Notices

ICOM 504 to HDS5 DSC position

Old 10-10-2011, 07:39 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 157
Default ICOM 504 to HDS5 DSC position

I have a friend that has an ICOM 504 VHF and we've been trying to get the position report to display a DSC waypoint on the HDS5.

The HDS 5 has only one com port and we have the ICOM getting the Long / Lat from the GPS. So we're fairly confident that we have the connections correct. We have not been able to get the GPS to display the position. I'm somewhat at a loss. We have the GPS set to 4800 baud but the ICOM manual doesn't indicate output baud rate. We have NMEA output set to All station.


Has anyone got the ICOM 504 to display a waypoint on any GPS?
I'm wondering if there's a button press that we missed.
DennisW is offline  
Old 10-10-2011, 08:13 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 556
Default

The DSC output from the VHF is at 38,400. It's not going to work with only one com port on the charplotter.

Eric

Oops, sorry, I was thinking AIS, and now I'm not sure about the M504 output speed off the top of my head but I think it is 4800, same as receive. Can verify tomorrow if nobody else can before then.

I see on page 106 of the HDS 5 manual that there is an NMEA0183 receive waypoint command that must be selected.

Last edited by fairbank56; 10-10-2011 at 08:45 AM.
fairbank56 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread