Notices

Ratheon R21 not returning echoes

Old 09-05-2011, 08:02 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Beach, MS
Posts: 95
Default Ratheon R21 not returning echoes

Ok, so I bought an older Ratheon R21 open array. This is my first radar and I got a good deal on it. For the most part, it appears to be functioning as it should. It powers up, the array spins, it shows the distance rings on the monitor, but that is it. It doesn't show any returns on the screen. Does this sound like something major or do I have something hooked up wrong? Any ideas?
motocrs826 is offline  
Old 09-05-2011, 10:57 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,069
Default

That doesn't sound like that good a deal so far..... . But just in case it's a simple adjustment issue, do you have auto tune turned off & the Sea Clutter and rain rejection turned all the way counter clockwise to minimum/off , and Gain turned way up until there is snow(then back off slightly). Then turn the Tuning knob slowly back and forth until the on-screen tuning bars show max # of bars.

Is it fully installed or are you testing this before install? Did you get the manual with it and read it? (especially if this is your 1st radar some of the instructions & descriptions can be confusing but it's important to read the manual.) If no manual , Raymarine (and retrevo.com) has them available for free download on p. 3 here for R21 , R21X & R21XX : http://www.raymarine.com/Default.asp...ion=3&page=649


I'd think if the magnatron was shot or possibly even a loose array hookup wire, you may have had an on-screen fault message but it sounds like that is not the case.. And if it was a bad fuse (one of 2??) at the back of the display, I'd expect the array would not spin or the diplay not turn on.

caution: Try to stay clear of the potential transmission beam path of the array whether or not you think it is transmitting properly.

Note: If you do get it tuned & operating satisfactorily , if this is the plain R21 not R21 X or XX, I don't believe you will be able to enter a WP on your GPS and have the very handy 'lollipop" designator vector guide appear on the radar screen to the WP position. it would be good if you have the XX. I still use the R20XX I bought in '95 .
(no radar or any other kind of expert, just a boater)

Last edited by TTaxi; 09-05-2011 at 11:22 AM.
TTaxi is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread