Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Northstar 6100i compatibility with 490 sounder

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Northstar 6100i compatibility with 490 sounder

Old 09-18-2011, 12:06 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 34
Default Northstar 6100i compatibility with 490 sounder

When I purchased my boat the chartplotter was missing. I have a northstar 490 echo sounder and was told that the boat had a 6000i.

I have located a 6100i 10.4" unit and wanted to know if it is compatible with the 490 echo sounder. If i have to replace the 490 with a 491 are the cables different?
searage is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 04:56 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,964
Default

Yes, you can use it. For the record, the 490-s, 490-d, and 491 are all basically the same unit. The difference is:

-490-s is for a 600w dual freq. 50/200 ducer ONLY
-490-d is for a 1000w dual freq. 50/200 ducer ONLY
-491 is for either a 600w or 1000w 50/200 ducer
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 04:58 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,964
Default

Also, the only difference between the 6000 and 6100 is the 6100 has a faster processor and has satellite weather interface. If you want to add sat. weather, pm me, I can get you a great deal on the sat. weather kit for these units.
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 10:02 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Georgetown, SC
Posts: 343
Default

Many of the platinum charts won't work in the 6000i according to Northstar but all my Navionics chips are platinum and they work in my 6000i fine. Navionics told me it was because my cards are older (2006-2007). I like me 6000i but wish it were the 6100 so I could add the weather.

Originally Posted by mstyle8517 View Post
Also, the only difference between the 6000 and 6100 is the 6100 has a faster processor and has satellite weather interface. If you want to add sat. weather, pm me, I can get you a great deal on the sat. weather kit for these units.
Lake Murray Viper is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread