Notices

HDS-10 just quit on me

Old 09-30-2011, 02:43 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 57
Default HDS-10 just quit on me

Worked fine for three days last week. Went to turn it on yesterday and nothing. Checked all connections and power and no issues there. Hooked up my LCX-27 to the HDS power cord and it turned right on. Tried a soft and hard reset without result.

Called NAVICO today and they answered on the second ring, no holding! She said to send it in and advised a 10-15 day turnaround. Since its still under warranty she said that they will attempt repair but will most likely send a new one back. Anyone with experience on this "10-15 day turnaround"? I have several trips lined up just outside this 15 day window and would hate to be without....

Thanks
Ofishal Misconduct is offline  
Old 09-30-2011, 04:15 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: haddam, ct
Posts: 597
Default

That sucks. Hope they take care of things quickly. Are you still under warranty? I am getting to the end of my two year warranty.
slapshotjh is offline  
Old 09-30-2011, 05:00 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 3,901
Default

Any electronics can do just that. So that is the specific reason I have 2 of the same; plus the trouble shooting ability is excellent. And I'll tell ya', of all the little issues I've come across, all but one have been user error. The only one that wasn't was the existing HDS-8 sonar wouldn't work when I 1st bought my new-to-me boat. Knowing what I do today, I couldn't say for sure that one issue wasn't user error as well. They replaced that unit but it did take a little over a month for the return.
GulfC is offline  
Old 10-01-2011, 08:58 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 1,901
Default

Sounds like pretty quick response for an expensive item. Look at it like this....better discovered under warranty than not, I guess!
capecuddy is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 02:27 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 116
Default

If it's not working, you are already without a unit. Send it in and let them repair it under warranty or send you a new one.
RickyF is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread