Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Raymarine Radar/Chartplotter sync problem

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine Radar/Chartplotter sync problem

Old 10-05-2011, 01:03 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Guemes Island, WA
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raymarine Radar/Chartplotter sync problem

When I overlay my 2kW radar over the Raymarine C70 chart the radar image has suddenly started shifting (jumping) clockwise 5-10-20 degrees then returns to where it should be on the chart.. This happens every 2-3 minutes.. A bit unnerving when you're running Deception Pass in the fog.. HELP
Old 10-05-2011, 01:34 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 494
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Do you have a heading sensor connected and if so has it been properly set up?
If it only happens at Deception Pass, the Bridge could be causing a magenetic field as it sits in between 2 giant rocks.
Old 10-05-2011, 01:36 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,327
Likes: 0
Received 291 Likes on 199 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by The Hat Island Pirate View Post
Do you have a heading sensor connected and if so has it been properly set up?
Sounds like no.
Old 10-05-2011, 03:41 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Guemes Island, WA
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by The Hat Island Pirate View Post
Do you have a heading sensor connected and if so has it been properly set up?
If it only happens at Deception Pass, the Bridge could be causing a magenetic field as it sits in between 2 giant rocks.
Happens everywhere..
Old 10-05-2011, 03:56 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 494
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Do you have a heading sensor connected into the system?
Old 10-05-2011, 06:01 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Guemes Island, WA
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by The Hat Island Pirate View Post
Do you have a heading sensor connected into the system?
No heading sensor either, just the C70, radar, and DSM 300.. Should have included all that initially, sorry.
Old 10-05-2011, 06:40 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 494
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

You need a heading sensor to get a stabilized overlay. It does not have to be a Raymarine brand. I have a KVH autocomp 1000 electronic compass at a cost of $345.00 connected by NMEA0813. It also gives you accurate heading and bearing as to GPS derived heading and bearing. Well worth the money.

PS: KVH makes 2 different types; An autocomp 1000(Cost 345.00) and a KVH Azimuth 1000 (cost 380.00). If you do not have room for the Autocomp 1000 get the Azimuth 1000.
Other brands to consider would be the Raymarine at a cost of 695.00, the Garmin at a cost of 795.00, Maretron (cost?) and an Airmar 695.00.
The Raymarine involves installing 2 separate pieces of equipment.
Old 10-05-2011, 08:02 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Guemes Island, WA
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by The Hat Island Pirate View Post
You need a heading sensor to get a stabilized overlay. It does not have to be a Raymarine brand. I have a KVH autocomp 1000 electronic compass at a cost of $345.00 connected by NMEA0813. It also gives you accurate heading and bearing as to GPS derived heading and bearing. Well worth the money.

PS: KVH makes 2 different types; An autocomp 1000(Cost 345.00) and a KVH Azimuth 1000 (cost 380.00). If you do not have room for the Autocomp 1000 get the Azimuth 1000.
Other brands to consider would be the Raymarine at a cost of 695.00, the Garmin at a cost of 795.00, Maretron (cost?) and an Airmar 695.00.
The Raymarine involves installing 2 separate pieces of equipment.
I just noticed this happening a few weeks ago, perhaps I was moving too slowly for the radar to pick up an accurate heading from the chartplotter's GPS... Could that be it???
Old 10-05-2011, 10:11 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,327
Likes: 0
Received 291 Likes on 199 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ayelynder View Post
I just noticed this happening a few weeks ago, perhaps I was moving too slowly for the radar to pick up an accurate heading from the chartplotter's GPS... Could that be it???
Yeah
Old 10-06-2011, 03:44 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,139
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Ayelynder View Post
I just noticed this happening a few weeks ago, perhaps I was moving too slowly for the radar to pick up an accurate heading from the chartplotter's GPS... Could that be it???
GPS updates once per second vs. heading sensor's 10 per second (10Hz).
Old 10-06-2011, 07:13 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

One of the benefits to having an autopilot is that the AP will provide the heading info to your plotter to allow for radar overlay. If an AP is in your future, I'd hold off on getting a dedicated heading sensor and instead forgo the overlay and instead run with a split screen - chartplotter in one half, and radar in the other.

Joe

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.