Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine C70 trouble

Old 08-22-2011, 02:11 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raymarine C70 trouble

I have a 4-year-old C70 with fewer than 15 hours use (no abuse) that failed during a July cruise. The screen intermittently looked like striped wallpaper. I returned it to the NH factory after talking with a tech person. They received it Aug.4. They acknowledge receiving it, but apparently have been too busy to get to it. My concern is, after reading about some of their repair bills, they will want more for the repair than the unit is worth. If my experience turns out as bad as it has started, I will be looking for options. Will my Raymarine radar and GPS plug into and work with a Garmin? Are there better options? I bought Raymarine because I had been told their products are bulletproof. So far, I am disappointed.
Old 08-22-2011, 04:32 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,561
Likes: 0
Received 324 Likes on 222 Posts
Default

Very doubtful that the Raymarine stuff will work with anything other than Raymarine stuff.
Old 08-23-2011, 09:54 AM
  #3  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,874
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

First off, Raymarine has a flat rate repair on your C70. Period. So, that will be the ONLY charge. The flat rate repair is only $450
Old 08-23-2011, 02:56 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks. I appreciate the information. I feared about twice that.
Old 08-25-2011, 08:43 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 1,640
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Only $450 for a 4 yr old unit that's not worth that much. What a bargain.
Old 08-26-2011, 11:53 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Raymarine called this morning to say they have fixed the problem and updated the software. Total charge, $90. I'm feeling much better.
Old 08-28-2011, 06:15 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 1,640
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

$90. Well that's good news.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.