Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

Notices

RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

Old 04-30-2003, 12:05 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 1984 35 Bertram NJ
Posts: 5,914
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

I just tried my brand new DMS 250 digital FishFinder only to have a Dead On Arrival. Called Raymarine and they said it is an out-of-box failure. They said to take it to your dealer. I live only 20 minutes from Consumers Marine so off I go. Consumers said RayMarine had some software issues with the DMS 250 and they would return it to RayMarine for an upgrade. The F-ing thing is brand new; what software issues. To make a long story short Consumers gave me a new "upgraded" unit. It works great; but I am sure RayMarine saw this one comming and did nothing about it. I purchased the RayMarine "Package Deal'. It is obvious RayMarine needs some help in "Final Test". I wonder if they test any of their products before they box them up and ship them to the unspecting public.
CB Haws is offline  
Old 04-30-2003, 12:31 PM
  #2  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niantic,CT
Posts: 67
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

oops
Joeguy is offline  
Old 04-30-2003, 12:36 PM
  #3  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niantic,CT
Posts: 67
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

Did consumer marine say there is a recall for the DSM250's that are out there already? I bought the raymarine package deal from them as well, and mine works great so far (knock on wood). At least it broke at the dock, not when you were navigating a shoal. As far as the testing goes, they probably do some sort of diagnostic before it is shipped. Maybe it got damaged/shook up during shipping? Not giving raymarine a free pass or anything, but 'stuff' happens.. I had a D.O.A. 57" television once..similar pain to what you are feeling.
hope you have good luck with the new unit.
Joeguy is offline  
Old 04-30-2003, 01:04 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,033
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

Back in '92, I purchased a Raytheon 730 Loran / fishfinder combo unit and an R-10x radar. The only reason that I replaced my Micrologic ML 5500 Loran that I had on the boat, was because the Micrologic had no ability to interface with anything other than an autopilot, and I wanted to utilize the new "lollipop" feature that the R-10x had. Anyway, after carefully installing both units and making up the wiring to interface them I couldn't get any course info to the radar except for a 0 deg. heading. My assistants an I ripped apart all the wiring, checked all the connections, checked all the settings in the Loran, but couldn't get the dang thing to work, spent all weekend trying to get it to out-put course info to the radar.

The following Monday I call Raytheon in NH, speak to a tech there, and he asks me the serial # of the unit, he tells me, "Oh yeah, the first several hundred units we produced had a software glitch in the NEMA interface, they all output 0 deg. no matter what the actual course of the boat is, send it back and we'll update it and get it right back to you. We let them go out that way because most boaters don't use interface anyway" (this was in '92). I couldn't believe that he actually told me this, I was steaming , I sent it to them they updated it and returned it, it worked great for the next 10 years. I'll never forget how pissed I was, after working on it all weekend and having to return it 'cause they didn't put a simple note or something in the box to let me know that the interface was not working properly.

Joe
[img]http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0UwDqBEgb0a0aOnQNNMwsj1ekHClIQXvw1!FFpWaQ57mCur09U dOC*uRpDsQDPU3DPrKnFvmjOAL*!RlIQh5NnRpJ00RLBbstVoM *Vu6jCM9HOZvtcN4QAKVhZdNBKuPj/henriques_thmb.jpg?dc=4675359742587480607[/img]
joe2nyc is offline  
Old 04-30-2003, 02:03 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,775
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

I've seen a number of issues very much like those posted by CB HAWS and Joe2nyc over the past few years. It's one of the reasons why I hesitate to recommend RAY products when asked for a suggestion.

Now, I will be the first to say that I like some of their technology and features. Some things I like even more than brands that I own, or others I have seen and operated.

I will also concur that ALL manufacturers have issues with products. But it seems that RAYMARINE has more than others and always fails to take a proactive stance with problems.

There is no reason for software issues to go unannounced. MICROSOFT doesn't do it with their new products, Garmin didn't do it with their GSD sonar module 'bugs' and Furuno didn't do it with some issues in their NAVNET software.

I recently posted a problem with the RAY 53 VHF radios that was published in Boat US. Now I understand that the problem was corrected in later models. But I wonder, how many owners of the earlier units with the problem, ever got a notice alerting them to the fact that the DSC function did not send GPS coordinates with the signal? If not for BOAT US, who would know?

"Packaged Deals"... BUYER beware. Something is usually behind them.

The Truth is that Saddam has SARS- Severe Acute Regime Shrinkage!
Big E is offline  
Old 04-30-2003, 02:09 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 1984 35 Bertram NJ
Posts: 5,914
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

No I do not believe there is a "public recall". This is not some pissant little issue. This new DMS 250 is designed to work with their New HSB2. I purchased the complete "value pack". What ever the problem really is; is definetly a QUALITY ISSUE. I am sending RayMarine an email to that effect. As for Consumers, they have a lot of there own little dirty issues. Yes they knew about this problem. They have a bunch of "upgraded" DMS 250's in the back room. The show room floor is full of unopened "Value Packages" that are going out the door. Crappy way of doing business. When I purchased this package I bought a C-Map chip for the Chart function. I found on the C-Map website an up-grade was made to the chip 6 weeks before I made my purchase. Consumers sold me an outdated chip. I called them on it and they told me to send it to C-Map for an up-grade. I reminded them I paid with a credit card and was not happy with their suggestion. Some how they saw the light and gave me a new chip, which they had in-stock. They were just moving old inventory and the small "c" consumer be damned. I realize things happens; but I am sure this DMS 250 problem could have been avoided.
CB Haws is offline  
Old 05-01-2003, 07:31 AM
  #7  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niantic,CT
Posts: 67
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

you are right, that is not a good thing. At least they should have offered the older c-map at a reduced price. If there is a major issue with these value packs, I am sure we will be hearing about it once the season starts. If I have any problems, I will post about it. The only thing I can't do right now is get the position databox to display any data, but I think thats user error
Joeguy is offline  
Old 05-01-2003, 07:06 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

CB HAWS,

You full of it. I'd be the first one to jump in and sya the marine industry is screwed up, cause it is.

BUT, for you information, when you order a C-Map card from consumers, it is burnt AFTER you order it. That is, they take a blank chip, copy the chart data onto it, then ship it to ya. In other words, they don't STOCK C-Map chips.

Care to elaborate?

PS-I'm not affiliated in any way with consumers, but I've had great experiences with them, the've given me good advice and sometimes, not to their advantage (selling me a cheaper product cuase I didn't need the more expensive one...).

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 05-01-2003, 07:32 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 1984 35 Bertram NJ
Posts: 5,914
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

They have lots of chips in their little packages with the little printed C-Map labels on them, in their little C-Map bags. Why don't you get your facts straight dufus. Have you ever been to the store? I am sure they have to ability to burn chips; but they also have told they do not have certain chips in stock. Anyway smarty painties, why did they try to pawn off an outdated chip if all they had to do was burn another? Why did they tell me to send the outdated to C-Map for an upgrade if they could just burn another. Consumers still tried pull a fast one and when they got caught they still tried to throw the problem back on the small "c" consumer. Birdman why don't you go try to find a worthy cause that needs defending. Consumer's business practices in this case just plain suck. By the way how's this for a response?
CB Haws is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 10:06 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

quote:"Hows this for a reponse."

Just as I expected!! And I'm still very suspect of the incident, as expected.

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 12:11 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Posts: 179
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

Birdman,
The rest of us readers don’t like the flames either, but your insulting response to his {telling him he is full of shit) caused his response. Please try to make your points and exercise your right to disagree without insulting people’s character.
Don
donmoore is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 02:30 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

.
Birdman is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 02:30 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

quote:Originally posted by Birdman:
quote:Originally posted by donmoore:
Birdman,
The rest of us readers don’t like the flames either, but your insulting response to his {telling him he is full of shit) caused his response. Please try to make your points and exercise your right to disagree without insulting people’s character.
Don

Dude,
What are you talking about. I simply said and I quote "Your full of it". That is a insulting post? Man, if that insults you, I suggest you turn off the computer, the TV , go down into the basement and hide from the world, cause your goign to have a VERY difficult time with the rest of life!! LOL!!

Give it a rest!!

This has nothing to do with disagreeing with his opinion. I'm making sure the "opinion" is based on FACTS. And I "disagree" with what he is stating as "facts".


As for the "flames", I enjoy them. Com' ON!!! Ya want a peice of dis??? WHEEEEEEE HAWWWWWWW!!!!

Birdman, Capt of
http://members.aol.com/ccarrara/fishing/sig1.gif
http://members.aol.com/ccarrara/abaco280/ofront1s.jpg

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 04:26 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 1984 35 Bertram NJ
Posts: 5,914
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

BirdMan you are a big joke. Call me a liar if you must; but you are a fool. I made the post so others may not get caught in the same circumstance. I am lucky I only live 20 minutes from Consumers and can go fight it out with them face to face.They still tired to pull a fast one. I would have overlooked the outdated chip if they would have said our mistake and offered a replacement. They wanted me to send it to C-Map for an upgrade, BS. As for the DMS 250 problem. Consumers had at least 20 of the Value Packages stacked on the showroom floor Monday. Non of the seals were broken. That means about 20 people are going to get DMS-250's that will not work with their new HSB2 Plus Color Screens. RayMarine knows there is a problem and so does Consumers; but they are letting folks walk out the door anyway. That The Hull Truth.
CB Haws is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 05:20 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

CB, How can you be so sure they wont work for everyone else? Maybe you wound up with a demo that was repackaged.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 07:49 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 1984 35 Bertram NJ
Posts: 5,914
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

How do I know? Consumers said it is a problem. The RayMarine said we have a problem. "Take it the you dealer and exchange it for a new one."" That's when the fun started and Consumers said we will be glad to send it to Raymarine for you. I said The RayMarine Tech said to bring it in for replacement. After he said she said Consumers said ok. By the way Sea-Dad, Consumers went into my invoice file and changed the serial number for to the replacement DSM 250. They are keeping good records on who got what. I don't think RayMarine needs a public recall on the DSM 250. It just will not work out of the box. The good news is I really like the unit. The RayMarine color display is the best I have seen for the money. I almost went with the Furuno NavNet until Raymarine came out with the "Value Package" and the DMS 250. The DMS 250 turns the analogue FishFinder into a digital FF. Go to the RayMarine website to get the performance details. Maybe next year Furuno will have digital?
CB Haws is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 08:21 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner Element With 60 HP Optimax's
Posts: 17,356
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

I have had cmap on my horizon for 2 years. Initially you could only get the preprogrammed chips, either from cmap or the dealers. When I bought my chartplotter it had a cmap ga coast which I found out was outdated/noncurrent. However the changes were so miniscul they did not affect any navigation capabilities nor did I perceive them to be negative. I'm sure west marine would have taken it back in exchange or efund. Nowadays you can get either the preprogrammed, depending upon dealer stock or have them burn the chip as suggested in previous posts. Why cant we just all get along! Oh the hell with that I'm from N.J.

JIK
Schmaltz~Herring is offline  
Old 05-04-2003, 07:23 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Jacksonville, FL.
Posts: 10,799
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

OK, back to the subject of Raymarine. This isn't the first time I have lamented my problems with Raymarine. I have a radar that quit working either 5 or 6 times during warranty. Each event was the same problem. It cost me $65 each time to ship it back to Raymarine(shipping and packaging) and I spent more money trying to get it fixed on the boat without de-rigging the whole thing. Bottom line is that I have over $600 in costs due to a failure WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. It has been fixed 1 additional time out of warranty(a few months out of warranty). Of course, it was the same problem again. I begged Raymarine to work with me and get me in to another radar where I could have some reliability. I did not ask for a free unit although, under the circumstances, it would not have been a bad gesture on their part. Raymarine service has been slow and their attitude was always smart a$$ and condescending. After the last repair, I sent numerous letters trying to get some response from them and they refuse to respond. They definitely earned an enemy here when they had a great opportunity to win a customer for life.

And, yes, it looks like my radar is crapping out again. Looks like it is time to go ahead and get the Furuno.

FOR SAIL
A 27' Tiara Express...for now
JAGSARE1 is offline  
Old 05-05-2003, 03:04 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

First of all. Your making a whole bunch of assumptions about the 20 units that are sitting in a store. How do you know how old or new they are? How do you know none of them work? How do you know they aren't all brand new units that have come back from Raymarine with the software update in them....?

I think ya get the point. I'm in the IT bidness, and I can tell you almost EVERY single product I buy, does NOT work, "out of the box". The first thing we do is open the box, and throw away any CD's enclosed with it. Then we get on the manufactureres web site and download all the new software and fixes. So to me, "out of box" failures means nothing, it just means they had a plant in Taiwan manufacture the thing 5 months ago prior to the software being completed. I'm not saying this is good or ok, jsut that it is the norm.

Anywho, I have 3 Raymarine devices, all have performed as spec'd, right out of the boxes and I have yet to have ANY problems. Go figure!! How do you guys have your stuff mounted.

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 05-05-2003, 05:25 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 1984 35 Bertram NJ
Posts: 5,914
Default RayMarine Digital Fishfinders has "Out of Box" failure problems

I have 35 Bertram with an over head electronics box. It has 21 XX Radar, V850 Color FF/610 EST ChartPlotter, 398 Nav GPS/Loran, Icom/Navionics BW ChartPlotter, three VHF radios.The RL70 CRC display with C-Map Chart Plotter/FF is going to the right of the helm station. I am tired of looking up. Dms250 digital ducer contol is going under the console next to the 650 Auto-Pilot control box, got to add another GPS mushroom that makes three to the hardtop.The Ray 53 DCS is going on ebay. I will probably sell the V850 and 610 EST after I see if this really works.
CB Haws is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread