Notices

Thom......Big E's battery question

Old 01-11-2003, 12:48 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Posts: 728
Default Thom......Big E's battery question

Thom,
I've got a four battery setup and trying to figure it out. Big E posted the original question but he's got me hellbent on trying to figure out how mine works. Check out the picture I sent you and see if you can help both of us out. You can click on the link below and scroll down the bottom of my photo album and find the two pics concerning the wiring diagram. These aren't as clear as the ones I emailed you. Thanks

Danny is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 12:51 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Posts: 728
Default Thom......Big E's battery question

Shit! I forgot the link.

http://members.fishingworks.com/scubaboys/photos.cfm

Danny is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 05:06 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Thom......Big E's battery question

Danny,

The one You E-Mailed me was clearer, thank you for that. Apparently you wrote in, by hand, the connection to the Port and Starboard engines, and that helped. You didn't draw in the negative side connectins from batterys 1 and 2 to the engines, but I'll just assume they are there (or nothing at all would work). I have no idea what the box far to the left in the diagram is, that would be the one marked 30 Amp and with a small circle in the middle of it. I found it awfully interesting that the input lugs from the posts for Battery 1 were jumped between the battery switches, and a bit suprised by it too, but then I was floored to see batterys 3 and 4 jumped by the positive side battery cable too. I can see why you might be confused.

Anyway, following my just made up policy of not opening my big mouth on stuff I don't know squat about, I'm gonna pass on commenting on your system, other than to say that is not how I think I would have done it, but as I've said before I've never bothered to think my way through a multi battery system for multi engines. It would be to much like a garden slug trying to play chess .....

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 06:09 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,775
Default Thom......Big E's battery question

I needed that!

I thought my brain was nearly scrambled since I really don't know as much as some here!

Nice to see that this is trickier than it appears!

Someone give me an aspirin!

KMA-IARF TSLTW
Big E is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 06:57 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default Thom......Big E's battery question

Well heck I'll throw an opinion in.

It looks as though the 30 amp box is a circuit breaker for the panel.

Normally Acc. switch would be run in position 2.

To select a specific combo of batteries for cranking.

Batt 2 only: Engine switch in position 2, Acc. switch in position 2
Batt 1 only: Engine switch in position 1, Acc. switch in position 2
Batt's 1 and 2: Engine switch in position "both", Acc. switch in position 2

Batt's 1 and 2 and Batt's 3&4: Engine switch in position "both", Acc. switch in position "both"



Acc. switch in position 1: this switches out Batt's 3&4, the panel run off of Batt 1, unless engine switch is in "both" position. Then the panel runs off of both batt's 1 and 2. The engine cranks with batt(s) selected with engine switch.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 10:12 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Posts: 728
Default Thom......Big E's battery question

LOL,
Thanks Sea Dad. I'm still not really sure if I understand it or not. Might be a problem from the late 60,s or early 70's thing.
As far as the negative wires, they weren't shown in the diagram, but would that make any difference?
I always run the switches in the both position. I know that's a no no but I just keep an eye on my volt gauges.
Sure am glad I could help you out BigE. LOL I think I'm going to see if I can find my way to the other end of the house now.


http://members.fishingworks.com/scubaboys/photos.cfm
Danny is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 11:09 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default Thom......Big E's battery question

well it looked to me that the negative posts were indeed tied together on the schematic. Was this not true in the boat itself? But absolutely, you will want to tie the negatives all together.

What I didnt see (on the schematic) was a connection from the batteries negatives back to the engines. Both engines need a black wire as big as the red starter wire (the fat one) running from the negative post to the engine block. I would assume the boat has them.

The only risk of running both in the "both" position is if one fails while your under power. Assuming the altenators can charge them all at once.

Maybe you can repost your original question/problem. I am unaware of what you originally asked.


Force an electrical engineer to sit at home waiting for his new boat and he gets figity. Glad I could help? LOL
Sea_Dad is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread