Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

NSE 12 - Using at Home w/ converter?

Old 08-28-2011, 12:52 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 349
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NSE 12 - Using at Home w/ converter?

Does anyone use their NSE at home by using an AC/DC converter? If so, what model/Brand converter did you get? And, what is the DC rated amps on the converter? And, how did you setup your system?

The one I have is rated 5.8a, and for some reason I cannot get my NSE to turn on. I am guessing the AC/DC converter isn't providing enough amps to power the NSE on. But, I thought the NSE 12 is rated at 5 amps - roughly. And, I use a 5 amp inline fuse.
Old 08-28-2011, 01:06 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 7,961
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

And the output of the converter is 12VDC @ 5A? You should really use a regulated supply.
Old 08-29-2011, 09:24 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 349
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

t3rock,

What do you mean, or would you recommend for a regulated power source/system?

I was thinking about just buying another battery and using it. But, I'd hate to lug that battery in and out of the house.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.