Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Somebody Stepped on My Rudder Sensor Wire (pics)

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Somebody Stepped on My Rudder Sensor Wire (pics)

Old 08-29-2011, 08:09 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,944
Likes: 0
Received 52 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Somebody Stepped on My Rudder Sensor Wire (pics)

Was out fishing the other day and one of my crew stepped on the wire going to my rudder reference sensor unit to my Raymarine 6001 SG1 Autopilot. Wire broke right up against the unit with only about a 1/4 inch of wire sticking out. Of course nobody admitted to stepping on the wire and I'm sure it didn't just fall off.

Is there anyway to fix this? Interesting though the autopilot still seems to work pretty good tracking well.



Old 08-29-2011, 09:34 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Weeki Wachee (home of the mermaids), FL
Posts: 11,726
Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Well, unless the sender can be taken apart...

A little tip. Where the cable exits the sender, loop it back and ty-wrap it to the sender body. Should the mis-step happen again, it won't be at the entrance to the sender, give you some wire to work with...
Old 08-29-2011, 10:02 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,944
Likes: 0
Received 52 Likes on 31 Posts
Default

That's a good suggestion. When I get it fixed or replaced I'll have to try to get some slack pulled out as there is only enough slack now to trim the engines up.

Another silly question, if my autopilot tracks OK w/o the rudder sensor, why do I need it?
Old 08-29-2011, 12:42 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

I could probably strip those wires back, solder them together, and insulate them with heat shrink tubing but I doubt I would unless the part is pretty expensive.

I have much more experience with soldering than the average person. I think it's beyond most people's skill level.
Old 08-29-2011, 04:54 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,944
Likes: 0
Received 52 Likes on 31 Posts
Default

It about $230 to $280 for the unit. Might be worth finding a skilled electrician to give it a shot.

http://boatingdirect.net/browseprodu...CE-SENSOR.HTML
Old 08-29-2011, 06:31 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Weeki Wachee (home of the mermaids), FL
Posts: 11,726
Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Ron,
You don't have much to play with there, and figuring they are max 22GA, probably 24 or 28...PITA to work with, given the close quarters...
Old 08-30-2011, 05:11 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by seabob4 View Post
Ron,
You don't have much to play with there, and figuring they are max 22GA, probably 24 or 28...PITA to work with, given the close quarters...
Yes, but as a former electronics technician, I've worked with worse than that. In electronics (repair), you're usually dealing with small wires and components. Electricians deal with larger stuff. In my job, I crossed back and forth, often in the same day. Repair a circuit board that took a lightning hit, then go pull some #14 for a fire alarm circuit.

These days, of course, I need a magnifier to do the small work.
Old 08-30-2011, 05:14 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fairhope, Al
Posts: 1,620
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Those wires are at least an 18 gauge, I have installed a bunch of raymarine AP's and systems and my favorite part is the larger wires on the raymarine compared to the hair thin stuff garmin uses.
Old 08-30-2011, 05:18 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

One other suggestion: Would the manufacturer take it back and repair it for less than the cost of a new part? It's worth a phone call or e-mail.
Old 08-30-2011, 06:58 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 142
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Call Marine Elect of Hartfield 804 776 9802 they have a lot of old Ray stuff.
ask for Janice or Kevin.
Old 09-04-2011, 04:43 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,944
Likes: 0
Received 52 Likes on 31 Posts
Default

Update: Good news. Once I got the unit off I discovered you can unscrew the end cap and the 3 wires soldered directly to end and was able to solder new wire directly to the end of the unit. Got it connect, respliced and seems to be good to go now. I put enough slack to loop around the end with a zip tie to protect against future accidents. Now waiting the next part to break on my boat...seems like every trip I break something new.
Old 09-04-2011, 05:00 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ltcavery View Post
Update: Good news. Once I got the unit off I discovered you can unscrew the end cap and the 3 wires soldered directly to end and was able to solder new wire directly to the end of the unit. Got it connect, respliced and seems to be good to go now. I put enough slack to loop around the end with a zip tie to protect against future accidents. Now waiting the next part to break on my boat...seems like every trip I break something new.
It's a lot easier to diagnose when you have it in your hands!

Great that you were able to repair it.
Old 09-04-2011, 06:46 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Weeki Wachee (home of the mermaids), FL
Posts: 11,726
Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ltcavery View Post
Update: Good news. Once I got the unit off I discovered you can unscrew the end cap and the 3 wires soldered directly to end and was able to solder new wire directly to the end of the unit. Got it connect, respliced and seems to be good to go now. I put enough slack to loop around the end with a zip tie to protect against future accidents. Now waiting the next part to break on my boat...seems like every trip I break something new.
Ain't boating fun?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.