Notices

Lowrance LMF & Yamaha Engine Harness

Old 10-12-2011, 11:02 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 470
Default Lowrance LMF & Yamaha Engine Harness

I have a Lowrance LMF-400 and a pair of LMF-200's connected to twin 2007 Yamaha 225's, via the Lowrance engine harnesses (part # 120-37). I can get RPM's, temp, synch gauge, and fuel burn numbers, but the port/stbd information is swapped. The motors display backwards - the starboard motor is displayed as the port, and vice-versa. Is there a way I can switch the engines on the displays?

I read the Lowrance manual on how to change it, but when I cycle through the menus & check the Bus Devices, the gauge lists the engine harnesses as "unknown," so I'm not really able to follow their directions. Can I fix this? Is there more configuring I need to do?
Dan in Alaska is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 10:47 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 470
Default

I called Lowrance and talked to cust. service. Their suggestion was to reset everything, connect the engines one at a time to the network, and assign port or stbd settings individually before putting both engines on the network. This didn't work.

The engine harnesses appears on the Bus Devices menu as "unknown" so there isn't an option to assign port or stbd settings. I can assign the gauge as port or sbd, but that only seems to change the display. It doesn't actually change the motor designation.

Aside from physically swapping the engine harnesses between the engines (which is a pain), does anyone have any other ideas?
Dan in Alaska is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:14 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,554
Default

When you connect each engine interface, you should have an option to re-name the interface and if so, at that point you could name them as Star and Port. If you can do that you should then be able to do the setup so that you can achieve what you want to.

Cheers

ML
Moonlighter475 is online now  
Old 03-29-2012, 01:45 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 470
Default

Bringing this back to the top, as boating season is approaching, and I never did get the issue resolved last season. The port/stbd designation is reversed, and I can't seem to fix it.

I can't rename or reassign the interface through the menus. It still shows up as "unknown" when I cycle through the Bus Devices menu, and there doesn't seem to be a way to tinker with it.

Any more ideas?
Dan in Alaska is offline  
Old 03-29-2012, 03:21 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,052
Default

How does the engine data get to your NMEA 2000 devices? Through a Command Link hub or not?
jethro1 is offline  
Old 03-29-2012, 11:04 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 470
Default

Each outboard has a Lowrance engine interface (part # 120-37). The interface connects to the outboard via the diagnostic plug, and to the N2K network via T-connector. I don't have any Command Link gauges, hubs, or controls.
Dan in Alaska is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread