Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

garmin 521s will not show the correct time??

Notices

garmin 521s will not show the correct time??

Old 10-13-2011, 05:24 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Default garmin 521s will not show the correct time??

2 year old garmin 521s. When It is navigating to a waypiont it does not show an accurate arrival time. I think it should be automatic from satelite.
zunie0379 is offline  
Old 10-13-2011, 09:55 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,965
Default

Have you set up the Garmin to match your particular time zone and daylight savings? The satellites transmit to all or many time zones and do not receive any data from your GPS, though the software database in your Garmin can determine some local time aspects for calculated present GPS position & known destination position relative to present SOG toward the destination . I expect your manual will clarify the procedure if you cannot quickly find the time zone page in your setup menu. (Big hint : pps. 47-48 : Configure>Preferences>Unit>Time (sub : Time Format/Time Zone / DST . You can set manually for local time or try the Auto setting. )

Some GPSs may have outdated database for the dates of Auto changes to/from DST since that was changed, but I would think your 2 yr old may be OK in that respect.

Make sure it has latest software updates.


From Garmin's 521 software page: (quote
  • Chartplotters Update with SD card Ver. 2011.0722 as of Jul 22, 2011 Download
**edit: Forgot to check- Does it show accurate PRESENT local time??

rwidman: FWIW : My old Northstar 952's , and probably most more recent chartplotters do show estimated local arrival time and estimated time reamining to arrival at an entered waypoint position. Since that is based on present speed toward the waypoint (STW or VTW) vs remaining distance to WP , the 2 estimated times will vary with present speed. Mine does not calculate those estimated times at & to the final destination if a multiple WP route is entered for navigation. But some others may well do just that.

Last edited by TTaxi; 10-18-2011 at 08:21 PM.
TTaxi is offline  
Old 10-16-2011, 06:32 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Default

Update your firmware. Are you using an external antenna?
sandyda is offline  
Old 10-16-2011, 07:37 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by zunie0379 View Post
2 year old garmin 521s. When It is navigating to a waypiont it does not show an accurate arrival time. I think it should be automatic from satelite.
Are you thinking it will predict what time you will arrive at a particular location? How would it know? It's not like a car gps that assumes you will be traveling on particular roads. Your route between where you are and a particular destination will vary with obstacles (such as land masses) that are in your way and you have to avoid. It could be ten miles as the crow flies and twenty or thirty miles by water.

I don't know for sure, but I don't think it's supposed to predict an arival time. I could be wrong though, I don't have my documentation here and I've never tried to do that.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-17-2011, 11:18 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 3,705
Default

Originally Posted by rwidman View Post
Are you thinking it will predict what time you will arrive at a particular location? How would it know? It's not like a car gps that assumes you will be traveling on particular roads. Your route between where you are and a particular destination will vary with obstacles (such as land masses) that are in your way and you have to avoid. It could be ten miles as the crow flies and twenty or thirty miles by water.

I don't know for sure, but I don't think it's supposed to predict an arival time. I could be wrong though, I don't have my documentation here and I've never tried to do that.
Yes it does. My Garmin w/ show Time to next waypoint and will adjust every so often based on VMG.
Lazy Bones is offline  
Old 10-17-2011, 11:25 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by Lazy Bones View Post
Yes it does. My Garmin w/ show Time to next waypoint and will adjust every so often based on VMG.
My marina is on one side of a peninsula. I can drive my car to the other side in ten minutes or less, but it would take me two hours by boat because I have to go around it (stay in the water).

How does the plotter know what route I am taking to the other side?
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-17-2011, 12:16 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 3,705
Default

Originally Posted by rwidman View Post
My marina is on one side of a peninsula. I can drive my car to the other side in ten minutes or less, but it would take me two hours by boat because I have to go around it (stay in the water).

How does the plotter know what route I am taking to the other side?
It tells you your expected time until your next waypoint (not your'e final desitination) as the crow flies.
Lazy Bones is offline  
Old 10-17-2011, 02:13 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by Lazy Bones View Post
It tells you your expected time until your next waypoint (not your'e final desitination) as the crow flies.
That may be the OP's problem then, he is not travelling "as the crow flies" (in a straight line).

We're not going to know unless he comes back to this thread.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-17-2011, 04:22 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,394
Default

It could be several things (all at once), as I have ran into this problem myself with Garmin equipment.
1) If you have an external GPS antenna, update the firmware, they did make a change to fix this issue
2) On your chart plotter, in the setup menu, make sure to pick either AUTO time or set the Time Zone you are in, either should work fine
3) Make sure you DO NOT have a second GPS puck on the network...I had connected my Garmin system to my Mercury Verados, and my Verado speedo, had a Livorsi GPS puck and it sometimes pulled the GPS info from that, and it did not know how to calculate time of day correctly. That is done in the GarminGPS antenna. So you need to select it as default
4) Finally, my Garmin system does actually show by Estimated Time of Arrival and Time To Arrival and also at each waypoint. I have an automatic routing system on the new garmins, called "guide to" when using their Vision cards, that will calculate the full path, just like a car on the road, and calculate all the proper times. It even automatically sends the route to the autopilot and away it goes. Very, very cool stuff.
SaltyG is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread