Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

What gauge speaker wire for JL Audio MHD900/5?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

What gauge speaker wire for JL Audio MHD900/5?

Old 08-19-2011, 08:56 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,561
Likes: 0
Received 324 Likes on 222 Posts
Default What gauge speaker wire for JL Audio MHD900/5?

Anybody know the largest gauge that fits in the plugs? Or what gauges are you using for subwoofer and speakers? It doesn't seem to say in the manual. I see that they only sell 16 gauge on their website...
Old 08-19-2011, 09:08 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Garden City, Marina in Freeport
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

I think I'm using about 16 gauge for a 15 ft run to a single 10" cone kicker box. I probably wouldn't go any less than 16 considering the resistance would start to severely impeded the system performance. The Alpine monoblock amp I use probably puts out maybe 500 watts or so. Never had a problem.
Old 08-19-2011, 09:13 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,561
Likes: 0
Received 324 Likes on 222 Posts
Default

I have some 10 gauge wire sitting around that I can use, but I don't know if it will fit in the plugs for the amp.
Old 08-19-2011, 12:57 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
I have some 10 gauge wire sitting around that I can use, but I don't know if it will fit in the plugs for the amp.
Why not just try it? ;?

Or call the manufacturer.
Old 08-19-2011, 02:39 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,561
Likes: 0
Received 324 Likes on 222 Posts
Default

I don't have the luxury of just trying it when I have to wait 2-4 weeks for things to arrive from the US. I need to plan ahead or I could end up waiting 2-4 weeks for some wire. That would give me 4-8 weeks of not being able to use the amp.

A lot of people on this site have or install the JL amps so I figured somebody would know off the top of their head.
Old 08-19-2011, 03:07 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Weeki Wachee (home of the mermaids), FL
Posts: 11,726
Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Speaker wire? 16GA on JLs...
Old 08-19-2011, 03:25 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 900
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

10 gauge would fit, however one manufacturers 10 gauge may not be the same diameter as others. Worst case scenario you would trim back some of the wire.

12 gauge fits without a problem. Personally I would not use 16 gauge wire on a subwoofer.

my 0.02.




Originally Posted by VanW View Post
I have some 10 gauge wire sitting around that I can use, but I don't know if it will fit in the plugs for the amp.
Old 08-20-2011, 06:26 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
I don't have the luxury of just trying it when I have to wait 2-4 weeks for things to arrive from the US. I need to plan ahead or I could end up waiting 2-4 weeks for some wire. That would give me 4-8 weeks of not being able to use the amp.

A lot of people on this site have or install the JL amps so I figured somebody would know off the top of their head.
OK, now I understand. You don't actually have the amplifier, you are ordering it and you live in a place where you cannot just go to the local West Marine and buy the wire when the amp comes in.

In that case, I would suggest a call or e-mail to the manufacturer for the answer to your question.
Old 08-20-2011, 09:59 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default

got a Best Buy near you? go get a amp install kit - spray it down with corrosion protectant after installing and it will work fine - mine going on 6 years kept on the water...
Old 08-20-2011, 11:39 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,561
Likes: 0
Received 324 Likes on 222 Posts
Default

Nada around here. Don't matter I will order the power wire and some 12 gauge. If nothing else I'll use some cheap wire until I can get the correct size.
Old 08-20-2011, 12:15 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 494
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
Nada around here. Don't matter I will order the power wire and some 12 gauge. If nothing else I'll use some cheap wire until I can get the correct size.
DAMN--Van just use 12Ga. for speakers(more then enough)--will fit--if you can find OX-free then get it.

IKAT
Old 08-20-2011, 12:41 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,561
Likes: 0
Received 324 Likes on 222 Posts
Default

I was thinking it would be best to use the tinned stuff they sell for marine power wire.... ;?
Old 08-20-2011, 12:49 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 494
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
I was thinking it would be best to use the tinned stuff they sell for marine power wire.... ;?
YOU can ox free is better-Both will only protect the inside-for 2-3 inches for about 4-5 years

OH-WELL-just coat the conections with CRC-die-electric and you will be fine

IKAT
Old 08-20-2011, 01:13 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location:
Posts: 719
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

on the JL amps that I have wired, 12awg fits fairly snug, don't think I would try 10awg.
Old 08-20-2011, 01:53 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
I was thinking it would be best to use the tinned stuff they sell for marine power wire.... ;?
Your best bet is tinned duplex wire. Duplex wire has a sheath around both conductors to keep them together. This makes fror an easier and neater installation.
Old 08-20-2011, 02:28 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,561
Likes: 0
Received 324 Likes on 222 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rwidman View Post
Your best bet is tinned duplex wire. Duplex wire has a sheath around both conductors to keep them together. This makes fror an easier and neater installation.
That is what I was talking about, just forgot to mention the duplex part.
Old 08-22-2011, 04:33 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PBG, FL
Posts: 8,940
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

I run 16 for the 7s and 12 for the subs.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.