Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine E80 Classic Network Question

Old 08-12-2011, 05:56 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 3,275
Received 415 Likes on 217 Posts
Default Raymarine E80 Classic Network Question

I have a single E80 Classic, DSM300 w/1kw ducer, Raystar 125 Antenna and I want to add weather. Theres a SR100 for sale I am looking @ and my question is; Do I need a network switch?
Old 08-13-2011, 01:55 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

NO i don't think you do I think it will work by itself.Give Raymarine's 800 number a call the will be glad to help. You will however need to pay XM a monthly charge
Old 08-13-2011, 05:37 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 3,275
Received 415 Likes on 217 Posts
Default

Yeah I know the theres a monthly service but its worth it IMO. I have a single engine boat and weather is a major factor for me. I was planning on calling Raymarine but hoped to get a quicker answer this weekend.
Old 08-15-2011, 04:22 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The answer is YES you do need a network switch. You have a single SeaTalkHS port on your E. The DSM300 is currently connected to it via a crossover coupler.

To add the SR100 into the mix, you need to have a network switch so all three devices can communicate. The thing you WON'T need will be the crossover coupler as all three devices will plug in to the switch.

Joe
Old 08-15-2011, 06:23 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 3,275
Received 415 Likes on 217 Posts
Default

Thanks for the clarification Joe. I didnt know if the NMEA 0183 couldve been used or not.
Old 08-17-2011, 04:29 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Rob, you're welcome. The Sirius weather is a FANTASTIC capability to have. I consider it to be a piece of safety equipment on par with my radar and AIS because of the frequent pop-up storms we get around here this time of year.
Old 08-20-2011, 08:08 PM
  #7  
RJO
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hey Joe,

I have essentially the same electronics on my boat and want to get satellite weather.

What network switch would be best?

Thanks for the great input.
Old 08-21-2011, 03:21 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 494
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RJO View Post
Hey Joe,

I have essentially the same electronics on my boat and want to get satellite weather.

What network switch would be best?

Thanks for the great input.
the new sr6 has the switch built in.

IKAT
Old 08-22-2011, 05:04 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What IKAT said. The SR6 combines the functionality of an SR100 and the Raymarine switch. If you have already purchased (or intend to purchase) an SR100, I'd go with a Raymarine switch.
Old 08-22-2011, 05:53 AM
  #10  
RJO
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks again for the advice!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.