Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Transducer Replacement

Old 09-17-2011, 06:19 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transducer Replacement

I have an 2001 Hewes 16 Redfish and the thru hull transducer is bad, I do not want to put another Lowrance on the boat, would I be better of putting the new one on the transom or replacing it with another trhu hull. Thanks for any input.
Old 09-17-2011, 10:48 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,134
Likes: 0
Received 1,558 Likes on 814 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by sptetesal View Post
I have an 2001 Hewes 16 Redfish and the thru hull transducer is bad, I do not want to put another Lowrance on the boat, would I be better of putting the new one on the transom or replacing it with another trhu hull. Thanks for any input.
First of all what model sonar are you using..or will be using?

What is the model number of the transducer you now have that is bad?

And what are your fishing conditions..how deep etc.
Old 09-18-2011, 05:18 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It is a Lowrance X49, I am thinking of replacing it with one dose both depth and map, I will be fishing in mostly shallow water but now and then I can go in the bay, (Tampa Bay) which is where I would be useing the bottom finder.
Old 09-18-2011, 07:04 AM
  #4  
20P
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The new combo will come with a transom mount. They work once you get em tuned to the hull. It doesnt sound like your real hardcore. Im curious what makes you think your transducer is bad? I put a lot of Lorance on kayaks and the number one problem we see is in the power cord end not the transducer.
Old 09-18-2011, 11:07 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It is not the transducer, but the end of the cord that totally corroded, pins and all came apart. I know I can splice a new cord (not recommended but can be done) but the cord is approx $60.00 and the unit is about the same so the reason for replacement, and yes not too hard core, between Kitesurfing, Kayaking, Boating and work I am busy.
Old 09-18-2011, 11:15 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,134
Likes: 0
Received 1,558 Likes on 814 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by sptetesal View Post
It is not the transducer, but the end of the cord that totally corroded, pins and all came apart. I know I can splice a new cord (not recommended but can be done) but the cord is approx $60.00 and the unit is about the same so the reason for replacement, and yes not too hard core, between Kitesurfing, Kayaking, Boating and work I am busy.
You can get a Lowrance pig tail.with new connector....easy to splice..under $20.
Old 09-19-2011, 01:50 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I called Lowrance and told them my situation and she did not say they had the pigtail, just the cord; I will look a little harder, bty if you have the site I can order from please post. Thanks for the info

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.