Notices

Power for Furuno 600L

Old 01-08-2003, 07:58 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 158
Default Power for Furuno 600L

Straight to Battery or to Buss Bar?
Kai Lover is offline  
Old 01-08-2003, 08:29 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: roswell, ga, fulton
Posts: 2,792
Default Power for Furuno 600L

You can buy a small fuse block with a cover for all acc uses. Each can have it's own fuse sized to protect the wiring for each unit. I would only wire direct and with an in line fuse for somethng like a jon boat where there was no console. Use large enough wire from the battery to the buss to avoid voltage drops when all acc circuits are in use. Your boat may alread have a buss/fused empty acc circuit in the console area, check it out. Somewhere in the archive there is a link to a wire sizing chart or if you post the total load and wire length someone might cough up a size for you.
joe

Sapelo kat Rider
popl is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 09:19 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Power for Furuno 600L

Here's what I like about rules, once you have one in place they free you from the trouble of having to think about things anymore. For instance, you can set up a rule in your E-Mail account that says that everytime you get an incomming E-Mail message from Aunt Jane that it be automatically deleted without opening it.

Here's the rule for this case: Never connect ANYTHING directly to your battery.

Now all you have to do is follow that rule, and not bother to even think about it.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 10:37 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: roswell, ga, fulton
Posts: 2,792
Default Power for Furuno 600L


Didn't like my jon boat loop hole huh. GOOD RULE though. It's difficult sometimes on this board deciding where to start explaining something or answering someones question without knowing their technical and boating background. Hope no one is insulted by our sometime over expanation and in some cases over simplifications or omissions.
Well, lunch is over, back to the grindstone.
Joe

Sapelo kat Rider
popl is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 04:13 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 158
Default Power for Furuno 600L

Thom I've got my ole Apelco hooked directly to my battery (in line fuse) plus GPS. Been that way for years no problems.

My concern with hooking to the fuse buss is the possible distortion from other electronics--vhf, wash down, lights, etc.

Boat is a Grady White.
Kai Lover is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 05:14 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southern California,USA
Posts: 420
Default Power for Furuno 600L

I ran duplex 12 gauge wire {marine grade} up for each piece of electronics from the switch.Ive had no problems with interferance from each other.

Tim,25'SkipjackFB,Diesel
Reel Hungry
reel hungry is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 06:03 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: roswell, ga, fulton
Posts: 2,792
Default Power for Furuno 600L

As long as you connect to the same battery terminal, you are sharing whatever "distortion" is in the system. Most of the interference is produced by motors, pumps, alternators, ect. Most of the problems I've encountered were cured by proper grounding. Slap a fused buss bar in there next time, No Problem.
Joe

Sapelo kat Rider
popl is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 06:11 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 158
Default Power for Furuno 600L

Already have one wired to my switches.
Kai Lover is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread