Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Plug for Hydroglow, Downrigger, and electric reel

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Plug for Hydroglow, Downrigger, and electric reel

Old 09-01-2011, 07:14 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 2,090
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Plug for Hydroglow, Downrigger, and electric reel

Want to install one plug for all of my plug in accessories on my new Regulator. I have a hydroglow and a swordlight, Cannon Mag 10 electric downrigger and will be using electramate reel at times.
Want to have the same plug on all of these so I only need one outlet at the stern of the boat. May install one on each side I case I want to run two reels or two lights at the same time. Tired of alligato clips and screw on terminals.
What are the the best flush mount type plugs available?
Old 09-01-2011, 09:23 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PBG, FL
Posts: 8,940
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Use the plug and outlet that comes with the downriggers and just put the plugs on ur other items. That downrigger is going to be what requires the most amps so I'd just stick with that
Old 09-01-2011, 10:34 AM
  #3  
jzd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 267
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

haven't done it yet, but i plan on installing these for my light and electric reel. amazon has them both round $20 a piece.

http://www.marinco.com/product/2-wir...o-receptacle-0

http://www.marinco.com/product/2-wire-connectpro-plug
Old 09-01-2011, 05:05 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PBG, FL
Posts: 8,940
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

I actually have those marinco plugs and outlets. 8 gauge wire makes those rated up to 40 amps according to the manufacturer. I have them run off 40 amp resettable breakers so I can tuRn power off when not in use.
Old 09-02-2011, 04:58 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 2,090
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I've gotta replace the plug on the downrigger anyway. Rats chewed on the power cord and plug while in storage this spring.
Been using planers and trolling weights a good bit so it sat up for a while. Hopefully the marinco plugs and a 40 amp breaker will do the trick.
Think I'll need an in line fuse for the lights? Was gonna use the Kristal reels plugs but those are much cheaper.

Thanks
Old 09-02-2011, 05:09 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brandon, FL + Hudson, FL
Posts: 1,280
Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Check these outlets out:

http://www.captharry.com/product/Ele...ectric/78.html
Old 09-02-2011, 12:36 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 332
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

this is what we use....http://www.tuppens.com/images/kristalplug.jpg. but did not buy from this place, there are the plugs that kristal reels use
Old 09-02-2011, 04:55 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 320
Likes: 0
Received 75 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Do yourself a favor and make sure you install a box with 2 on each side. I run them and at night we run 2 hydraglows and our electra-mates. Not much more money and trust me you'll never tell yourself "I wish I had less plug-ins".
Old 09-03-2011, 09:18 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 761
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

We use the Marinco plugs and outlet that jzd links to above, except in the 3-prong version (don't use the third conductor). Very happy with them on everything from Hydroglow to electric reels. We also rigged an adapter that lets us plug in a regular cigarette lighter plug for things like spotlights etc. Have receptacles in bow and stern of the boat.

Here's a link to them. No affilliation with Del City -- they just have good pricing.
http://www.delcity.net/cartviewitem?...rch=Receptacle
Old 09-03-2011, 06:52 PM
  #10  
edk
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 1,163
Received 30 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bradv View Post
I actually have those marinco plugs and outlets. 8 gauge wire makes those rated up to 40 amps according to the manufacturer. I have them run off 40 amp resettable breakers so I can tuRn power off when not in use.
The Marinco plugs that were linked to are the 2 wire plugs and the specs say that they can handle up to 10 gauge. The 3 wire plugs can handle 8 gauge.

I use 30A Hubbell plugs on my lights and electric reels. Most people I know have their boats wired the same way - makes it easier to use your gear on someone elses boat.

Ed
Old 09-20-2011, 01:37 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lighthouse Point, FL
Posts: 542
Received 48 Likes on 31 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Clam_Alert View Post
We use the Marinco plugs and outlet that jzd links to above, except in the 3-prong version (don't use the third conductor). Very happy with them on everything from Hydroglow to electric reels. We also rigged an adapter that lets us plug in a regular cigarette lighter plug for things like spotlights etc. Have receptacles in bow and stern of the boat.

Here's a link to them. No affilliation with Del City -- they just have good pricing.
http://www.delcity.net/cartviewitem?...rch=Receptacle
Curious how you house these undergunnel? Is there a box for them? Looking to add one on port and starboard gunnels for kite reels.
Old 09-20-2011, 01:57 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,018
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I have an Electramate 620-XP running a Penn 114. Max amp draw can be 70 amps so you need to size your cable, connections & breaker/fuse to handle that load if you have the 620. Other models may draw more or less. The Electramate site has all the details.
Old 09-22-2011, 09:10 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 761
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by sea fever View Post
Curious how you house these undergunnel? Is there a box for them? Looking to add one on port and starboard gunnels for kite reels.
They are on a YF and mount forward of where the trim tab pump boxes install



The forward plugs mount into the bulkhead that forms the anchor locker.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.