Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Which would you rather have?

Old 08-19-2011, 04:51 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 758
Received 117 Likes on 80 Posts
Default Which would you rather have?

between a used Garmin 3010c and a used Standard Horizon CPV 550? Both are in near perfect shape and the cost difference is negligible.
Old 08-23-2011, 01:24 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by NOLA Rick View Post
between a used Garmin 3010c and a used Standard Horizon CPV 550? Both are in near perfect shape and the cost difference is negligible.
You're comparing apples to oranges, sort of.

The SH unit has a built in VHF and a 12" screen. It is not NMEA 2000 capable or 'networkable'. I have a CP 300i and am very pleased with it, except for the lack of NMEA 2000 capability. SH has phenomenal customer service.

The Garmin 3010 has a 10" screen. It is not NMEA 2000 capable. It also doesn't have a VHF built in. It is also no longer in production. Probably because it can't be networked.

If I were you, I would get the SH unit.

My $.02.
Old 08-23-2011, 06:11 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 435
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Go with the CP 550. Very good product with the best customer service in the business. The Garmin 4212 would have been a better comparison to the CP 550.
Old 08-23-2011, 06:41 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: RI
Posts: 7,113
Received 1,149 Likes on 655 Posts
Default

I have a 3010 and it sucks. Not sure if it a C or not or if that matters, but mine has a fogging problem (a common problem with that series unit), the radar sucks as does the depth finder. ripping it out this year and going Simrad.

I know nothing about SH
Old 08-23-2011, 07:40 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,970
Received 436 Likes on 272 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by freedre View Post
The Garmin 3010 has a 10" screen. It is not NMEA 2000 capable. It also doesn't have a VHF built in. It is also no longer in production. Probably because it can't be networked.
.
True, the 3010c doesn't have a vhf built in, but it IS networkable. NMEA 0183 and ethernet.

I have a 3XXX series network on my boat and it's great-3210, 3010c, 3206, 3005 plus sounder, radar and XM audio/weather.

The XM weather is VERY useful. I was tracking a storm system two weeks ago, was watching the NEXRAD radar animation and determined that I could make my destination without a problem. Once you have it, you won't leave home without it.

The 3010 has video (composite) inputs and VGA (DB9 connector) output to another monitor/TV.

As for your purchase, freede is correct, the 3xxx series is out of production, is not NMEA 2000 compatible, and requires proprietary Garmin data cards and a card programmer. The 3010 does not have charts, so you will need to buy a garmin chart chip. Figure a couple hundred for that. You'll need the card reader and a spare data card for updating the unit, so add that to the pile.
Old 08-23-2011, 01:57 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 758
Received 117 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

Thanks for the input. How critical is it to be NMEA 2000 compliant? Am I buying into a problem if I do not have that?
Old 08-23-2011, 05:11 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,970
Received 436 Likes on 272 Posts
Default

NMEA 2000 is a new networking standard for serial data communications between navigation equipment. The major advantage is the use of a standard "backbone" network topography, and the ability to show engine and other equipment data (for engines and equipment equipped with proper senders) on your navigation displays. If you want a totally digital dash, then NMEA 2000 can do it. If you have analog gauges and are happy with them, you don't need NMEA 2000. Most equipment will interface through the older NMEA 0183 standard for speed, location, heading, etc data. IN addition to NMEA interface standards, each Mfg has their own ethernet standard for networking the various components-radar, sounder, display, XM weather, etc. So you need to pick one manufacturer and build out your network with their equipment if you want an integrated system.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.