Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Best position for Transom mount transducer

Notices

Best position for Transom mount transducer

Old 10-04-2011, 06:16 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,065
Default Best position for Transom mount transducer

I'm getting a Lowrance HDS-7 with 50/200 kHz Transom mounted transducer...I've read the instructions provided by Lowrance, but wanted to check what others think.

Is it best to mount it close to the center line??? away from the drive???

Here is a picture of my transom....

Thanks in advance for the help.

Jose G.
Attached Images  
JoseG is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 06:32 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,603
Default

This may help,
http://www.airmartechnology.com/uplo.../17-247-03.pdf
tarnold is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 06:59 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,730
Default

semperfifishing is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 07:10 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,065
Default

Thanks for the info!
JoseG is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 08:43 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by JoseG View Post
I'm getting a Lowrance HDS-7 with 50/200 kHz Transom mounted transducer...I've read the instructions provided by Lowrance, but wanted to check what others think.

Is it best to mount it close to the center line??? away from the drive???

Here is a picture of my transom....

Thanks in advance for the help.

Jose G.
I'm an "other" so I'll tell you what I think:

The manufacturer provided installation instructions so the consumer would get the best performance possible from the product. I think you should follow the manufacturer's instructions.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 09:13 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,065
Default

Originally Posted by rwidman View Post
I'm an "other" so I'll tell you what I think:

The manufacturer provided installation instructions so the consumer would get the best performance possible from the product. I think you should follow the manufacturer's instructions.
Thanks for the input,

Some manufacturers provide more detailed information than others.

For example,
The link "tarnold" provided for Airmar is very detailed regarding the distance away from the propeller radius.
JoseG is offline  
Old 10-11-2011, 09:37 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: West Islip, NY (Long Island)
Posts: 171
Default

I'd probably put it in the back
BlenderBoy is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 03:41 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,018
Default

Hi Jose,
Semper Fi is the person with the ducer technical background & I would heed his advice. But not all hulls are the same & even mounting a transducer on your transom in a spot that worked on an identical hull may not work on your boat for a myriad of reasons.
To avoid turning your transom into a pincushion, could I suggest glassing a 5 or 7 ply piece of rectangular plywood onto your transom in the general area of your installation. Transducer locations are often a matter of trial & error to find the best spot. If you glass a mount plate onto your transom you can experiment without drilling holes into the transom itself & it is a cheap, easy fix.
peterbo3 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 05:44 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,065
Default

Originally Posted by peterbo3 View Post
Hi Jose,
Semper Fi is the person with the ducer technical background & I would heed his advice. But not all hulls are the same & even mounting a transducer on your transom in a spot that worked on an identical hull may not work on your boat for a myriad of reasons.
To avoid turning your transom into a pincushion, could I suggest glassing a 5 or 7 ply piece of rectangular plywood onto your transom in the general area of your installation. Transducer locations are often a matter of trial & error to find the best spot. If you glass a mount plate onto your transom you can experiment without drilling holes into the transom itself & it is a cheap, easy fix.
Peter, thanks for your suggestions, I did listen to the comments above.
I tested the unit over the weekend only in shallow water.

Thanks again,

Jose
JoseG is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 06:52 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Raleigh, NC. USA
Posts: 999
Default

If you are ever going to install Structurescan, the instructions advise to mount them within a foot of the 50/200 or 83/200 transducer. That way they share the signal for improved performance. I put mine just far enough apart on each side of the drain plug to allow me room for a wrench and they work great.
roberth is offline  
Old 10-13-2011, 06:34 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,065
Default

Originally Posted by roberth View Post
If you are ever going to install Structurescan, the instructions advise to mount them within a foot of the 50/200 or 83/200 transducer. That way they share the signal for improved performance. I put mine just far enough apart on each side of the drain plug to allow me room for a wrench and they work great.
Robert, thanks for the advise. Structure is not in the plans as of now....but would love to.
JoseG is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread