Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno 620 or Sitex 650

Old 08-26-2011, 05:42 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 510
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Furuno 620 or Sitex 650

If the Furuno 620 and Sitex 650 are the same price which one you chiose and why???
Old 08-30-2011, 02:39 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just bought a Si-Tex 650 from Gil @ Semperfifishing. So far I am very impressed with the unit. The thing is built like a tank, and has a bigger screen with higher resolution than the 620. Of course, it was about $200 less, too.

If money were no object, I probably would have bought the Furuno.
Old 08-30-2011, 07:54 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: FL Gulf Coast & NYC
Posts: 2,681
Received 243 Likes on 115 Posts
Default

I bought a SVS-650 and had it installed (by Seabob4) along with a Standard Horizon CP390i and an Airmar B60-20.

From the minute I got the boat in the water, the SVS-650 would not properly read bottom. I was in less than 10 feet of water and the Si-Tex would read anywhere from zero to in excess of 2000'...constantly fluctuating. After a few calls and emails to Si-Tex (took a few days to finally get the right person to call me) Si-Tex said this is a known issue and there is new software that will correct the problem (he said the problem is a failure to "bottom lock"). I was told they would send a new unit to me (I'll have to give them my credit card info) and then I can send my unit back to them. I was told the units with the new software are not yet in stock.

I emailed yesterday to get an update on the availability but haven't received a reply. Si-Tex is on LI and it's possible they are still without power...but I really don't know.

Hope this gets resolved soon.

Tipsy
Old 08-31-2011, 06:01 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Wow, that bites. I have not even had time to install mine on the boat yet. I wanted the 620, but read really good reviews of the 650, as well as raves about Si-Tex and their customer service.

I am always wary about buying a new model in the first production year, but I am looking to upgrade my GPS too, so money was a concern.

Would be interested to hear how this is resolved.
Old 08-31-2011, 07:28 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hampton Bays, NY
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SVS-650 update

Sorry to hear of your disappointment with your new SVS-650. And please accept our apologies..

We did identify a problem with the Auto Gain functions this Summer and now have a complete fix for the problem. Also, we have improved the overall software to address a number of suggestions we received from end users to improve the SVS-650.

Please contact SI-TEX via email or telephone so we can arrange to update your unit for you.

email: customerservice@si-tex.com

tel: 631-996-2690

Allen Schneider
Vice President
SI-TEX Marine Electronics

Last edited by SI-TEX; 08-31-2011 at 09:10 AM.
Old 08-31-2011, 07:42 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,015
Received 782 Likes on 361 Posts
Default

I am saving my lunch money to purchase a new sonar. Like the OP identified, I'll be purchasing a Furuno 620 or Sitex 650. I'll be watching this thread closely; please update the thread Tipsy and let us know the resolution to your ongoing problem.

Also, Tipsy, if you were to set the GAIN manually, would the Sitex 650 lock onto the bottom accurately?
Old 08-31-2011, 08:09 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: FL Gulf Coast & NYC
Posts: 2,681
Received 243 Likes on 115 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by chrisrack View Post
I am saving my lunch money to purchase a new sonar. Like the OP identified, I'll be purchasing a Furuno 620 or Sitex 650. I'll be watching this thread closely; please update the thread Tipsy and let us know the resolution to your ongoing problem.

Also, Tipsy, if you were to set the GAIN manually, would the Sitex 650 lock onto the bottom accurately?
I'll probably use the boat this afternoon and will try manual gain.

My Si-Tex is flush mounted so I can't remove this unit until I have a replacement in hand. I'm going to be traveling for a while so I won't be able to do much until I return.

I'll keep the thread updated but it will be a while.

Tipsy
Old 08-31-2011, 08:13 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA and ME
Posts: 16,795
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

My 620 is rock solid.
Old 08-31-2011, 08:24 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 510
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by SI-TEX View Post
Sorry to hear of your disappointment with your new SVS-650. And please accept our apologies..

We did identify a problem with the Auto Gain functions this Summer and now have a complete fix for the problem. Also, we have improved the overall software to address a number of suggestions we received from end users to improve the SVS-650.

Please contact SI-TEX via email or telephone so we can arrange to update your unit for you.

email: customerservice@si-tex.com

tel: 631-996-2690
Dear:
I bought from imarineusa, a new unit few months ago but never installed and was taken to Syria, where no support for Sitex. My problem is too costy for me to send the unit back to USA (New York) just for a software installation.
I'm wondering if you could send me the software include the wires diagram for the installation.
khussari@yahoo.com
Old 08-31-2011, 09:35 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: FL Gulf Coast & NYC
Posts: 2,681
Received 243 Likes on 115 Posts
Default

For everyone's benefit, if you plan to flush mount your SVS-650, there is a small bracket available but it's not included with the unit. I got it directly from Si-Tex. Apparently, it's possible to flush-mount the unit without the bracket but it's much more difficult to do.

Also, the current user-manual leaves a lot to be desired. Si-Tex has acknowledged this and is in the process of a complete rewrite. It should be available for download once completed.

Tipsy
Old 08-31-2011, 12:17 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hampton Bays, NY
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by jbgator View Post
Wow, that bites. I have not even had time to install mine on the boat yet. I wanted the 620, but read really good reviews of the 650, as well as raves about Si-Tex and their customer service.

I am always wary about buying a new model in the first production year, but I am looking to upgrade my GPS too, so money was a concern.

Would be interested to hear how this is resolved.
jbgator,
If you haven't installed your unit yet, why not send it right up to our Service Dept. we will update the software and immediately send it right back to you for installation. It will only be in-house here for 24 hours before we send it back to you. That way you will be good to go right out of the gate with your new machine.

Please drop us an email so we can make arrangements to get the unit updated for you.

email: customerservice@si-tex.com

Allen Schneider
Vice President
SI-TEX Marine Electronics
Old 08-31-2011, 12:23 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Clearwater Beach FL
Posts: 6,443
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I heart the Furuno 620....
LOVE IT....
I had the FCV1100 which is a very expensive machine attached to a 900$ transducer great machine... I hooked up the furuno 620L with a POS transom mount p66 transducer and was BLOWN away by how well it read the bottom and the detail it showed. I found more spots with the 620 than I did with my 4500$ commercial machine Hands down buy the furuno 620 and don't look back.. it is a wonderful machine. My friend just got the 585L (the 620's big brother) and it is a stroken machine.
I have a sitex 106L that I will sell for 75$ + shipping if anyone needs a back up. No cords or ducer.
Old 08-31-2011, 12:43 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 482
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I have the Furuno 620, as well, and I am amazed at how well it does with the cheap P66 transducer. It'll hold bottom & give depth readings at 30+ miles an hour in over 700 feet of water! The bottom lock feature is extremely useful, too.

We liked the 620 so well, we're putting the 585 on the new boat.
Old 08-31-2011, 12:52 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 494
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

You just haven't lived until you've had 12 year-old scotch on 12,000 year-old ice.
I had Crown Royal on some ice from Glacier Bay.
Old 08-31-2011, 12:54 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Clearwater Beach FL
Posts: 6,443
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by The Hat Island Pirate View Post
You just haven't lived until you've had 12 year-old scotch on 12,000 year-old ice.
I had Crown Royal on some ice from Glacier Bay.
say what ;?
Old 08-31-2011, 01:08 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SI-TEX View Post
jbgator,
If you haven't installed your unit yet, why not send it right up to our Service Dept. we will update the software and immediately send it right back to you for installation. It will only be in-house here for 24 hours before we send it back to you. That way you will be good to go right out of the gate with your new machine.

Please drop us an email so we can make arrangements to get the unit updated for you.

email: customerservice@si-tex.com

Allen Schneider
Vice President
SI-TEX Marine Electronics

Allen,

I was just about to email you to ask about updating my unit.
Old 08-31-2011, 01:31 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Key West/Cudjoe Key, FL
Posts: 389
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Furuno 620

I have a Furuno 620 and Airmar tilted element. Very Satisfied.

I had a Si-Tex chartplotter, sounder and transducer a few years ago. In the years I had them all 3 units were in for repair on a regular basis. Si-Tex had a gentleman in the Guide Program, Dave maybe?? and another older gentleman in the sevrice department that were GREAT. They knew how to deal with people. When they left and the company moved from Florida and changed hands their customer service and repair department was HORRIBLE. I remember talking to a woman in customer service that made me want to stick a needle in my eye. That was a few years ago. I am surprised Si-Tex is still in business as I never looked back.
Old 08-31-2011, 01:38 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,889
Likes: 0
Received 1,694 Likes on 927 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by The Hat Island Pirate View Post
You just haven't lived until you've had 12 year-old scotch on 12,000 year-old ice.
I had Crown Royal on some ice from Glacier Bay.
I can't top that... sounds great!
But I did visit Glacier Bay several years ago and had a diet coke with some very old ice also.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 08-31-2011 at 04:13 PM.
Old 09-01-2011, 10:42 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 193
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have a sitex widemax gps and I believe it is overly complex. It is a nice unit when I figured it out but overall I am not impressed. I still can't figure out how to navigate to coordinates. I can only navigate to the area and mark things but can't navigate to coordinates. The screen is very nice though. For simplicity and using the KISS theory I would go with the 620. I am only basing this on my usage of the sitex widemax GPS and have no on-hands expierence with either of the other units.
Old 09-01-2011, 12:00 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 193
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thats good to know. I am curious how the sitex would do in shallow waters. My boat goes out in the ocean(50-150 feet) but I also use my boat to go crabbing in less than 5 feet of water. Is it acurate in those depths.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.