 01-29-2012, 06:43 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default G2 vision

Tom... Did u ever replace ur card? And if so, did the issue resolve?
Old 01-29-2012, 06:46 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,909
Received 469 Likes on 274 Posts
Default

Yeah, something is fishy down in Margaritaville.
Old 01-29-2012, 06:49 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,550
Likes: 0
Received 318 Likes on 218 Posts
Default

I don't understand why people are making such a big deal about this...
Old 01-29-2012, 06:49 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,550
Likes: 0
Received 318 Likes on 218 Posts
Default

Go boating and enjoy it, you don't need a damn satellite image for that!
Old 01-29-2012, 08:01 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Victoria, British Columbia
Posts: 209
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

VanW has a point. I have the Bluechart G2 "non-Vision" version for my area - a lot cheaper than the Vision version. Has very detailed charts but no satellite images of anything. It lets me know where I am and helps me with where I am going. I doubt that you need the satellite images for these purposes. Sometimes simplicity is an advantage!
Old 01-30-2012, 02:56 AM
  #11  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Again ... the sat images are hi res around ports, marina and entrances etc. If it was high res everywhere good luck to Garmin fitting all the data on a chip.
Old 01-30-2012, 09:13 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Clayton/NC Coast
Posts: 3,043
Received 225 Likes on 119 Posts
Default

I have a G2 vision card for that area. I will go out and get it off the boat tonight and check it out. From the looks of your map you appear to be just north of Masonboro Inlet in the Seagate area below Wrightsville Beach.
Old 01-30-2012, 10:05 AM
  #13  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,770
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
Go boating and enjoy it, you don't need a damn satellite image for that!


Originally Posted by saxe point View Post
VanW has a point. I have the Bluechart G2 "non-Vision" version for my area - a lot cheaper than the Vision version. Has very detailed charts but no satellite images of anything. It lets me know where I am and helps me with where I am going. I doubt that you need the satellite images for these purposes. Sometimes simplicity is an advantage!


Now full disclosure, I have a hard time believing this is a real post or problem. But I'll humor them for the heck of it, just in case it is legit.

Couple things I know of:
1. There were a bad batch of G2 Vision chips sent out about 2 years ago, that were recalled and fixed. If I recall correctly, one of the issues on the chip was similar to what was posted. So again, if you bought the chip from a valid Garmin dealer/source, call Garmin and get it replaced. Their support is 2nd to none as far as I'm concerned.

2. I'm not sure about on the 740 unit specifically, but there was a software issue a few years ago on the 4000/5000 units that caused what you are seeing when you had Radar going, Chart overlay and the Sat images turned on to a high level (something like 80% or higher). This problem was also quickly corrected with a software update, YEARS ago. So make sure you software on the 740 is up to date.

3. If you change the scale (zoom in, or zoom out) quickly, sometimes it can take a few seconds or a minute (which can feel like forever when you are staring at it) to redraw all the satellite images over the chart. When this is the case, you get blocks of the images drawn, one after the other, and you simply may not have waited long enough for the display to finish drawing the image. I find this to be especially the case, when you are on the border of Satellite images, which it looks like you are. I believe (just guessing here!) the display needs to somehow stitch these sat images together and that can take a few seconds of processing... this could be the case....

4. The Sat images are provided by the Gubernment. Not every single nook and cranny is covered with a high res image. I'm sure there are some holes in the images, which make them end up displaying in low res like in the post. This is probably not the case, but it is a possibility.

5. ALL of these can be fixed or discovered by a simple call to Garmin tech support to help you trouble shoot, while they try and duplicate the issue with you.

6. Lastly, and most important as already stated: WHY does ANYONE have the Sat images turned on???? I along with most users, find them a waste of time most of the time. The helicopter photos and bathametric bottom detail is the real purpose of the G2 vision charts. Turn the Sat images OFF, all they do is slow your unit down.

Old 01-30-2012, 11:16 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,434
Likes: 0
Received 403 Likes on 263 Posts
Default

Good catch budbrand ...... it is the Seagate Area. The first picture is a screen shot from my 740 of the area. I'll check it out tonight.





Coming into Masonsboro Inlet .....

Old 01-30-2012, 12:03 PM
  #15  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Deltaville, VA
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by wfrueh View Post
My wife got me a g2 Vision bluechart sd card for my garmin 740s chartplotter/depthsounder. Great gift... lots of added data to the already great data on the 740s...

Only problem is, I'm finding lots of areas within the coverage of the card where the satellite picture data is corrupt (the images get blurred into huge pixels without any contour).

see the pic...

Anyone else have this problem? If so, what can I do to rectify?

Thanx!

wfrueh
2001 Donzi 23ZF with twin 2011 yamaha 200hpdi's
Garmin 740s
Try this if you haven't already : Home > Charts > Nav Chart > Menu > Chart Setup > Photos > Photo Map > 100%
Old 01-30-2012, 01:09 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 218
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

THIS IS NOT MY POST.

I have a new card but have been doing some rewiring.....so I haven't had a chance to use new card yet.

Tom
Old 01-30-2012, 05:13 PM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Clayton/NC Coast
Posts: 3,043
Received 225 Likes on 119 Posts
Default

I checked my card this evening and it does the same thing. It appears that most of the clear images are around landmarks and marinas and not the entire map. I have had this map since June 2010 in my GPSMAP640 portable but never really used it that often so I never noticed it. I have to agree that it probably has to do with the amount of data that would be required to show every detail.
Old 01-30-2012, 05:58 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,434
Likes: 0
Received 403 Likes on 263 Posts
Default

Mine to ....... there is a work around if you want to run with the photos on just select the land only photos your charts will be fine.

From the 2011.5 G2 Vision Charts of the Carolina area. With all the land and water photos turned on. You can see the problem.




The same Carolinas G2 Vision 2011.5 charts with the water photos turned off. You can navigate without issue.



You can see where the bad area stops and the good area begins .....



Area to the south where it stops ..... it's about a 2 - 3 miles stretch of water



It affects the Perspective Chart View to .......





Old 01-30-2012, 06:03 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

A plotter data card contains digital data. If the data was corrupted, it wouldn't display at all. It's not like a knife that can be dulled or damaged and stiil work somewhat.

To the OP - take your card to a store that sells Garmin plotters and cards (West Marine would be one). Explain your problem and see if they will put your card in one of their plotters and then switch to a new card and see if the resolution is the same in the same area.

I'm betting it will be. The G2 Vision card isn't a solid state Google Earth, it's an enhanced navigation tool for your plotter.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.