Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Teleflex Smartstick Rudder Reference, what does it do?

Notices

Teleflex Smartstick Rudder Reference, what does it do?

Old 10-12-2011, 01:47 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,392
Default Teleflex Smartstick Rudder Reference, what does it do?

Can someone briefly explain what this does?

We just upgraded auto pilots from an 3 year old Simrad (forget the number) to a new Simrad AP28.

The head unit was upgraded but the pump was inspected and left alone because it was in great condition and would work with the newer AP28.

After dockside and sea setups were done the boat was doing a lot of S turns and the installer could not dial it in. The boat would "sway" from port to starboard about 6 degrees or more. Got worse at higher speeds and was unusable.

He stated that I had to have this Smartstick. I agreed and he installed it.
We did sea trials after the Smartstick was installed and the system seemed better but still not as "tight" as I felt it should be.

1st trip the pilot was back to doing S turns at all speeds.
He claims the Smartstick is defective and that he will replace it under warranty and my problems will resolved.

I have my doubts but I don't really know what this Smartstick is or does.

I don't know if I should find another installer who is more versed on this pilot or let him replace the Smartstick.

Suggestions?
RightRigger is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 01:59 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,159
Default

It tells the autopilot which way the engine is pointed. It replaced the linear unit that came from Simrad which often doesn't last long. I have heard good things about them vs. the Simrad version. The Simrad has a ram and is more prone to water intrusion.
Gary999 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 02:25 PM
  #3  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,516
Default

The beauty of the AP28 is that it doesn't need the rudder reference unit. So I am not sure why he put one on, or the 2nd one on. Perhaps something in your setup requires it. So the first thing I would do is disconnect it, put it into virtual feedback mode, sea trial it and see how it does.
yachtjim is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 02:26 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default

I'm sure I'll be corrected if wrong, but the ap28 does not need this stick at all - it is no rudder feedback unit

call simrad...and be prepared to get a new tech and your money back from this guy....
Glen E is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 02:56 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,392
Default

Yea,

I had a feeling this was going to be the case. This guy has botched my install from day one.
In the initial quote I received from him he said the full electronics upgrade would take 45 hours. It took 6 weeks and I'm still having issues. Now in the 9th week.

I had a gut feeling the Smatstick was not the cause of this issue.
I will call Simrad tomorrow and begin a search or a new installer to fix the mistakes.

Thanks
RightRigger is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 06:38 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Indian River, De
Posts: 2,975
Default

Agree; AP28 uses input from your GPS/heading sensor; doesn't need a rudder position sensor. Seems he either didn't interface the AP properly, or didn't set it up right.

BTW, I installed a SmartStick on my old AP11, and it tracks absolutely dead straight; the boats wake is a straight line out as far as you can see it. Your's should work the same.
CaptWill is offline  
Old 10-13-2011, 04:24 AM
  #7  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,516
Default

You're not that far from us if you can't find somebody qualified in your area. People bring their boats to us from farther away places.
yachtjim is offline  
Old 10-13-2011, 04:29 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,114
Default

I also installed a SmartStick on my old AP11, and it tracks absolutely dead straight; the boats wake is a straight line out as far as you can see it. Your's should work the same.[/QUOTE]


Also installed SmartStick on AP11--if you get correct Smartstick--there are two flavors--it works perfectly...
NoFearEyes is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread