Notices

4210 question.

Old 10-25-2011, 04:23 PM
  #1  
4/0
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: OIB
Posts: 1,823
Default 4210 question.

I have a 3010c now and probably within the next two weeks I want to get a 4210 to upgrade.

It is just a little bigger so can still fit it in my 3010 area with little trouble.

Will my gps 17 antenna work with the 4210? Also I have the gdl30a and the network box for weather, will that work too?

I am also guessing that I will have to buy new chart cards ( bathe one ).

Thanks,

Butch
4/0 is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 07:03 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: statesville/oak island nc
Posts: 753
Default

Butch i have a 4210 on my boat the GPS antenna is a Nema 2000 version so i am not sure about the old 17X antenna working. I also have the GDL 30a and music and weather work great with it. Hope this helps you out.
Todd
kilowatt is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 07:31 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 3,666
Default

Also interested in this question. I had (Stolen) the 3210. Also, looking for the 4210 now. Guess the GSD 22 will work too?
RocknReeln is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 08:39 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default Garmin

The 4210 should come with the new NMEA2000 GPS antenna, a backbone and the drop cable(s) to hook it all up. If you want to use the old 17 or 17X it should wire in to the NMEA0183 cable just fine. Your GDS22 and any others should work as well. If in doubt call Garmin tech support 1-800-800-1020
I have found them excellent for support questions!
Good Luck
Tolly Roger is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 08:43 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default

if your 17x antenna is already run from a 3xxx unit, you can wire it into the wiring harness, you do not need to use the nmea 2000 antenna - all the other boxes still use the garmin marine network and are not nmea 2000 devices, The weather and sounder will hook up fine.

Download the garmin install manual from garmin.com - support to see all this....
Glen E is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 06:06 AM
  #6  
4/0
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: OIB
Posts: 1,823
Default

Thanks all,

The antenna and the weather is what I was hoping for. I doubted that the cards would work.

I have a Furuno 582L for the sounder and all the wiring and terminal blocks are in the cabin on the bulkhead under the plotter.

Right now it would be very easy to change the units without having to pull
new wire down.






Appreciate the help,

Butch
4/0 is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 06:47 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default

Originally Posted by 4/0 View Post
Thanks all,

The antenna and the weather is what I was hoping for. I doubted that the cards would work.

I have a Furuno 582L for the sounder and all the wiring and terminal blocks are in the cabin on the bulkhead under the plotter.

Right now it would be very easy to change the units without having to pull
new wire down.






Appreciate the help,

Butch
I replaced a 3210 with a 4210 - hole needs to be about 3/8 inch all the way around bigger...I would try to use the nmea 2000 antenna - setting up the free NMEA 2000 backbone supplied can only help you in the future...
Glen E is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 06:53 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Default

Download and print out (on bigger paper than a letter-size printer, try a print store) the cutout template for the 4210. Realize that the unit is inches deeper that the 3010C, and the plugs require even more space behind. Six inches (she said) isn't enough.
sandyda is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 07:12 AM
  #9  
4/0
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: OIB
Posts: 1,823
Default

Originally Posted by Glen E View Post
I replaced a 3210 with a 4210 - hole needs to be about 3/8 inch all the way around bigger...I would try to use the nmea 2000 antenna - setting up the free NMEA 2000 backbone supplied can only help you in the future...
I have the 3/8's for the cutout.
Maybe I should pull the wire. Long term plan is to add radar and autopilot. That is part of the reason of going to the 4210.

Thanks,
Butch

Originally Posted by sandyda View Post
Download and print out (on bigger paper than a letter-size printer, try a print store) the cutout template for the 4210. Realize that the unit is inches deeper that the 3010C, and the plugs require even more space behind. Six inches (she said) isn't enough.
I have quite a bit of room behind the 3010, at least 10" at the bottom but only maybe 3-4" at the top because it tapers down. I don't have picture here to show that angle and the boat is at the coast.

Appreciate it,
Butch
4/0 is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 07:19 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,438
Default

I had my 3210 stolen and replaced it with a 4212 and it was all plug and play. The only things that I had to change on it was the power chord and the GPS antenna had to be wired to the blue NMEA chord that comes in the box. It took a total of 30 minutes to install and re-wire. I definitely recommend to get the G2 vision data card, the features on it are just amazing.
13 Rounds is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 03:49 PM
  #11  
4/0
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: OIB
Posts: 1,823
Default

Thanks everyone for your help and advice. I will update when I get the unit.
Think I will ship it to my shop so the wife will not see it.

Thanks again,

Butch
4/0 is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 03:48 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 2,154
Default

Word of warning: The 4210 backlight does not go as dim as the 4208 or 4212 so if you are anal about a dark panel you might dissapointed.
scooperfl is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread