Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

In-Line curcuit breaker for Trolling Motor

Notices

In-Line curcuit breaker for Trolling Motor

Old 10-24-2011, 11:52 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mistersippi
Posts: 2,562
Default In-Line curcuit breaker for Trolling Motor

Hey Guys,

I installed a 24v trolling motor over the weekend and all works well except i wanted to install a circuit breaker and had problems. The recommended curcuit breaker is 50 amp and i ended up getting an in-line breaker: Link below

http://www.lfsmarineoutdoor.com/sea-...t-breaker.html

My problem is i am using 6 gauge wire and the connector for 6 gauge is too large. I need a good connector idea.

Jim
JCC123 is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 12:13 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by JCC123 View Post
Hey Guys,

I installed a 24v trolling motor over the weekend and all works well except i wanted to install a circuit breaker and had problems. The recommended curcuit breaker is 50 amp and i ended up getting an in-line breaker: Link below

http://www.lfsmarineoutdoor.com/sea-...t-breaker.html

My problem is i am using 6 gauge wire and the connector for 6 gauge is too large. I need a good connector idea.

Jim

What do you mean "the connector for 6 gauge is too large." ?
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 12:35 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,122
Default

Ring terminals with center hole sized for the CB studs is what you need.
You do not want a ring terminal for 1/2" studs if the CB has 1/4" studs.
DoubleO7 is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 03:03 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

I'd use this style breaker:

http://bluesea.com/category/3/10/pro...ne/overview/14

Birdman is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 03:45 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by JCC123 View Post
Hey Guys,

I installed a 24v trolling motor over the weekend and all works well except i wanted to install a circuit breaker and had problems. The recommended curcuit breaker is 50 amp and i ended up getting an in-line breaker: Link below

http://www.lfsmarineoutdoor.com/sea-...t-breaker.html

My problem is i am using 6 gauge wire and the connector for 6 gauge is too large. I need a good connector idea.

Jim
You installed it without a circuit breaker?
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 03:47 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
That's better because it includes a switch.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 03:51 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 177
Default

the other one has a switch, push button on the end.

both work, go with the cheapest.
The Fish Whisperer is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 04:28 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mistersippi
Posts: 2,562
Default

Originally Posted by rwidman View Post
You installed it without a circuit breaker?
Yes, i installed everything and made sure it worked properly with the intent of installing the CB once i located the one i was looking for. The one pictured in an earlier post is the one i ended up getting. I looked at the higher end CB's but the one i got was available local and for all intensive purposes should work if i can find a way to connect the 6 wire.

The 6 gauge ring connector is what is to large for the posts. I could not find smaller ring connectors tha could handle the wire.


Jim
JCC123 is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 09:54 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,018
Default

Hi Jim,
Sandwich the "too large" ring terminal between two smaller SS washers that just fit over the posts. That will work.
peterbo3 is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 05:20 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by JCC123 View Post
Yes, i installed everything and made sure it worked properly with the intent of installing the CB once i located the one i was looking for. The one pictured in an earlier post is the one i ended up getting. I looked at the higher end CB's but the one i got was available local and for all intensive purposes should work if i can find a way to connect the 6 wire.

The 6 gauge ring connector is what is to large for the posts. I could not find smaller ring connectors tha could handle the wire.


Jim
West Marine has teminals for #6 cable with 1/4", 5/16", 3/8", and 1/2" screw holes.

Page 421 in the current catalog. Part # 102840 for the 1/4"

Make sure you install the circuit breaker as close to the batteries as possible to protect the cables.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 05:23 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by The Fish Whisperer View Post
the other one has a switch, push button on the end.

both work, go with the cheapest.
An "on/off" switch or just a reset button?
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 05:25 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 506
Default

Originally Posted by rwidman View Post

What do you mean "the connector for 6 gauge is too large." ?
This is what I use for both, my bow mount 24V and the transom mount 12V. Never had a problem since installing them in 2006. the only differance I can see, is that mine have a straight peice of metal to connect to the Positive stud on the battery.
Jim
stars-N-stripers is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 05:47 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mistersippi
Posts: 2,562
Default

Thanks!
I will be making a trip to West Marine to grab one. I hit every store but them to figure something out including several boating supply shops. No help.
This site is great.
J
JCC123 is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 10:28 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,122
Default

Or your local harware store that has the cabinets of loose hardware in little drawers.
That way you only need to buy what you need instead of an overpriced package of several that you might never need again.
DoubleO7 is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 11:43 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by JCC123 View Post
Thanks!
I will be making a trip to West Marine to grab one. I hit every store but them to figure something out including several boating supply shops. No help.
This site is great.
J
You're welcome.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 12:45 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

Originally Posted by The Fish Whisperer View Post
the other one has a switch, push button on the end.

both work, go with the cheapest.
No. The other one is only a breaker, with a reset button. It can't be disabled (turned "off" or disconnected) manually. It can only be reset after it has blown.

The style I posted works as an acuual switch. You can turn it "off" when not in use, or when working on it....
Birdman is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 01:35 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
No. The other one is only a breaker, with a reset button. It can't be disabled (turned "off" or disconnected) manually. It can only be reset after it has blown.

The style I posted works as an acuual switch. You can turn it "off" when not in use, or when working on it....
Being able to "turn off" a motor with a spinning blade attached can be a decided advantage. This would be a code requirement on land. Either a disconnect within sight of the equipment or a lockable disconnect somewhere else.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-26-2011, 04:05 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: 2 hours from Venice, La
Posts: 1,084
Default

Usually there's a a switch at the trolling motor head or just use the twist-lok as a means of disconnect.
rhinofish is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 01:50 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 177
Default

Originally Posted by rhinofish View Post
Usually there's a a switch at the trolling motor head or just use the twist-lok as a means of disconnect.
X 2

the expensive switch is not needed.
Just un plug the trolling motor.
My bad on the reset switch..... But, that is all you need.

I always ( now) disconnect my trolling motor before going down the road.
What has happened is the foot pad had moved while going down the road and the power started going....
( burned up the motor ) I had it covered, the tarp would not let the blade turn.

It melted several things around it.
The Fish Whisperer is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 02:46 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by rhinofish View Post
Usually there's a a switch at the trolling motor head or just use the twist-lok as a means of disconnect.
If there's a plug and socket, unplugging it will make it safe to work on. Not so the switch on the motor. You still have power and you might accidentally hit the switch and turn it on.
rwidman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread