Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

HDS NMEA 2000 and Fuel Gauges

Old 08-30-2011, 07:08 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upper NC
Posts: 2,649
Received 459 Likes on 270 Posts
Default HDS NMEA 2000 and Fuel Gauges

Has anyone had success connecting an HDS to the fuel tank sensor via NMEA 2000 and still have a functional analog gauge?
Old 08-30-2011, 09:16 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 157
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The EP-65R is designed to be the only device receiving signals from
the sending unit. If the EP-65R is replacing a previous gauge, make
sure you remove all the old gauge wires before you begin. If this is a
replacement, note which connection is positive before disconnecting
the old wires.
Most likely there's an issue with connecting two gauges. Perhaps resistance in the analog gauge.

Re: http://www.lowrance.com/upload/Lowra...-372_82707.pdf
Old 08-30-2011, 09:51 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,446
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

By adding a buffer both the analog gauge and EP85R can be driven without probelms. Of course some basic electronics skills are needed to be able to implement this.
Old 08-30-2011, 11:01 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 493
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by polarred21 View Post
Has anyone had success connecting an HDS to the fuel tank sensor via NMEA 2000 and still have a functional analog gauge?
I have seen several posts that the Lowrance A/D converter works fine with an analog gauge attached, contrary to what the manual says. Mine has been good enough I didn't bother to try it.

If you're worried, you could always add a small DPDT switch to choose between the NMEA2000 converter and your analog gauge. This is what I'll do when I have the time.
Old 08-30-2011, 11:40 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, England
Posts: 100
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The Maretron resistive to N2K adaptor is designed to work in tandem with analogue gauges, in fact one connects it to the gauge if that's any help to you.
Attached Images   
Old 08-31-2011, 05:48 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upper NC
Posts: 2,649
Received 459 Likes on 270 Posts
Default

Thanks for the feedback. I also thought about adding a switch for the two. I have a 97 gallon tank and take mostly short trips. The analog stays on full for about 20-25 hours of run time, want to get a better grip on fuel level w/o having to fill up all the time.
Old 09-03-2011, 07:14 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birch Bay / Sekiu
Posts: 1,098
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=polarred21;3993414 want to get a better grip on fuel level w/o having to fill up all the time.[/QUOTE]

Why not run a fuel flow sender then? They are very accurate and it gives you a redundant setup.
Old 09-03-2011, 09:17 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 1,901
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I wish there was an oil flow sensor....my level sensor is always barking false alarms.

The gasoline flow rate calculation of fuel level is amazingly accurate.....whenever I fill up at the marina, I tell 'em what I think it'll take and it's usually within a few tenths of a gallon.
Old 09-05-2011, 04:49 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upper NC
Posts: 2,649
Received 459 Likes on 270 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by edyer View Post
Why not run a fuel flow sender then? They are very accurate and it gives you a redundant setup.
Originally Posted by capecuddy View Post
I wish there was an oil flow sensor....my level sensor is always barking false alarms.

The gasoline flow rate calculation of fuel level is amazingly accurate.....whenever I fill up at the marina, I tell 'em what I think it'll take and it's usually within a few tenths of a gallon.
This is what I'm looking for. For my use if I just get a grip on this calculation that will serve my needs.
Old 09-06-2011, 06:41 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 1,901
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I just gassed up yesterday and was within 2 tenths.

the EP-85 is simply a flash memory stick that lives on the NMEA2000. Software in the HDS or iCommand gauges take the total gallons and subtract the ongoing fuel rate usage as you ride around.

It is not subject to sloshing around in the slightest and my experience is that is is highly accurate.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.