Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Very disappointed with Garmin G2 Vision / picture inside / what Garmin told me.

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Very disappointed with Garmin G2 Vision / picture inside / what Garmin told me.

Old 01-12-2012, 05:35 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 218
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Very disappointed with Garmin G2 Vision / picture inside / what Garmin told me.

I bought a Vision G2 chip for my Garmin 5212 less than 1 year ago. Well I moved the boat to a different location still within the territory of the chip. I have a line across the map approx 1 mile north to south and the complete map east to west. I posted a picture below.

I call garmin and I'm told this chip "is not for navigation" huh?? I asked.....I was then told to take the chip out when going through this area / or switch to the regular pre stored maps.

I was then told that the map was updated and the coverage was better (keep in mind the map should be complete with in the coverage it is designated for)....

I went back and forth with emails. I asked for them to offer a one time upgrade to help with the Garmin issue...I was told they would give me 25% of on the updated chip....unacceptable for a product that is subpar. They then said 50% off. The way I see it they should do it for free.....Not only is the issue annoying when trying to navigate the channel...but it is dangerous.....

I just don't understand these companies anymore......customer service has gone by the way side....they would rather loss a customer over 133.00

All I want is the chip to function as any map should.....not what is below.

Just to let you know this is not the edge of the vision map coverage...if you go north of the line a mile it looks fine. This is also Garmins most resent map....but they had 2 updates within a year.

Customer gets screwed again!...

Tom

"
Attached Images  
Old 01-12-2012, 05:43 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,550
Likes: 0
Received 318 Likes on 218 Posts
Default

I fail to see how this is dangerous.
Old 01-12-2012, 05:49 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,966
Likes: 0
Received 432 Likes on 269 Posts
Default

That looks like satellite imagery, right? If so, then Garmin has little to do with this discontinuity. It's due to overlap of satellite or aerial photography. I don't think they can fix it. I think you are being unreasonable.

Who navigates from satellite imagery?
Old 01-12-2012, 05:52 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,550
Likes: 0
Received 318 Likes on 218 Posts
Default

Especially in a channel that looks to be less than 500 feet wide.
Old 01-12-2012, 05:55 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 218
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Its dangerous because you cannot see anything on the map...like channel / markers ect. The is not live satellite imagery.... its preloaded satellite pictures put into a chip. I could see if it were live...different story...but if your going to put together a map that is to enhance function it should be complete.....unreasonable...I don't think so.....you cannot make out anything in the blurred area....I guess if it doesn't effect your area its not a problem.....but when its right in the middle of the area you use all the time its frustrating.....
Old 01-12-2012, 06:00 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 218
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

If the satellite image is not functional in this area at least the map should be readable.....so I'm not necessarily navigating from satellite imagery....but the blurred portion of the screen is COMPLETELY useless........who cares about the pictures of the buildings act. I primarily upgraded to the chip to get better bottom topography for sword fishing...the chip is what I use.....its terrible that you can't use the blurred portion of the map....
Old 01-12-2012, 06:38 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 821
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

turn the satelite overlay off.
Old 01-12-2012, 07:50 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,554
Received 615 Likes on 353 Posts
Default

I don't think you're being unreasonable - the map goes from perflectly legible to absolutely unreadable...
Old 01-12-2012, 08:23 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,909
Received 469 Likes on 274 Posts
Default

I leave the sat photo's off. They clutter the screen and don't add a thing navigationally.

You happen to live on an edge of the G2 visions chart boundary. Usually, Garmin has an overlay that will cover more territory on another chip. Or, you can live with the built in charts for that part of the region not covered by your chart.

You can blast them if it makes you feel better, but no part of that overlay is useful for navigation. The base chart will have depths and buoys.

And, you do of course have paper charts, right?
Old 01-12-2012, 09:39 PM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Margate, NJ
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turn the Sat image to LAND ONLY

I had the same experience near Atlantic City, NJ. I changed the Satelite images to LAND ONLY and it works well. Navigating against the dark blue colors of the water in the Satelite images was far too difficult. It is much easier to use a white background on the nav and to see the detail of the fishing charts. The land still shows the Satelite photos for the desired effect.
Old 01-13-2012, 01:37 AM
  #11  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Turn the Sat images off or reduce the blend so that it shows more nav chart and zoom in. No idea what area you are looking at but you will find that Garmin has higher res sat images for port areas and lower res elsewhere. You are on the border of one of these areas. You shouldn't be navigating off a sat image, you should be navigating off an up to date paper chart with Garmin as a backup. Remember the warning you press when you turn on the unit?
Old 01-13-2012, 03:01 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Albemarle Sound Management Area
Posts: 6,239
Received 54 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

They're right, sat imagery is not for navigation. That is what charts are for.
Old 01-13-2012, 05:36 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 218
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

gerg

I am not at the foundry of the chart.....iif I were it wouldn't be an issue. The chart goes back to normal one mile beyond the blurred portion . The foundry is 30 miles north of what you see on the map.

I appreciate everyones tips....I will implement them

All I can tell you is if a big company is going to make a product and promote it as they do it should be FULLY functional.

What if the GPS in your car all of a sudden showed blurry maps when you were driving. Better yet you buy a paper map with a large blurred area thru the map.....who would buy these products. A company like this should continue to work at rectifying issues like this.....instead they want you to continue to buy upgraded maps that once you start using them realize they have issues....its just plain poor product R&D. But all they want is more money....I spent 15,000 on Garmin equipment and they want to squeeze out 133.00 more dollars out of me......on top of that I already had one of the recalled cards that I had to shell out money to upgrade......

They should try to make the customer satisfied...all I asked for was a one time upgrade to the latest version that moved the blurry area north of where I run my boat....they aren't even willing to do that.....

It is very frustrating to be a consumer and feel like your being taken advantage of...Next time I will consider going to another company for electronics....sad but true....

Tom
Old 01-13-2012, 05:42 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Albemarle Sound Management Area
Posts: 6,239
Received 54 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tomulrich View Post
gerg

I am not at the foundry of the chart.....iif I were it wouldn't be an issue. The chart goes back to normal one mile beyond the blurred portion . The foundry is 30 miles north of what you see on the map.

I appreciate everyones tips....I will implement them

All I can tell you is if a big company is going to make a product and promote it as they do it should be FULLY functional.

What if the GPS in your car all of a sudden showed blurry maps when you were driving. Better yet you buy a paper map with a large blurred area thru the map.....who would buy these products. A company like this should continue to work at rectifying issues like this.....instead they want you to continue to buy upgraded maps that once you start using them realize they have issues....its just plain poor product R&D. But all they want is more money....I spent 15,000 on Garmin equipment and they want to squeeze out 133.00 more dollars out of me......on top of that I already had one of the recalled cards that I had to shell out money to upgrade......

They should try to make the customer satisfied...all I asked for was a one time upgrade to the latest version that moved the blurry area north of where I run my boat....they aren't even willing to do that.....

It is very frustrating to be a consumer and feel like your being taken advantage of...Next time I will consider going to another company for electronics....sad but true....

Tom
You have not shown a map, it is a picture.

Are the underlying charts blurry?
Old 01-13-2012, 05:47 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,856
Received 184 Likes on 116 Posts
Default

I feel for you that the sat imagery is not perfect. I have found that many chips have regions of strange overlap but not to the extreme you show. However, the price of the chip is not that much. And the offer of a 50% discount was generous. Garmin tried to help after you pressured them. But you were unwilling to be helped. Should have taken the 50% discount offer!
Old 01-13-2012, 06:04 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 218
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

shouldn't have to pay anything....this is poor quality...period. Why should I pay anything for a product that is subpar....PERIOD ! They should step up to the plate and make it right !

We can sit here and argue over terms like "not for navigation" "you haven't shown me a map" ,etc.....Shame on Garmin for releasing a product like this...then asking for more money to correct issues they already know about.

The people on this forum who don't agree with me obviously don't have the issue...or you would understand.....

How many people are going to run out and invest in a chip today?? If you have half a brain you would think twice! How about every time there is a glitch in the Garmin Software you have to spend money to fix it? Then I think your tune would change!

I have received numerous private messages about issues similar to what I am describing..and other issues. there are a lot of dissatisfied customers out there......

The few that think Im being unreasonable need to move on and stop posting in here....

Thanks
Old 01-13-2012, 06:07 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 218
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Why doesn't Google earth have blurred areas? Especially in the area I posted a picture of? The bottom line is this can be corrected and should be......and not at the expense of the customer.....that paid for a product with the intention of it to work 100%....

Enough said!!!
Old 01-13-2012, 07:27 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,909
Received 469 Likes on 274 Posts
Default

Google Earth DOES have blurred and blacked images. Just try to look at any sensitive military or strategic site in the US.

The gubberment doesn't allow high res images of certain areas, and google complies. Garmin will also.

There doesn't happen to be a navy base under all that blur by any chance?
Old 01-13-2012, 07:28 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tomulrich View Post
Why doesn't Google earth have blurred areas? Especially in the area I posted a picture of? The bottom line is this can be corrected and should be......and not at the expense of the customer.....that paid for a product with the intention of it to work 100%....

Enough said!!!
No, not enough said.

You should have determined that the product would meet your needs before you purchased it. You are the one who is wrong here, not Garmin.

Use the charts for navigation, not the photos.
Old 01-13-2012, 07:34 AM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 162
Likes: 0
Received 22 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Chart not map......is this site for boaters??

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.