Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Tranducer's losing bottom deepr than 500 feet

Notices

Tranducer's losing bottom deepr than 500 feet

Old 10-10-2011, 08:26 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montclair, New Jersey
Posts: 435
Default Tranducer's losing bottom deepr than 500 feet

I have two sounders on my boat. Garmin 1850 with a transom mount ducer and a Garmin 4212 with a through hull ducer (not sure of the model).

Generally speaking both ducer's work well wether I am running the boat or anchored up.

However, whenever I go offshore I lose the bottom on the Garmin unit at depths beyond 500 feet. The Furuno works to about 600 feet.

Any ideas? I played around with the Garmin unit the other day while out there and replaced the auto depth setting with 1500 feet, but that did nothing.

Thanks,

Peter
peb3 is offline  
Old 10-10-2011, 08:31 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 6,114
Default

Have you tried turning one unit off? They may be getting interference from each other.

Also if you have both units on, are they set on different frequencies.
bluewaterseeker is offline  
Old 10-10-2011, 09:02 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,729
Default

You mentioned a "Garmin 1850..you must mean Furuno 1850"...
The Furuno 1850 is 600 or 100 watts but I am assuming you are running a 600 watt ducer.
If your transom mount transducer for the Furuno is an Airmar P66 its listed depth rating is 400' to 700' on the 200 kHz side and 800' to 1,200' on it's 50 Khz side.
Depending on many variable conditions etc.

Now take the through the hull transducer.
If it is a B60 for example...the maximum depth range will be the same as the P66 transom mounted transducer as the elements are exactly the same.
And being a through hull unit it may even outperform the transom mounted transducer because it is running in cleaner water.

So it comes down to making sure the thru hull transducer face is clean, connections are clean and corrosion free, the Garmin 4212 is in manual mode and operating on 50 kHz so as to get maximum depth.

At least these are the starting points.

Also.
If you were to switch the Furuno FCV 1850 to a 1Kw transducer you would really have far greater depth and target resolution and an increase in speed before loosing bottom.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 10-10-2011 at 09:20 AM.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 10-10-2011, 09:59 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montclair, New Jersey
Posts: 435
Default

Thanks for the replies. Very helpful. Yes, i meant Furuno 1850. I am still brain dead from the overnighter I ran in my 26' Regulator in very crappy seas.

I will do the following the next time that I am out there
  1. Turn off the furuno unit
  2. Put the 4212 on manual mode and use 50 kHz.
If that does not work I will try the same with the Furuno unit.

Peter
peb3 is offline  
Old 10-10-2011, 03:58 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Snuggedy Swamp & North Eleuthera
Posts: 3,935
Default

Peter,

I assume you have the GSD 22 on your 4212. Frankly, I'm surprised that you read to 500' with that unit. I am anxiously awaiting the new GSD 24 but then again I'm beginning to talk myself into spending the extra loot for the GSD 26 if it measures up to the hype.
Ironworker is offline  
Old 10-10-2011, 04:20 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,729
Default

Negative sea conditions and a bit of speed will also lower your depth reading on many 600 transducers.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 10-11-2011, 06:09 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montclair, New Jersey
Posts: 435
Default

Originally Posted by Ironworker View Post
Peter,

I assume you have the GSD 22 on your 4212. Frankly, I'm surprised that you read to 500' with that unit. I am anxiously awaiting the new GSD 24 but then again I'm beginning to talk myself into spending the extra loot for the GSD 26 if it measures up to the hype.
Ironworker, are you saying that the GSD 22 may not be capable of reading canyon like depths? Is this a known issue?

I just saw the price of the GSD 26 ($2K, retail) yikes!

Peter
peb3 is offline  
Old 10-11-2011, 09:19 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,729
Default

Peter,

If you are running two 600 watt transducers then I would suggest you might possibly think of going to at least one 1 KW transducer on one of your units ...since both are 1 kw capable.
The easiest way is to go with a Tm258 ..that is $$525 and will be 25 times more sensitive than your current transom mounted unit. And it comes with a mix and match cable..you can even use it with the Garmin 4212 or the Furuno (Or any other unit in the future.)

If you are now using 600 watt transducers then they are single element units.
Going to the 1 Kw transducer will work for you as both of your sonars are 1 Kw capable...and the 1Kw transducers are multiple element and are up to 50 times mores sensitive depending upon the transducer model

Just doing that will give you greatly improved sonar sensitivity and the biggest bang for the buck.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 10-11-2011 at 11:25 AM.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 10-14-2011, 08:16 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,300
Default

Originally Posted by Ironworker View Post
Peter,

I assume you have the GSD 22 on your 4212. Frankly, I'm surprised that you read to 500' with that unit. I am anxiously awaiting the new GSD 24 but then again I'm beginning to talk myself into spending the extra loot for the GSD 26 if it measures up to the hype.
Not a thing wrong with the GSD22...IMHO. Here is a pic of us running at a good clip and on a 200khz.

spearnreel is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread