Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Splicing airmar transducer cable

Old 01-05-2005, 05:53 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 401
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Splicing airmar transducer cable

Several months ago I purchased a used Airmar P79 from a THT member (great deal) and I finally got around to installing it today. The P79 has a 6-pin connector which doesn't work with the 8-pin input on my FF (Furuno FCV 667). I sent an email to Airmar and they said I can splice a new 8-pin connector on the cable, no problem. They even sent me a schematic of the wiring.

Any ideas on where I can find an 8-pin connector/cable that will be compatible with the P79 and the Furuno? Airmar recommended Gem Electronics, but they didn't answer the phone this afternoon. I could just use the connector from my existing transducer, but I would rather keep it installed on the boat as a backup... at least until I'm sure the P79 is working. Thanks in advance for the advice.
Old 01-05-2005, 06:15 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Not in Texas
Posts: 10,213
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Splicing airmar transducer cable

I was going to recommend Airmar as a source of the Furuno compatible plug but Gem would be where you would buy it from Airmar. Did you try calling them? I don’t have Gem’s number handy but I’ve seen it posted on the forum here before. Maybe someone else has it handy and can post it for you.

I agree, keep that old transducer cable intact if you can.
Old 01-05-2005, 06:32 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 401
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Splicing airmar transducer cable

I called this number [843-394-3565] for Gem, provided by Airmar tech support. No answer. I'll try again tomorrow. I also browsed Gem's website, but it wasn't very helpful for finding a specific transducer connector.
Old 01-05-2005, 07:39 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hammond, LA
Posts: 17,421
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 22 Posts
Default RE: Splicing airmar transducer cable

any electronics installer should have one
you can mail it to sea-trac in harahan, la (that's just the one i know of) and they'll slice it for you and mail it back
Old 01-06-2005, 07:29 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Splicing airmar transducer cable

Call them again.

Thom
Old 01-06-2005, 08:20 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 401
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Splicing airmar transducer cable

I think I found a local source for a new connector - Alphatech Marine Electronics in Destin. I'm heading over there tomorrow. If that doesn't work out I will give Gem another try. Thanks

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.