Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin GPSMap 215 update???

Old 10-20-2011, 11:06 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default Garmin GPSMap 215 update???

Thats right I'm looking for a way to update a Garmin 215 chart plotter. (stop laughing) I just updated the software on my Ray c80 and I am wondering if I can do the same on the back up garmin I have. I took the chip out and man oh man is this thing old looking, It's a "Garmin" made chip with hand writting on it that says Gus184sl (i said stop laughing).
Anyway if anyone knows of a way to update the software or improve perfomance on this classic machine please help me out.
Thanks,
Brian
hockfish is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 05:34 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by hockfish View Post
Thats right I'm looking for a way to update a Garmin 215 chart plotter. (stop laughing) I just updated the software on my Ray c80 and I am wondering if I can do the same on the back up garmin I have. I took the chip out and man oh man is this thing old looking, It's a "Garmin" made chip with hand writting on it that says Gus184sl (i said stop laughing).
Anyway if anyone knows of a way to update the software or improve perfomance on this classic machine please help me out.
Thanks,
Brian
Garmin used it's own proprietary memory card for many years before switching to the industry standard "SD" card. Lacking a photo of your memory card, I'm going to guess that that is what you have.

You can buy a USB reader for those memory cards on ebay but they won't work in a computer running Windows 7.

Garmin may have a program that lets you buy these cards with the update on them and then return the card for a refund. Checking on the Garmin website or contacting their tech support staff is your best option if you want to go this route.

I wouldn't get too worked up over it, because it's probably a discontinued, unsupported unit and if it fails tomorrow, there's no way to get it repaired.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 07:26 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Thats exactly what I was thinking as well. I figured I would try to speed up the machine or bring it up to date knowing it was a long shot and most likely no chance of doing so. It is discontinued and I'm thinking the update may bring me to the mid to late 90's at best. It was worth asking. Rwidman thanks for the response
brian
hockfish is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 06:49 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,953
Default

The 215 uses gcharts. I have one (also as a backup). The only thing you can update on them is the chart card. And they have been long discontinued. The unit is what, 17 years old? Use it as is for a redundant unit. It's so slow it spends more time scrolling the chart than displaying it.
Buoy Scout is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread