Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Adding another Lowrance HDS unit

Old 09-13-2011, 11:44 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 253
Default Adding another Lowrance HDS unit

I have an HDS 5 with the nautic insight and I finally want to add another unit. I'd love to get the HDS8 but I think I'd really be happy just by adding another HDS5. All I really want to gain is a seperate fish finder and gps. Could I just add the HDS 5x unit and link with an ethernet cable? I've been split screening my unit since I got it and I think another 5 would be big enough at full screen. Just wondering if I could just add a 5x unit (fish finder only) to save a few more bucks and link them together. Any thoughts good or bad?
Thanks.
superfly is offline  
Old 09-13-2011, 11:53 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,464
Default

You can add a HDS-5, HDS-5x or HDS-5M all of them will give you separate plotter and fishfinder since you already have a HDS-5. If connected by Ethernet to a unit with fisfinder also HDSD-5M will work as a fishfinder. Charts are not shared over Ethernet, so the unit used as plotter needs a built-in chart or a SD card with charts.

I would have gone for a HDS-5 combo to gain redundancy.
abbor is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread