Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Ray E-120/DSM-300 Issues & Rewire

Old 09-11-2011, 01:56 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, NY Sugarloaf Key, Fl
Posts: 285
Default Ray E-120/DSM-300 Issues & Rewire

I have a E-120, DSM-300 & M260 1KW In hull ducer.

Problems
Im getting the "Lost DSM message" & " No Data Source" most of the time I use the boat.

When the sounder is working, it doesnt read the bottom well when running
25+mph. I checked the oil level in the ducer box, it was fine. I also made
sure the correct ducer was selected on the E-120

So far I did a exchange for a new DSM-300 through RM, the software on
the 120 is the lastest, I replaced both house & starting batterys & a new
dual circut battery switch.

I want to rewire the house battery to the "house battery switch" with
#2 (approx 8ft) and the battery switch to the fuse block with #8 (approx 6ft) ancor quality cable. The neg side of the house battery would be #8
the the neg side of the fuse block (approx 12')

Question is 8ga heavy enough or do I need 6ga with the voltage sensitive
Ray stuff?
seafari is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 05:37 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PBG, FL
Posts: 8,933
Default

I don't think you have 8 gauge coming out of ur dsm. I would check ur network connections between the e series and dsm. Make sure the dsm has the latest software as well as the e series. Even though the e series does doesn't automatically mean the dsm does. Finally I would consider putting the dsm on a switch on ur dash. That way if it starts acting up you can reset it without having to pull a wire. Or when you have no use for it then just turn it off. I know if I do a lot of running and its not reading bottom then it will freak itself out. But the updates saved mine.
bradv is offline  
Old 09-12-2011, 09:48 PM
  #3  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,859
Default

Originally Posted by bradv View Post
I don't think you have 8 gauge coming out of ur dsm. I would check ur network connections between the e series and dsm. Make sure the dsm has the latest software as well as the e series. Even though the e series does doesn't automatically mean the dsm does. Finally I would consider putting the dsm on a switch on ur dash. That way if it starts acting up you can reset it without having to pull a wire. Or when you have no use for it then just turn it off. I know if I do a lot of running and its not reading bottom then it will freak itself out. But the updates saved mine.
100% agree.
CME is offline  
Old 09-12-2011, 11:57 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,113
Default

Originally Posted by bradv View Post
Make sure the dsm has the latest software as well as the e series. Even though the e series does doesn't automatically mean the dsm does
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 09-13-2011, 07:09 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, NY Sugarloaf Key, Fl
Posts: 285
Default

Thanks for the input!!
The DSM is 2 months old, I did a exchange with RM.
I spoke to Winston at RM and said the power cable for the
DSM was redesigned with a better connection on the pins, I
will swap that out this weekend. Im going to hook up the
new power cable directly to the house battery switch which
is only about 1 foot away from the DSM. That should rule out
any low voltage issues. The switch is off when the boat is not used.
Winston also mentioned he would send me a new network cable
without the inline switch if Im still having issues.
seafari is offline  
Old 09-14-2011, 06:44 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Suffolk, Va
Posts: 634
Default

I had the same problem as you seafari and the only way I could correct it (even for a little while) was wiring the DSM straight to the battery. The DSM are very voltage sensitive. Of course then you also need a switch in place to turn it on/off when you leave the boat or it will drain the battery (don't ask how I know). This corrected my problem about 70% of the time. It still happens occasionally.

To be honest I finally just said the heck with it and bought a Humminbird side scan unit...never had a problem with it and now I rarely turn on the DSM at all. Hope you get it fixed.
TrickyRick is offline  
Old 09-14-2011, 04:22 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Encino California
Posts: 1,145
Default

My raycrap does the same thing. Never again.
Bogii is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 01:11 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 527
Default

I had to wire my DSM directly to a battery as well, left the inline switch there. The run from the power connection, back to the battery switches (rear of boat), then back up to the batteries was too much I guess. It hardly ever gives me that message now but quite a pain to have to remember to turn it on and off.
dengle is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 01:22 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 299
Default

The DSM 300 just had an update that goes through the E120.
Stillherejim is offline  
Old 09-30-2011, 08:26 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 23
Default

I have the E-120 with the DSM 300 and keep losing my sounder readings at all different times . I have gone through two DSM 300's which were replaced by RM. I am going to take a look at how the DSM is powerd in my YF 32. Kevin B from YF is calling RM for me to find a cure. I will update on what happens, but it sounds like by direct powering the DSM from the battery will fix the issue.
wolf35 is offline  
Old 09-30-2011, 04:20 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 261
Default

Double check your DSM software is at 4.20.

Double check your power - see if your voltage is getting below 11.5 when the DSM is running. If it is, then you might need that re-wire.
V8BoatBuilder is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread