Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Problem Interfacing the AP-11 to a Garmin 2006

Notices

Problem Interfacing the AP-11 to a Garmin 2006

Old 11-25-2002, 06:39 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 21
Default Problem Interfacing the AP-11 to a Garmin 2006

I just finished the installation of the AP-11 on my boat on Friday. Got it out over the weekend and it works great with the standard fluxgate compass! The only problem I am having is that the AP-11 doesnt seem to be getting the NMEA input from my Garmin 2006. I have the NMEA + terminal on the Simrad junction box connected to the Blue NMEA output wire from the Garmin, and the Simrad NMEA - hooked up the to Garmin black (ground). I have my ICOM 402 hooked up to the Garmin in the same manner, and I am getting the GPS info on the ICOM, but not on the AP-11. What am I doing wrong here?

Thanks!
Doug
WitsEnd is offline  
Old 11-25-2002, 07:22 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: roswell, ga, fulton
Posts: 2,792
Default Problem Interfacing the AP-11 to a Garmin 2006

WitsEnd,
Tell us more. After turning the AP on and pressing Nav, no guidance from GPS? Is GPS puting out correct "sentences". Not familiar with 2006 menu but in some units NMEA output has a setup for sentence output. I turned on all NEMA 0183 output values in my RL70 setup menu. My AP12 worked great first run. This may be a job for Thom.
Joe

Sapelo kat Rider
popl is offline  
Old 11-25-2002, 08:18 PM
  #3  
edk
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 1,091
Default Problem Interfacing the AP-11 to a Garmin 2006

Is the Garmin set up to transmit NMEA. I believe by default it transmits the Garmin proprietary output. To change it you need to go into the Garmin setup menu to the Interface tab (if the menus are similar to my GPSMAP) and set it to NMEA.

If it already set to NMEA, have you run the NMEA interface check described in the AP-11 manual?

If you have the J300X junction box there are two NMEA I/O ports. You must use port 2 (RX2) if you have the J300X.

Ed
edk is offline  
Old 11-26-2002, 08:05 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Default Problem Interfacing the AP-11 to a Garmin 2006

They should all be so easy. The 2006 output should be the Gray lead and not the Blue.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 11-29-2002, 03:06 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bonita Springs, FL
Posts: 19
Default Problem Interfacing the AP-11 to a Garmin 2006

I just changed my "name" on the forum to match the name that I finally picked for my boat.

All - Thanks alot for your ideas. I have the J3000X junction unit on my Ap-11. I hooked up the RX+ terminal on the J3000 to the Gray wire from my Garmin 2006, and the RX- terminal on the J3000 to the Black wire(Ground) on the Garmin. However, I am still not getting any nav data on my AP-11. I am pretty sure I have all the settings on the Garmin setup correctly to send the appropriate NMEA format as opposed to the Garmin Proprietary format because I also have the Garmin interfaced to an ICOM M-402 w DSC as well as a Furuno 582: and both of those are getting NMEA / NAV info from the Garmin.

Here is what is happening on the AP-11. When I press the Mode button ont he AP-11, I get a "No Data" message. When I go into the NMEA check function in the AP-11 setup menu's, I am getting "XTE FRM", "BWW FRM", "SOG OK". According to the AP-11 manual, the XTE is for cross track error, and the BWW is the Bearing Waypoint info. SOG is the Speed Over Ground. FRM apparently indicates a format error. However, it is kinda weird that I am getting a Speed Over Ground signal with "OK" - valid data received.

Any other ideas? the AP-11 is working fine for me in Compass mode, but it would be nice to get it to go straight to the waypoint without requiring corrections for wind and sea conditions.

Thanks in advance!

Doug

[This message was edited by Liquid Addiction on 11-29-02 at 06:18 PM.]
Liquid Addiction is offline  
Old 11-30-2002, 06:38 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Palm Beach,FL,USA
Posts: 1,279
Default Problem Interfacing the AP-11 to a Garmin 2006

If you are getting SOG then the pilot is seeing the NMEA data. Your problem could be simple. Have you put a waypoint into the GPS and have you told the GPS you want to go there? Unless you tell the GPS to go someplace from where you presently are, there can be no XTE or BWW transmitted.
Once you have a destination the AP11 should read the bearing to that point when you go to STBY-Nav.
cravenMH is offline  
Old 11-30-2002, 02:15 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default Problem Interfacing the AP-11 to a Garmin 2006

I have both of those pieces of equipment -- my AP-11 will display "no data" in Nav mode if the Garmn is not set to navigate to a waypoint (as noted above). If you have the garmin set to go to a waypoint, that waypoint name and distance should appear as you scroll through the menus on the AP-11. Let us know if that was the problem -- I have some other ideas.
Saltdog is offline  
Old 12-01-2002, 03:43 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bonita Springs, FL
Posts: 19
Default Problem Interfacing the AP-11 to a Garmin 2006

Thanks alot guys - that did it! I just knew that it was something simple. I didn't have the boat in the water while I was testing, so I was mislead by the "FRM" error messages that I was getting when I ran the NMEA check. Your help is greatly appreciated!

Doug
Orlando, FL

[This message was edited by Liquid Addiction on 12-01-02 at 10:05 PM.]
Liquid Addiction is offline  
Old 12-01-2002, 05:31 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default Problem Interfacing the AP-11 to a Garmin 2006

One hint -- do the full compass calibration routine (sea set menu) in the user manual. After you do that, find a place where there is little of no current and pick a waypoint that is relatively close (1 mile or so), set the Garmin to navigate to it and display the bearing to the waypoint. Then calibrate your AP-11 compass heading so it is exactly the same, e.g. 205 degrees or whatever. If you do this, you wil find that the autopilot will do a much better job of steering to a waypoint in Nav mode.
Saltdog is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread