Notices

couple of garmin questions?

Old 10-16-2011, 07:39 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Shinnecock, LI
Posts: 328
Default couple of garmin questions?

i run a garmin 4212 and 4208, (in network). have a flir camera setup as "video", is there any way to put this in a combination screen, i.e with the radar? also thinking of installing the garmin fuel mgmt system , anyone have any experience with them? - i run twin zuke 250's with 250 gallons (2 tanks) - i find my zuke gauges as not pinpoint accurate. i would like a more percise way to manage my fuel when going to the edge. i guess i need to buy 2 sensors , 1 for each engine. also thinking of adding an additional radio (already have an icom 412) and an AIS receiver. what is the simplest/cheapest way to do this?. i like the 412 and think another one would fit nicely on my console. the garmin black box ais seems a bit pricey but i would be willing to pay more if it would simplify the install/performance? appreciate any help
fishbone24 is offline  
Old 10-16-2011, 10:10 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 259
Default

Cheapest way to add and AIS Receiver/2nd VHF is the Standard/Horizon Matrix GX2150 which included both. Wire to your Garmin's NMEA0183 I/O and add a second antenna. Done.

You will need two GFS10 fuel sensors, and the NMEA2000 networking components to link them into your existing backbone for fuel management. These sensors measure flow, and can also take an input for your in-tank floats. Flow is usually more accurate.

You can do custom combinations with video and other apps such as chart/radar.
V8BoatBuilder is offline  
Old 10-16-2011, 04:35 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Shinnecock, LI
Posts: 328
Default

Is the fuel mgmt worth installing ( I.e. Will it give me mpg/range..., my engine gauges are not synced with my network so my only real accurate reading is fuel burnt and gph)? Is it a potential line of failure?
Also can the AIS radio send info to my chartplotter or do I have to get AIS info directly from screen on the Radio? Thanks for reply?
fishbone24 is offline  
Old 10-16-2011, 10:24 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

Yes, you can select "Video" (in your case the FLIR video) as one of the split displays on any of the Combination screens.
Birdman is offline  
Old 10-17-2011, 09:03 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,904
Default

Fishbone ......

Here's some actual video of my Garmin 740 connected to my SH GX2100 (earlier version of the SH GX2150). The data displayed on my 740 is being sent via NMEA 0183 connectivity from the SH GX 2100.

Click the link to watch the video.

http://bluewaterpirate.phanfare.com/4996928_5919835

bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 10-17-2011, 11:25 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Shinnecock, LI
Posts: 328
Default

Originally Posted by bluewaterpirate View Post
Fishbone ......

Here's some actual video of my Garmin 740 connected to my SH GX2100 (earlier version of the SH GX2150). The data displayed on my 740 is being sent via NMEA 0183 connectivity from the SH GX 2100.

Click the link to watch the video.

http://bluewaterpirate.phanfare.com/4996928_5919835

Thanks that answers my question!
fishbone24 is offline  
Old 09-23-2013, 05:28 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 15
Default

This is what I want to happen with my garmin 5212, Can you send a picture of your wire connections so I can compare and see if I have done it correctly? The only wire that I have disconnected from the radio (Matrix GX 2150) is the brown wire as per wiring diagram from standard Horizon. Port one is set to HS but still no info on chartplotter.

Thanks,
Will
Eight Bells is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread