Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Question about Garmin FF/Sounder

Old 10-05-2011, 12:07 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 418
Default Question about Garmin FF/Sounder

This is almost certainly a stupid question, but here goes anyway. I have a Garmin 2006C chartplotter/fishfinder, and it won't register depth/bottom above about 75'. If I go to a place where the depth is more than about 75', the depth will flash repeatedly like when it loses signal or something. It's never registered a depth above 75'. Is this just a limitation of the transducer or head unit?

I've checked the transducer to make sure nothing's on it (i.e., leaves, debris, etc.)

Thanks a lot.
row21 is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 12:22 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

I assume you have checked and/or set the RANGE and POWER settings properly?? Preferrably for test purposes to AUTO.

What kind and model of transducer do you have installed, and where is it installed?
Birdman is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 12:29 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 418
Default

I will check on the settings next time I'm at the boat (Friday). I'm fairly certain I have it set on AUTO.

It is a transom mount transducer - it's mounted on the starboard side of the transom. I wish I knew the make and model - I got the boat just a few months ago, and it's a 2004. I'm assuming both the transducer and Garmin unit were factory installed. Wish I had more info on it...
row21 is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 01:19 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

If the boat is trailered, take a picture of it out of the water and post the pic. If the software settings are not the issue, most likely the transducer placement IS the issue.

And PS, the only thing "stupid" about your question was, calling it "stupid".
Birdman is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 01:30 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 418
Default

Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
And PS, the only thing "stupid" about your question was, calling it "stupid".
Thanks!

Here is a picture I have right now, you can see the transducer right near the right side bunk of the trailer. I have a better picture at home that shows the whole transom, so I'll post that when I get home.

row21 is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 02:59 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 494
Default

Need a close up picture from the rear and the starboard side of the boat. Are there any thru hulls or bottom strakes in front of the transducer?
The Hat Island Pirate is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 04:27 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 418
Default

Originally Posted by The Hat Island Pirate View Post
Need a close up picture from the rear and the starboard side of the boat. Are there any thru hulls or bottom strakes in front of the transducer?
The only thru hull on the underside of the boat is the raw water intake. The other thru hulls are the scuppers and bilge pump outlet on either side of the boat. Here's a closer pic on the starboard side:

row21 is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 04:44 PM
  #8  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,583
Default Transducer angle

Looks like the transducer needs to be angle down a little more. You don't say if the poor performance is while running or stopped.
Mackey is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 04:53 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 418
Default

Originally Posted by Mackey View Post
Looks like the transducer needs to be angle down a little more. You don't say if the poor performance is while running or stopped.
The transducer angle is definitely adjustable. It happens sometimes when I'm running - it will start flashing, and I'll have to stop and wait for it to "catch" the bottom again. But if I'm above about 75 feet or so, it will just continuously flash whether I'm stopped or running. It's almost like it just can't find the bottom because it's too deep, but 75' doesn't seem like it should be "too deep." I could see if I was out at the canyons, but I'm a mile offshore in 75' of water.
row21 is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 05:12 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North NJ & Barnegat Bay
Posts: 6,316
Default

pretty cool transducer cable cover. Never seen one of those before. Hope you get your problem resolved.
pastaman1234 is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 01:33 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

It also looks like a low end/low power transducer which is not going to do very well in deeper water even if you do get it angled .... properly. Do you know what model it is?
Birdman is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 01:45 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 418
Default

Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
It also looks like a low end/low power transducer which is not going to do very well in deeper water even if you do get it angled .... properly. Do you know what model it is?
Not sure what model it is - I'll have to check when I get out to the boat this weekend. I'm planning on upgrading my garmin unit this winter, I suppose I should upgrade the transducer as well. You're probably right that it's a crappy transducer.

I haven't done much research on this yet, but I suppose I should start soon.
row21 is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 01:51 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 418
Default

Thanks guys, I suppose I'll have to bite the bullet and upgrade. Not so much the cost I worry about as having to re-run the wire and drill new holes in the transom. PIA!
row21 is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 01:54 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,043
Default

Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
It also looks like a low end/low power transducer which is not going to do very well in deeper water even if you do get it angled .... properly. Do you know what model it is?
Good point.

It is only a $37. difference between the OEM Garmin transducer and the upgraded P66 for Garmin.

But the difference in performance is more than worth it. Doubling the size of the piezoelectric element is almost the same as quadrupling the output power of the sonar.
For example: 200 watts through a 4" crystal will reach similar depths as an 800 watt sonar thru a 2' crystal.But more importantly, the larger higher quality element will have greater sensitivity to the fainter return signals.




OEM Garmin and upgraded Airmar P66 for Garmin.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 02:01 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,043
Default

Originally Posted by row21 View Post
Not so much the cost I worry about as having to re-run the wire and drill new holes in the transom. PIA!
You can always use a "SternMate"..no holes to drill.

Also, if you are normally in less than 300' the P79 shoot thru may be an option for you...the same element as the P66.
I have a new one for Garmin...$65. Never used as it was a counter display.

Or the B60 thru the hull also has the same element and runs in cleaner water.

Link to Sternmate:
http://www.sternmate.com/

Last edited by semperfifishing; 10-06-2011 at 02:18 PM.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 02:16 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

Originally Posted by row21 View Post
Not sure what model it is - I'll have to check when I get out to the boat this weekend. I'm planning on upgrading my garmin unit this winter, I suppose I should upgrade the transducer as well. You're probably right that it's a crappy transducer.

I haven't done much research on this yet, but I suppose I should start soon.
If that is the case (pending upgrade), then I would STRONGLY recommend a THRU HULL transducer!!!!! The ONLY way I would install another transom mount ducer is if there was absolutely NO access to the hull anywhere. But that is rare, most boats give you access to the hull somewhere. Thru-hulls just work 100% better. And, they are easier to install if you get low profile type unit. Just drill the hole (2" or 4" depending on which ducer you go with), drop it in and plug in the cable. No worries about drilling into your transom, no cable and/or cable guard going over the transom.....


THRU HULL!!
Birdman is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 02:26 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 418
Default

Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
If that is the case (pending upgrade), then I would STRONGLY recommend a THRU HULL transducer!!!!! The ONLY way I would install another transom mount ducer is if there was absolutely NO access to the hull anywhere. But that is rare, most boats give you access to the hull somewhere. Thru-hulls just work 100% better. And, they are easier to install if you get low profile type unit. Just drill the hole (2" or 4" depending on which ducer you go with), drop it in and plug in the cable. No worries about drilling into your transom, no cable and/or cable guard going over the transom.....


THRU HULL!!
I definitely hear you on the effectiveness, but now we're talking about drilling large holes in the bottom of the hull, which makes me even more nervous! I'd like to avoid introducing another point of failure if I can (I suppose a transom mount is a point of failure - sternmate aside - but it's a lot smaller). Also, does the thru-hull interfere with trailering? I suppose you can mount it where it wouldn't interfere with the trailer.

I will look into stern mate as well, and the shoot thru type. I'm rarely in more than 200-250' of water.

Thanks guys!
row21 is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 02:54 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 120
Default

Generally, trailer boaters are advised to avoid through-hull transducers, but you'll find a handful that will try it anyway. There is too much opportunity for damage and that advice came from experience. I think you'll find that the SternMate™ system was designed to move the transducer aft, so that the user can adjust it upward (more toward the elevated displaced slipstream) to help avoid the sounding problems which occur by dragging it below the running surface.The adhesive installation caveat came about in an effort to avoid screw-hole installation damages.
Following C is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 03:31 PM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,043
Default

Originally Posted by row21 View Post
I definitely hear you on the effectiveness, but now we're talking about drilling large holes in the bottom of the hull, which makes me even more nervous! it's a lot smaller). Also, does the thru-hull interfere with trailering? I suppose you can mount it where it wouldn't interfere with the trailer.

Thanks guys!
A B60 only uses a 2.375" hole. And when mounted you will not even know its there.
These flush mount style transducers are engineered specifically for trailed boats...they work great for that purpose.

I would not worry about using a thru hull unit.
I have sold and / or installed untold hundreds of through hull transducers and a fair number of the boats I worked with remained afloat afterwards.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 10-06-2011 at 03:53 PM.
semperfifishing is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread