Notices

updating a gpsmap

Old 10-01-2011, 03:19 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Default updating a gpsmap

I've got a Garmin gpsmap/sounder 235.its dated back to around 2000. I cant get a chip for the waters im in on the west coast as they dont make it any more. Ive been told i can basically update the monitor head unit which will be compatible with all the existing equiptment. does anyone have past experience doing this before i get excited and buy a 15 in. unit? thx
lanny canada is offline  
Old 10-01-2011, 05:26 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,938
Default

a 10 year old chartplotter will not be "compatible" with existing equipment other than through a NMEA 0183 interface. Current equipment is interfaced via manufacturer-specific networking protocols, most over what looks like ethernet cables. Your 235 may be useful as a stand-alone redundant unit, so you may want to keep it. But don't get excited about being able to include it in current equipment network. For local charts, check Ebay, old chart chips still come up from time to time. These are gcharts, right?
Buoy Scout is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 09:36 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by lanny canada View Post
I've got a Garmin gpsmap/sounder 235.its dated back to around 2000. I cant get a chip for the waters im in on the west coast as they dont make it any more. Ive been told i can basically update the monitor head unit which will be compatible with all the existing equiptment. does anyone have past experience doing this before i get excited and buy a 15 in. unit? thx
Why don't you go back to the person who told you the monitor head can be upgraded and ask him how to do it?

I personally would not invest a lot of time and money in an eleven year old GPS. There have been a lot of improvements during this time. Also, if it breaks tomorrow, it's unrepairable.
rwidman is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 01:28 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,929
Default

If you are talking about keeping the transducer and replacing the 235 with a 15" MFD, it might work, just like you might be able to use the Spare from your 1972 Fairlane 500 on a new Shelby Cobra.
sandyda is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 06:08 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Default

yes i believe they are g charts but even if i get the chip the resolution on this screen is like watching atari or pong. Everthing works as far as coordinates , depth, speed compass etc. so i guess i should contact Garmin and see what they say about pluggin in a new unit to existing recievers. Bet they say sure for 15k we'll set u up! lol
lanny canada is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread