Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance HDS to Suzuki Engine Interface

Old 08-17-2011, 08:19 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Lowrance HDS to Suzuki Engine Interface

I had this installed when I got my boat a couple weeks ago and the fuel level stays at 97%. Any ideas what is causing this?
Old 08-18-2011, 05:19 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upper NC
Posts: 2,661
Received 462 Likes on 273 Posts
Default

The HDS would have to get fuel reading from the tank sensor and not from the engine I beleive. They offer these connections for the NMEA 2000 network.
Old 08-18-2011, 06:21 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by polarred21 View Post
The HDS would have to get fuel reading from the tank sensor and not from the engine I beleive. They offer these connections for the NMEA 2000 network.
The NMEA 2000 is already installed.
Old 08-18-2011, 12:34 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upper NC
Posts: 2,661
Received 462 Likes on 273 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fisher9910 View Post
The NMEA 2000 is already installed.
But is it connected to your fuel tank sending unit?
Old 08-18-2011, 01:14 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 169
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The fuel management is completly handled by the Suzuki Interface.
May it has to be resetted and reconfigured.
Pls refer Section 3 to get some idea howto.
Sure your HDS will offer same or at least simular setup menue, you should find the description in the Operation Manual of your unit.
Old 08-19-2011, 03:28 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,051
Received 607 Likes on 465 Posts
Default

If the fuel level is staying at 97% you probably have the wrong "fuel level" data source selected, or you haven't set up the fuel tank properly.

First, have you gone into the fuel menu on the HDS and set you fuel tank size? If not, that is the first thing to do.

If you have done that and it is correct, the problem is most likely the wrong data source for fuel info.
On the HDS, go into the network menu, find the bus devices list, select the Suzuki interface and select data sources. Find the fuel level, fuel used and fuel remaining items and make sure they are set to the Global setting (ie the Suzuki engine interface), and not something else. That should fix it.

By the way, be careful when you refuel, we have found that when resetting the fuel tank to "full it is OK if you dont recalibrate the fuel settings, but if you do recalibrate you will most likely get rediculous fuel flow results from then on - I believe there is a programming fault in the HDS software equation that is supposed to help you get 100% accurate fuel flow/used data, but does anything but that.

Hope this helps

Cheers

ML
Old 08-19-2011, 11:22 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 1,901
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

If it works like ETEC, there is no fuel level sensor. You tell it when you fill up and it keeps track of fuel use!

I set the tank size to my 91 gals. It tell it "it's full" and then the fuel flow rate keeps tab of how much fuel to subtract from 91 gals. When I fill up, I do it again.

My oil is opposite....it is a level sensor and I hate it as it is alarming all the time when I get into bumpy waters.
Old 08-19-2011, 01:57 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Marbella, South, Spain
Posts: 140
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by capecuddy View Post
If it works like ETEC, there is no fuel level sensor. You tell it when you fill up and it keeps track of fuel use!

I set the tank size to my 91 gals. It tell it "it's full" and then the fuel flow rate keeps tab of how much fuel to subtract from 91 gals. When I fill up, I do it again.

My oil is opposite....it is a level sensor and I hate it as it is alarming all the time when I get into bumpy waters.
Don't you think it's much easier once you already have your NMEA net working, just install a fluid level sensor and add it like fuel remaining source

It just few bucks and you don't have to reset everytime you refill

Please, forgive my mistakes, I'm Spanish, yes Spain, that small country with an stupid president...
Old 08-19-2011, 05:37 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,051
Received 607 Likes on 465 Posts
Default

Hi Jesus

I dont agree - the Suzuki fuel flow data comes direct from the engine ECU and will be far more accurate and reliable once it is set up correctly, than a fluid level sensor in a tank.

I might add that we here in Australia do share something with you Spanish - we too have a stupid Prime Minister, one that was silly enough to form an alliance with the Greens just to cling onto power.

Cheers

ML
Old 08-19-2011, 05:43 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 1,901
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Fuel tanks slosh around too much to get a reliable level sense.

I do believe that calibrating on fill up and using the fuel flow rate integrated over time is a far more accurate way to go.

I have a oil level sensor and it is always false alarming both high and low level.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.