Notices

Transom vs Through Hull

Old 01-11-2003, 07:06 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stonington, Connecticut
Posts: 176
Default Transom vs Through Hull

A distributor for Lowrance once told me that the through hull transducers are superior in function than the transom mounts. I have an OB and intend on using a transom mount, but if the through hull will provide better function, I would consider coring.

Please advise. Thanks
Carrie-Dee is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 10:23 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Cocoa, Fl.
Posts: 131
Default Transom vs Through Hull

Best thing I did for my Furuno 600L.
Mr. T is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 11:59 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Transom vs Through Hull

Thru hull!! Period.

Persoannly, I think they should STOP selling transom mount ducers. They should be used ONLY when there is NO POSSIBLE way of mounting a thur hull. For example, some keeled boats have a difficult time getting access to a good spot. Other than that, thru-hull.

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 12:30 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 2004 32 Topaz
Posts: 360
Default Transom vs Through Hull

ok.. then why don't you tell a company like regulator not void my warrenty if i use a thru hull. If you can convince that to them i am changing today.. and a huge thanks in store for you..
flounder1979 is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 02:23 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: boston ma usa
Posts: 644
Default Transom vs Through Hull

theu hulls are superior,they are because its a one shot deal and 99% of the time they will work great after installed without tweeking etc... I think transom mounts can and will work just as good as long as you find the exact spot to place it on your boat.This takes time (unless your real lucky and get it the first time) I feel what happens is people install them on transoms and after maybe switching location once they are satisfied with the performance,but at high speeds it dosnt mark bottom,dosnt give correct depth , etc... so they just blame it on the fact that its a transom mount and its performing the best it can.I know because i have a thru hull and transom mount for a furuno 582, the thru hull i installed myself and the transom came with boat,I wasnt satisfied with the transom mount even after switching locations 2 times (didnt drill holes until final placement) so i went with the thru hull witch worked great from the start.Now having a ducer that worked great i kept changing locations on my transom mount to see if i could get it as good as the thru hulls performance.After 6 locations and on water testing I really cant tell if thru hull or transom mount is the one working, at any speed or conditions.So if you go transom mount,take your time and keep testing it until its perfect, and dont think it cant be because its a transom mount,I made the mistake. I would still go with thru hull for the ease , but if my warranty was in jeapordy not a chance.

Fish on !!
robalocc is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 02:59 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: washington, DC
Posts: 107
Default Transom vs Through Hull

any cat boat owners out here have a thru hull on a cat that they trailer? If so where is the transducer and how well does it work?
tricube is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 04:02 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Transom vs Through Hull

If I had a boat that was made by a manufacturer who would void my warranty because a thru Hull was installed I'd get another boat.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 04:31 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 2004 32 Topaz
Posts: 360
Default Transom vs Through Hull

well i do not make the rules... Regulator say in the manual specifically that if you use a thru hulll transducer, your warenty willl have been voided. I know thru hulls are 100% better than transom mounts but i have a 70k boat and not about to fight with the manufacter abou that. Plus my boat will beat out most anything comparble to it and i would not give it up for anything less.
flounder1979 is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 06:33 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Whitt, TX, USA
Posts: 868
Default Transom vs Through Hull

I use transom (and troller) mount transducers for my Lowrance units and get correct performance.

I do this not only because I have a Boston Whaler and would be struck by lightning if I compromised the hull, but because I consider sonar systems and their transducers termporary accessories that will be changed and upgraded as the years go by.

There is no "only" way to do anything.

Red sky at night. . .
JB
J.B. Cornwell is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 11:22 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 943
Default Transom vs Through Hull

I have two ducers on my transom and they work perfectly at all speeds. Just take your time in locating the correct spot where you got 'clean' water coming off the back of the boat.
NIGHTIDES is offline  
Old 01-11-2003, 11:42 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Transom vs Through Hull

quote:Originally posted by NIGHTIDES:
I have two ducers on my transom and they work perfectly at all speeds. Just take your time in locating the correct spot where you got 'clean' water coming off the back of the boat.

Yes, and I have 5 Hugo cars in my driveway that all drive perfectly!! You should ALL go out and buy Hugo's because mine work perfectly!!

As Thom stated, if a reputable company "voids a hull due to installation of a thru hull", then buy a different hull!!!! That's absoluetly rediculous. Any exuse to get out of their warranty huh? Nice company. PS- I would bet a million dollars that would NOT hold up in court in all 50 states. Sorry sir, ya can't put fishing equipment on our fishing boats". Gimme a break already, that kind of stuff makes my blood boil.


Regulator SUCKS!!! And yes, I've looked at them lately, they are currently a sad excuse for a high end boat. The quality control is so poor right now it's hard to believe. Who owns that company right now? Is it that bowling company, Brunswich by any chance?

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 12:02 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,026
Default Transom vs Through Hull

I'm in the final rigging phase of a new aluminum 28' cat and as you know cat hulls are fairly narrow and in my case I have fairly steep deadrise all the way aft (each hull is deep V) and the builder almost croaked when I sent him a big Airmar transducer and asked him to mount it to the hull. The 'ducer is about the size of a small shoebox with pointy ends and would have required a huge fairing block to get it to blend in and minimize drag. We discussed fabricating a pocket in the hull that would recess it but in the end we simply engineered a heavy duty transom bracket for the thing that is now welded in place. The bottom of the 'ducer is sitting about 1/4" below the deadrise on the stbd hull. I guess my point is you can get the advantages of a high end transducer in a transom mount situation if you are willing to make a custom mounting bracket.

28' Maxcat w/twin Honda 225's (on the way!)
Chaps is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 12:07 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: boston ma usa
Posts: 644
Default Transom vs Through Hull

birdman, I respect your opinions but I am speaking first hand experience, my transom ducer works just as good as thru hull absolutely no difference at all like i stated above. I take it you had problems with your transom ducer as I did, but i can gurantee you if you worked with it enough if would give you the same performance as your thru hull. Cod is hot now in boston, it would be cool fishing with a hull truth member and showing him to some boston fishing.If you decide to take a trip to boston i can run my furuno on both ducers at all speed ranges and we will mark and catch many fish, you will have some nice fresh steaks and a nice fresh post on how well the transom mount ducers can work. That has me thinking, it would be awesome for us to exchange fishing trips in our local area with members, anyone who wants to try boston cod fishing shoot me an email and we will arrange it. Boat will be ready soon ,currently its at eagle marine getting guages done, should be ready next week. lets start jigging

Fish on !!
robalocc is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 01:19 AM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 943
Default Transom vs Through Hull

quote:Originally posted by Birdman:

Yes, and I have 5 Hugo cars in my driveway that all drive perfectly!! You should ALL go out and buy Hugo's because mine work perfectly!!

Bird... Hugo car do suck. But not all transom installations are bad. Actually it is probably fair to say that most ducers for smaller boats are indeed transom installed.

Carrie-Dee: I got your same hull [1985 vintage] and use Lowrance Sonar; never a problem. Have someone drive the boat while you look over the transom. There is some very clean water just a few inches [3-5"] from the inner edge of the trim tab going toward the centerline of boat.

Of course you could do a 'shoot-thru-the-hull' install and have no holes anywhere. Doing this though may reduce your signal strength by 10-15% but some guys swear by it.
NIGHTIDES is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 02:15 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Transom vs Through Hull

Robo,
I beleive ya, really!! I know a transom ducer can work fine (once in a blue moon). But that's not the point. Why waste your time screwing around with the positioning, height, putting wholes in your transom.... and maybe you get it working, when ya can easily install one that almost ALWAYS works, first time, no tinkering?

If you buy a boat that already has a tran ducer on it and it works fine, then leave it, great. BUT, if you are in the market for a new one, or buying your first, FIRST consider getting a thru hull at all cost. Only in the case you can not find a place to install a thru hull should you waste your time with a transom or in-hull.

Hmmm..... 5:12am .... still doing boating stuff.. the therapy is NOT working!!!

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 02:15 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Transom vs Through Hull

double
Birdman is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 03:28 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberPLEDGERCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Delray Beach/Davie
Posts: 2,195
Default Transom vs Through Hull

Thru-hull is the only way to go. My Furuno Gp 1900 with the 1KW TH really performs. The ducer was installed at the factory, so no warranty issues. I can't believe Regulators policy. A friend has a Reg 26, I'm running a Whitewater 28. I have to call him and see what kind of ducer he has

endoman
endoman is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 07:55 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,775
Default Transom vs Through Hull

If a company designs a boat that is primarily bought and used by fishermen, "With the Serious Fisherman in mind", why don't they include something as simple as a fairing block when they make the boat?

Or at least make it a factory option?

Why not also spend some time testing numerous transom maount positions and at least suggest the best place to put one rather than have somebody drill holes and try numerous mounts in search of the "sweet spot'? Maybe even include a fool proof template to mark the spot?

i am flabbergasted that Regulator won't allow it!

KMA-IARF TSLTW
Big E is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 08:02 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Whitt, TX, USA
Posts: 868
Default Transom vs Through Hull

Lowrance (Eagle) tells you exactly where, and how, to mount it.

Red sky at night. . .
JB
J.B. Cornwell is offline  
Old 01-12-2003, 08:19 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default Transom vs Through Hull

they all tell you where and how to mount for best performance.

The nice thing about transom mounts, they wont sink the boat when they break.
Sea_Dad is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread