Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Tide Tables - how does chartplotter get this info?

Notices

Tide Tables - how does chartplotter get this info?

Old 10-03-2011, 10:47 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Barbados
Posts: 813
Default Tide Tables - how does chartplotter get this info?

I have had/used a Lowrance LCX-20c/25c/27c over the last 7 or 8 years and only discovered this last weekend that I can access a local tide table (Bridgetown, Barbados) by scrolling over a tide station and hitting WPT, and getting some pretty useful tidal and moon phase info.

Now, my question is, is this information loaded in the unit from inception? I guess it must be...
gcmarshall is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 10:47 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Plymouth Ma.
Posts: 8,036
Default

Either from the software or cartography depending on the manufacturer and age of the unit.
CMEBoston is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 10:54 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 7,961
Default

The same way they can print calendars years in advance. Now, if the moon vanishes, all bets are off, but then, you probably wouldn't need a tide table anyway.
t3rockhall is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 11:05 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Barbados
Posts: 813
Default

cool. I knew that had to be the case, but I just couldn't believe I had such a valuable tool at my disposal all of these years and never knew it.
gcmarshall is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 11:10 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,959
Default

In the past year, we owners of older Northstar 9xx-series chartplotters found the tide station /graphical plot would no longer display because the existing database was only good to yr.2000 or so. With a little diffculty, a free download program & a special N/S loader cable we were able to download new database for the next 10 or 20 yrs & install that, & now all is well with that page.
TTaxi is online now  
Old 10-03-2011, 11:26 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Plymouth Ma.
Posts: 8,036
Default

Originally Posted by TTaxi View Post
In the past year, we owners of older Northstar 9xx-series chartplotters found the tide station /graphical plot would no longer display because the existing database was only good to yr.2000 or so. With a little diffculty, a free download program & a special N/S loader cable we were able to download new database for the next 10 or 20 yrs & install that, & now all is well with that page.
It also updates it when you do the latest firmware update,
CMEBoston is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 11:30 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Just keep in mind that these are predictions only. Actual tide levels will be affected by winds, rain or drought upstream, storms, etc.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 12:23 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,928
Default

Unless you're a boater navigating skinny water, I'll submit most of us could care less when high and low tides are. For fishing, we should care about currents. When is slack, when is max, how fast will the current be, ebb, flood, ect. In my area, the incoming current still moves 2 to 3 hours AFTER the actual high tide. Here is one site that gives currents and is very useful for fishing.

http://tbone.biol.sc.edu/tide/tidesh...urrent+%282%29
ltcavery is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 12:54 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Barbados
Posts: 813
Default

I guess I assume as a rule of thumb that if low tide is at 12 p.m. and high tide is at 6 p.m. then the strongest change of tide will be occuring between 2 and 4 p.m. It would also depend on how big the difference is between the high and the low tides.
gcmarshall is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 01:17 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 7,961
Default

I didn't want to get into the difference between tides and current, but, the predicted current tables are published by NOAA.
Remember that "slack water" is not necessarily the time of high or low tide. There is "Slack, Flood begins" and "Slack, Ebb begins." Yes, for fishing, the time of current changes is more important than High/Low tide. It's also very important for figuring when to traverse, say, the East River or Hell Gate in New York.
t3rockhall is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 09:36 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Default

I love my Garmins; they not only depict high and low tides, they predict current direction and velocity!
sandyda is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 09:49 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Plymouth Ma.
Posts: 8,036
Default

Originally Posted by sandyda View Post
I love my Garmins; they not only depict high and low tides, they predict current direction and velocity!
So does my Furuno NN3D
CMEBoston is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread