Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance Sonic Hub and iPhone

Old 10-18-2011, 12:27 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lowrance Sonic Hub and iPhone

I have just updated my iPhone 4 to iOS5. When I put it into the Lowrance Sonic Hub networked to my HDS 10, the system cannot find my music. It plays FM and AM fine but when I switch to iPod (used to connect iPhone and iPod to play music) it says unable to locate the unit. Even though it goes beep beep when I insert the iPhone confirming it is inserted properly.

Nothing on the Lowrance site!

Any thoughts?

Tony
Old 10-18-2011, 12:57 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ft Lauderdale Fl
Posts: 6,010
Received 154 Likes on 96 Posts
Default

Alot of things that worked on iOS4 do not work on iOS5. best I can say is be patient. I had alot of issues during the upgrade
Old 10-18-2011, 05:12 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 534
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thats wierd, my SonicHub works fine with my iPhone.
Old 10-18-2011, 06:42 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Morehead City, N.C.
Posts: 116
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

This is slightly off topic,but I have Simrad gear with sonichub, which I run an old Ipod classic, and an Ipod touch through. One of these days I'm going to get an Iphone. Will an Iphone, playing music through a sonichub alert you of a phone call ? Thanks for your reply.
Old 10-18-2011, 08:44 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 534
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by clambite View Post
Will an Iphone, playing music through a sonichub alert you of a phone call ? Thanks for your reply.
You know, havent had that come up, but would be easy to test. I will give it a try tonight.
Old 10-18-2011, 08:54 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Flensburg, Germany
Posts: 1,973
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by clambite View Post
This is slightly off topic,but I have Simrad gear with sonichub, which I run an old Ipod classic, and an Ipod touch through. One of these days I'm going to get an Iphone. Will an Iphone, playing music through a sonichub alert you of a phone call ? Thanks for your reply.
Yes it will!

but getting it out fast enough of the hub might be your problem....
Old 10-18-2011, 03:49 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SouthernBoy View Post
Thats wierd, my SonicHub works fine with my iPhone.
Is your iPhone updated to the latest iOS5 software released last week?

Tony
Old 10-18-2011, 03:51 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yes, the music is muted and the phone rings when receiving a call. You then remove it from the holder and answer it.
Old 10-18-2011, 04:13 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
MB Marine Electronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 1,110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Unfortunately any hardware made before the new iPhone software is most likely gonna give us problems until updates come out for the hardware that is if it is updateable. I have a Kenwood 700u and ordered my iPhone4s so when it gets here I will have to see if it works on that. My kenwood is updateable but I dont know about the sonic hub.
Old 10-18-2011, 10:12 PM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 49
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by MB Marine Electronics View Post
Unfortunately any hardware made before the new iPhone software is most likely gonna give us problems until updates come out for the hardware that is if it is updateable. I have a Kenwood 700u and ordered my iPhone4s so when it gets here I will have to see if it works on that. My kenwood is updateable but I dont know about the sonic hub.
I have the Kenwood 700u with iPhone 4s and it works with recent software. Not sure how old your unit is (mine was replaced recently) so maybe mine has different software in it, but I am assuming it will work.

Also, phone calls would be kind of a hassle, but most of the time I use my boat, I don't get service.
Old 10-18-2011, 11:10 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Flensburg, Germany
Posts: 1,973
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by MB Marine Electronics View Post
Unfortunately any hardware made before the new iPhone software is most likely gonna give us problems until updates come out for the hardware that is if it is updateable. I have a Kenwood 700u and ordered my iPhone4s so when it gets here I will have to see if it works on that. My kenwood is updateable but I dont know about the sonic hub.
the sonic hub can be updated!
Old 10-19-2011, 05:12 PM
  #12  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by divefreak View Post
the sonic hub can be updated!
... and I did, even though the lowrance site says the update is for Verizon CDMA users only, it fixes the iPhone issue and all works well. You would think they would mention this on their website! Thanks to Lance at Fusion in New Zealand for guiding me to this fix.

Tony
Old 10-20-2011, 02:23 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 5,571
Received 2,751 Likes on 1,560 Posts
Default

when i updated my iphone to ios 5 it wiped out my music on the phone and had to transfer everything back to the phone from itunes.
Old 10-21-2011, 05:21 PM
  #14  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Rolandt03 View Post
when i updated my iphone to ios 5 it wiped out my music on the phone and had to transfer everything back to the phone from itunes.
Yes my update took quite a while. I had to backup, update, then restore. Took forever as my 32g iPhone is full of music!
Old 01-01-2012, 08:43 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Sorry to pull up a semi-old thread, but related to the SonicHub and iPhone.... Can you connect a USB dock cable to the SonicHub and or use the actual dock supplied with the unit?

And if so, do you have control over thee iPhone when it is connected to the SonicHub via cable?
Old 01-01-2012, 09:32 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Flensburg, Germany
Posts: 1,973
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mwardncsu View Post
Sorry to pull up a semi-old thread, but related to the SonicHub and iPhone.... Can you connect a USB dock cable to the SonicHub and or use the actual dock supplied with the unit?

And if so, do you have control over thee iPhone when it is connected to the SonicHub via cable?
Yes...

I tried exactly this. Put the Iphone cable in the back of the docking station and it worked like
when you put the phone into the dock....

Full control over the phone!
Old 01-01-2012, 09:44 PM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Thanks Divefreak.... Dang, now another piece of gear I'm going to have to purchase.... The external iPhone and the Fusion remote make a really sweet setup.
Old 01-02-2012, 07:09 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Posts: 566
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

I think the new iPhone 4 is a bit slimmer than the 3G model and that's why it's not recognizing your music. Need to buy a new insert for the hub for the new phone, but I don't know where to buy.
Old 01-02-2012, 09:57 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DaddyMenace View Post
I think the new iPhone 4 is a bit slimmer than the 3G model and that's why it's not recognizing your music. Need to buy a new insert for the hub for the new phone, but I don't know where to buy.
I read elsewhere that if you use the top of one of the sleeves and the bottom of another it will fit well.


Actually - here.....
http://www.simrad-yachting.com/uploa...ser_ReadMe.pdf

Top of sleeve A / bottom of sleeve D

Sounds like some updates for the phone and/or the unit are needed.... make sure you have the latest software on both.....
Old 05-18-2014, 01:33 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southwest Ranches, FL
Posts: 428
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

has any else had the issue with new iphone ios? I put my in, and didn't work, but my old ipod worked

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.