Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Geonav g10 tranducer ?

Old 08-22-2011, 03:32 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 965
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Geonav g10 tranducer ?

Does anyone know if you can use a lesser KW transducer without any issues with the Geonav G10 2KW sonar? If so what are my options?
Thanks,
Old 08-22-2011, 03:52 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,885
Likes: 0
Received 1,694 Likes on 927 Posts
Default

I have not had any hands on experience with the G10 XD sonar but I believe it states that it is "Up to 2000 watts" and I do know there are several different transducer options for your unit.

Normally you will have an output power selection available so you can use the unit with different wattage transducers.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 08-22-2011 at 04:17 PM.
Old 08-22-2011, 05:23 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 965
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default reply on geonav ducer?

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
I have not had any hands on experience with the G10 XD sonar but I believe it states that it is "Up to 2000 watts" and I do know there are several different transducer options for your unit.

Normally you will have an output power selection available so you can use the unit with different wattage transducers.
That's what I thought but, this is the reply I got from airmar:

Hello Carl,

I quoted 600W transducers based on your email inquiry, copied below. A 2 kW sounder will overdrive (and burn up) 600W units. Please contact Geonav for their suggested high power transducers.

Regards,

Paul Crosby

As a result I have emailed Geonav to see what they say. I like the unit and its features but don't want to spend the extra 900 or so for a transducer when for what I do a $230 will do.
Thanks for your reply. I will post what they say back to me.
Carl
Old 08-22-2011, 05:57 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,885
Likes: 0
Received 1,694 Likes on 927 Posts
Default

Airmars reply is correct if you of course use a 2k setting with a 600 watt transducer.

But for example ..the Furuno FCV585 has both a 600 and 1000 watt selection.
And most other sounders will have setting all the way from 600 watts to 2 KW

Check the owners manual to see what different power setting you can use with your system...if you have a 600 watt setting then you are on the way.

Do you have the GSM 2000 sonar box?

http://www.wmjmarine.com/40355.html

or the GSM 1000 box

http://www.wmjmarine.com/40354.html

Last edited by semperfifishing; 08-22-2011 at 06:12 PM.
Old 08-22-2011, 08:56 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 965
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

No, the sonar is built into the G10 MFD unlike the GIS10 or GIS12 (different units). I did not order my unit yet because I am waiting to confirm the transducer options first from Geonav. http://www.geonavmarine.com/Product....=id&itemid=296
paraman
Old 08-23-2011, 07:29 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,885
Likes: 0
Received 1,694 Likes on 927 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by paraman View Post
No, the sonar is built into the G10 MFD unlike the GIS10 or GIS12 (different units). I did not order my unit yet because I am waiting to confirm the transducer options first from Geonav. http://www.geonavmarine.com/Product....=id&itemid=296
paraman

In that case you can indeed use a 600 watt transducer if you choose...or the 1000 watt .
You can use the P66, B60, B744 , P79... 600 watt units.
You can also use Tm258, Tm260,Tm270W,B164, SS264, M260 ...1 Kw units.
Most of these units are available int he mix and match connector system in cas you change sonar manufactures.

All of these units are available in the Geonav configuration if you have the built in sounder.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 08-23-2011 at 10:43 AM.
Old 08-23-2011, 08:08 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 965
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default geonav

Great, It will make my wife happy. She picked out the Geonav and started going through the functions at Defenders and it is indeed a very nice unit.
Thanks again for your help,
carl

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
In that case you can indeed use a 600 watt transducer if you choose...or the 1000 watt .
You can use the P66, B60, B744 , P79... 600 watt units.
You can also use Tm258, Tm260,Tm270W,B164, SS264, M260 ...1 Kw units.

All of these units are available in the Geonav configuration if you have the built in sounder.
Old 08-23-2011, 10:34 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Selecting a Geonav Transducer

It’s great to see some interest in the Geonav products.

In short to Paraman’s question – yes, there is a 600 watt transducer option for the Geonav G10 and G12. It is the GXD 600P, but please read on for more details.

As a representative for Geonav, let me help to clarify some of the information presented here so that the options for selecting transducers for the Geonav products can be more clearly understood.

Currently the GIS10 and GIS12 which use external echo sounder boxes are not available so the information here will pertain to G10 and G12 which have the echo sounder capability built-in. This system is an excellent choice for a boat with limited or restricted space for installing electronics.

The Geonav G10 and G12 are capable of echo sounder operation using a minimum output power of 600 and up to 2000 watts RMS of operation depending on the attached transducer. Output power is not manually selected as done in some other manufacturers’ products but is controlled using AirMar’s patented Xducer (transducer) ID technology. When the G10 or G12 is powered on, the echo sounder will determine the connected transducer by inquiring for its Xducer ID. Depending upon the ID found the echo sounder automatically sets the output power to the appropriate value for the connected transducer. In the case where a transducer is not connected or there is no transducer ID found, the output is limited to 600 watts so as to prevent damage to the transducer and/or to the internal echo sounder transmitter circuitry.

Currently Geonav offers six different transducer options with a pre-installed connector using Xducer ID ranging in capabilities from 600 to 2000 watts. Optionally there are also two different “MixNMatch” connector options available from AirMar through distribution. On a retail basis these adapters can be obtained through authorized marine electronics dealers and can adapt suitably impedance matched 600 watt transducers for use with the Geonav echo sounder. This is useful when adapting 600 watt transducers residing in existing installations. Contact your local Geonav dealer or the factory if you need additional details and assistance.

Your echo sounder will only perform as good as its transducer and all transducers are not the same in terms of construction and/or internal circuitry. If you are serious about fishing and actively use your echo sounder to find fish, no matter who's echo sounder you choose, you should always buy the best transducer you can afford that is properly matched to your equipment. Ask any experienced echo sounder user, they will tell you that it does make a difference.

Bottom line - When you buy an Xducer ID transducer from Geonav you know you are getting the best performing transducer you can get for your Geonav equipment.

For anyone needing help to find a Geonav dealer, you can find a list of authorized dealers on the Geonav web site. Please use the following link;

http://www.geonavmarine.com/Findadealer.aspx

For anyone needing assistance in contacting the factory, the toll free phone number is; 877-455-6660 or please send a message and someone on the Geonav support team will be happy to assist you.

Here’s to good fishing and tight lines!

Last edited by SilverFoxTech; 08-23-2011 at 10:43 AM. Reason: Add Title
Old 08-23-2011, 12:37 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 965
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Great info:
Thanks,
Carl

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.