Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Rewire questions

Old 10-24-2011, 03:17 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location:
Posts: 589
Default Rewire questions

My console switch panel is a mess and I'd like to rewire it. Right now, a bundle of cables comes out of the boot and goes to the back of the console switch panel. There are bullet connectors, spade connectors and splices concealed in the bundle and the switch panel is a rat's nest.

The worst is the negative wire from the house battery. It goes to a spiderweb of connectors and splices daisy chained together. One of the connectors in this spiderweb likely has some corrosion because sometimes nothing will work, then I start poking around in that mess and it starts working again.

I would like to run the negative from the battery to a bus bar and connect everything to that bus bar individually instead of splices and connectors daisy chained off of each other like it came from the dealer/factory.

I think the easiest way to clean up the switch panel would be to neatly route each switch to a terminal strip and from there off to it's destination. One of the issues is that there is no slack in the current mess and using a terminal strip near the boot would solve that issue without running new wires.

My questions:
Does this sound like a good plan? Is there a better way other than pulling all new wires?
How do I mount the bus bars, cable clamps, etc without drilling holes in the side of the console? The console is single walled and I'd rather not have a bunch of exposed screws and/or bolts on the outside... Will an adhesive like 5200 be OK for this application?
brcarls is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 04:13 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

Mount a piece of Starboard on the inside of the console where you want to install the terminal strips and buss bars. Thru bolt it on it's 4 corners, and on the outside (the part you will see), use stainless Finish Washers available at any marine store like West Marine, pictured below. The screw the terminal strips... into the starboard.




The rest you have correct. Run a wire from the switch, to a terminal strip, and then from the terminal strip to the device. Also install one big main ground terminal....
Birdman is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 04:32 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
MB Marine Electronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 1,110
Default

If you have time you could actually mount a piece of starboard using an adhesive instead of bolting it then you wont have any screws or bolts on the outside. I just recomend if you are going to do it this way to glue the starboard on and let it sit and cure completely before mounting anything to it. Once the adhesive is dry it will be plenty strong enough and last just as long as screws.
MB Marine Electronics is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 04:41 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by MB Marine Electronics View Post
If you have time you could actually mount a piece of starboard using an adhesive instead of bolting it then you wont have any screws or bolts on the outside. I just recomend if you are going to do it this way to glue the starboard on and let it sit and cure completely before mounting anything to it. Once the adhesive is dry it will be plenty strong enough and last just as long as screws.
According to the manufacturer, Starboard cannot be glued except with a very special and expensive adhesive that's not readily available.

As for the OP question of "Does this sound like a good plan?", I don't think anyone can give reliable advice based on the description posted. It's just too unclear what the plan is and there's the risk of the OP misunderstanding any opinions given.

I will pass on this general advice though. The fewer connections between the source of power and the load, the less chance there is of a poor connection or other problem. If the plan involves extending wires by means of terminal strips or butt connectors, running new wires of the correct length will provide a neater and more reliable electrical system.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 11:41 AM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 74
Default

There are about as many ways to do the job as there are marine electricians. You are on the right track with your ideas. One advantage of doing it your way will be the simplicity of isolating future problems. Generally the fewer connections in a circuit the better but with a well made terminal strip and good wire terminals you'll end up smiling.
divingmikeboats is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 01:20 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SS Mass
Posts: 332
Default

Instead of starboard I used a large breadboard. Looks like the same product at a 10th of the cost.
dhauz is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 02:01 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
MB Marine Electronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 1,110
Default

Originally Posted by rwidman View Post
According to the manufacturer, Starboard cannot be glued except with a very special and expensive adhesive that's not readily available.

As for the OP question of "Does this sound like a good plan?", I don't think anyone can give reliable advice based on the description posted. It's just too unclear what the plan is and there's the risk of the OP misunderstanding any opinions given.

I will pass on this general advice though. The fewer connections between the source of power and the load, the less chance there is of a poor connection or other problem. If the plan involves extending wires by means of terminal strips or butt connectors, running new wires of the correct length will provide a neater and more reliable electrical system.
Ok well if you cant get the adhesive switch to a pvc board which you could glue on with almost any marine adhesive.
MB Marine Electronics is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 02:25 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 269
Default

http://www.amazon.com/Velcro-Industr.../dp/B00006RSP1

We used this stuff to secure CRT's...PC's....TV's...etc when I was in the Navy.... We would break the bases off the CRT's trying to get them off the desks....

As long as the surface is clean, it should stick fine to StarBoard....
DawgBone is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 06:41 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location:
Posts: 589
Default

I'm probably going to thru-bolt the starboard, but that Velcro would probably work well.. You could even screw the velcro to the starboard if it wouldn't stick.
brcarls is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.