Notices

Bluechart chip or CD-rom?

Old 12-09-2003, 06:01 AM
  #1  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mobile,AL
Posts: 40
Default Bluechart chip or CD-rom?

Is there any advantage with one over the other,besides the price? Looking to purchase the Garmin 162.
bama1992 is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 07:26 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Default Bluechart chip or CD-rom?

The advantage of the CD version is that you can work with the routes and charts on your laptop. If you only get the chip, then you are going to do all the mapping on your 162.

Of course the advantage of the chip is that when you find that the 162 has too small a screen, you can use the chip in each bigger unit you buy up to the 2014. With the CD Version, you can only activate two units without having to pay again.

The views and/or opinions stated by the author in this post are the views and opinions of the author
Think Tweiss is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 08:06 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Carolina
Posts: 21,889
Default Bluechart chip or CD-rom?

Think Tweiss, isn't there also an issue of memory? I am wanting to get the Metro CD for my 176 and I think I can only download small amounts of info unless I upgrade the memory chip. ???
Shag is online now  
Old 12-09-2003, 11:21 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: miami
Posts: 812
Default Bluechart chip or CD-rom?

do a search on the subject, key words -- garmin, chip, memory, blue chart -- you should get 95% of what you need, then ask any specific questions about the remaining 5%. good luck.
landlubber is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 02:24 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marshfield MA
Posts: 134
Default Bluechart chip or CD-rom?

bama1992,
You need the CD for the 162. I found out the hard way by ordering the 162 and data card (chip), assuming that was the only medium the software came in. As I'm trying to load the sotfware, I find there isn't a port to plug the chip in. Long story short, 176 and up use the card, anything below that model uses the CD. Check Garmin's web site for particulars.
ScottM is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 07:33 PM
  #6  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mobile,AL
Posts: 40
Default Bluechart chip or CD-rom?

I appreciate the info Scott, saved me some time and $$$! Sorry about your misfortune.
bama1992 is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 08:36 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mobile, Al.
Posts: 949
Default Bluechart chip or CD-rom?

hey bama1992
watch them sales people, they will lead you astray
working tonight

seachaser 2100 rg
swrock is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread