Notices

Wiring 101 - do i have this right?

Old 10-25-2011, 09:04 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The Bahamas
Posts: 722
Default Wiring 101 - do i have this right?

been doing some reading because i wanted to be able to do my own stereo instal and also know how to trouble shoot a bilge etc, also seems a popular subject at the moment with wire nests and some pretty spectacular re-wiring jobs. anyways if anyone can guide me through this a little better (hopefully seabob will chime in) i would really appreicate it.

is the below schematic correct?
my ww has a long horizontal toggle switch panel on the console.
- does each toggle that controls one accessory have 4 terminals behind it? and would they be wired as such? i couldnt really follow all the wires ...

i'll try and get photos at some point.
thanks in advance
Attached Images  
Pole is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 09:10 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mt. Pleasant SC
Posts: 1,040
Default

Looks good to me. If your battery is not near the +bus add a fuse or breaker. close to it.
Lyle29464 is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 10:19 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The Bahamas
Posts: 722
Default

so i'm right in thinking there are 4 terminals per switch?
Pole is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 10:37 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,702
Default

Originally Posted by Pole View Post
so i'm right in thinking there are 4 terminals per switch?
Some switches have a light to indicate when they are "on". Some switches also have two positions (like your anchor light/nav light switch).

The type of switch will determine how many leads it has. The simplest will only have two. One hot side and one load side. Switches with lights will also have a ground terminal.
gerg is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 12:45 PM
  #5  
nsh
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 3,400
Default

No need to run the ground wire through the switch. Now, if the switch has a light, then yes it needs a ground hooked up. What type switch do you have, SPST, SPDT, or DPDT
nsh is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 01:05 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,938
Default

If those four little circles on the fused switch panel are the spade lugs on the back of a single switch, your diagram is very wrong. Your fuse is in the wrong place, your ground should go back to the buss. the Switch "open point" is shown incorrectly. Actual diagram requires knowing the type of switch. Recommend you get a basic wiring book. Nigel Calders' (search on Amazon.com) is a good place to start.
Buoy Scout is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 01:54 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The Bahamas
Posts: 722
Default

no doubt my diagram is technicaly incorrect. i was trying to depict how the switch panel has the 'switch' to turn an accessory on-off, and the fuse that you can pop or screw in and out underneath...

nsh - i have to run a ground wire back from the accessory somewhere right? so you can't just run it to the panel and from the panel to the bus to keep it neat? or you have to run from the accessory stright to the bus?

i got the calders book and refreshed on all the fundamentals of electronics, but i'm still looking to get a better practical understanding of wiring through panels and buses etc.
Pole is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 08:41 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,068
Default

don't know abt the switch terminals configuration, the rest looks good.

Keep in mind some switch panel have a single positive connection to the panel itself, then it is paralleled thru the rest of the panel. In other words, you dont need to run a + wire for every switch.
JoseG is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread