Notices

Bronze transducer in a steel hull?

Old 10-25-2011, 11:49 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fla / Curacao / WA
Posts: 4,659
Default Bronze transducer in a steel hull?

Can I put a bronze transducer in a steel hull? Any one have any first hand experience on if this presents a corrosion issue?
v12mac is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 12:01 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,926
Default

No 1st hand experience with steel hull T/D's, but I believe this ( & probably particularly for alum. hulls) is why Airmar started making SS T'D housings. But apparently even SS T/D's need to be isolated.

Read the 1st 3 "Cautions" in the box at the left side:
http://www.airmartechnology.com/uplo.../17-008-05.pdf
TTaxi is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 12:43 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Plymouth Ma.
Posts: 8,036
Default

Use a stainless or plastic transducer, bronze is a wicked NoNo!
CMEBoston is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 01:31 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,720
Default

Stainless...for both aluminum and steel...and you will have an insulator bushing to help.
I have done hundreds..very easy.
I don't like the plastic O.K. . for light use ...but I would not like to be offshore and have aplastic one let go.










Last edited by semperfifishing; 10-26-2011 at 08:11 AM.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 10-25-2011, 02:03 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fla / Curacao / WA
Posts: 4,659
Default

Hummm... I have 6 set to go in to steel hulls next week.... This has been bugging me.

Need a plan...

I just got off the phone with Garmin tech and they agree.
In the install manual here:

http://www8.garmin.com/marine/brochu...nstallation%22

Why didn't the dealer, installer or anyone else think of this?

Last edited by v12mac; 10-25-2011 at 03:14 PM.
v12mac is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 05:36 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Plymouth Ma.
Posts: 8,036
Default

Originally Posted by v12mac View Post
Hummm... I have 6 set to go in to steel hulls next week.... This has been bugging me.

Need a plan...

I just got off the phone with Garmin tech and they agree.
In the install manual here:

http://www8.garmin.com/marine/brochu...nstallation%22

Why didn't the dealer, installer or anyone else think of this?
Common Knowlege in the marine industry, did the Dealer know it was a steel boat? If so its time to look at other dealers.
CMEBoston is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 12:43 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 494
Default

Gil, the SS works great for aluminum as long as you keep saltwater out of the bilge. We had to cut the nut on one on my B-I-L boat because the nut became corroded to the transducer. Airmar told us it was caused buy electrolysis from the saltwater, aluminum and SS. The problem can happen very quickly especially if the boat is moored in the water.
The Hat Island Pirate is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 02:16 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,720
Default

We used to have that problem big time but after install we now coat the unit with a thin layer of spray on rubber..like that used on tool handles.
It works just fine...and the nut will come off later very easily.

We spray both the area around the hole....and then the transducer after the final install.

We now get about 3 to 4 years before any problems crop up ...and then they are minor..we have our customers come in and we just change the nut and clean a bit.
semperfifishing is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread