Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Updating Garmin software with a MAC? Is it possible?

Notices

Updating Garmin software with a MAC? Is it possible?

Old 06-18-2011, 06:54 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stuart, Florida
Posts: 3,608
Default Updating Garmin software with a MAC? Is it possible?

i have been unable to successfully update my Garmin 545s software using a MAC computer. I am able to download the file however it indicates it is a windows file and am not sure if it is possible. Anyone else using MACs and able to download to a SD card updates?
oceanluvr30 is online now  
Old 06-18-2011, 07:02 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Greenbrae, CA, USA
Posts: 163
Default

Had the same problem while trying to update my 740 and posted same question.

The responses: 1. You can't download the SD card software onto a MAC and 2) They're not planning to make the software MAC downloadable in the future.

These answers were surprising to me considering that Garmin makes good products and prides themselves on customer service. Don't want to begin a Mac versus PC debate but number-wise there are enough Mac users to justify it.
hooked is offline  
Old 06-18-2011, 07:30 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 844
Default

Not you can not update with a MAC pc. What I did was go over my friends house and put the update on the sd card from his house. I then inserted the update into my unit for the update. Or find another Garmin user and ask to borrow their update sd card they created.
trainxxman is online now  
Old 06-18-2011, 07:35 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Greenbrae, CA, USA
Posts: 163
Default

Originally Posted by trainxxman View Post
Not you can not update with a MAC pc. What I did was go over my friends house and put the update on the sd card from his house. I then inserted the update into my unit for the update. Or find another Garmin user and ask to borrow their update sd card they created.
I did the same--went to my neighbor's house and used his computer (non MAC) and updated with a USB SD card
hooked is offline  
Old 06-18-2011, 07:48 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Isn't there software that makes a Mac emulate a PC?
rwidman is offline  
Old 06-18-2011, 12:15 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stuart, Florida
Posts: 3,608
Default

Originally Posted by rwidman View Post
Isn't there software that makes a Mac emulate a PC?

There is a program called Parallels that i have however i was still not successful in loading the update on an SD card . My mac would not recognize the card. Anyway i found someone with a PC and got the update. Thanks! Once you try a mac...you'll never go back, to a PC that is!
oceanluvr30 is online now  
Old 06-18-2011, 01:51 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,795
Default

There is also a product from VMware called (I think) Fusion. It allows you to create a Windows Virtual Machine that runs on top of a hypervisor on the MAC (it is the hypervisor).

I don't own a MAC, but people tell me it works well for window apps. You'd have to try it on a MAC to see. I think its a free download but you would need a licensed copy of windows to run on the Mac.

Edit: here is the link...

http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/overview.html

PS - this should also work for HomePort

Last edited by gerg; 06-18-2011 at 03:12 PM.
gerg is offline  
Old 06-18-2011, 02:26 PM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 63
Default

Winzip can open up the updater files. You just open more exe or folders until you finally get to a "gupdate.gcd" file. Copy that to the sd card in the garmin directory.

Same thing should work for a similar mac program to winzip.
maxjake is offline  
Old 06-18-2011, 06:07 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 844
Default

Originally Posted by oceanluvr30 View Post
There is a program called Parallels that i have however i was still not successful in loading the update on an SD card . My mac would not recognize the card. Anyway i found someone with a PC and got the update. Thanks! Once you try a mac...you'll never go back, to a PC that is!
This is true but you better add the virus protection to that or your computer will get virus to add that software to your MAC. You have a MAC because you do not have to put up with that virus protection slowing down your PC and that defeats the purpose of the MAC. I rather not add that software into my MAC. Just find a friend that can down load onto the SD card and be safe without exposing your pc to a virus.
trainxxman is online now  
Old 06-19-2011, 08:14 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by oceanluvr30 View Post
.......... Once you try a mac...you'll never go back, to a PC that is!
You can argue all day about which is a better computer but if the applications you want to use are only written for a PC, that Mac isn't doing you any good.
rwidman is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 08:57 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: See screen name
Posts: 5,241
Default

By the time you buy the emulation software and a copy of Windows, you may as well buy a PC. I have Macs, and am not crazy about them; we keep a Dell laptop around for just this purpose.

I'll post this on the electronics board, but does anyone know if the Furuno NavNet2 firmware updates work on a Mac? Surprisingly, Furuno didn't know. I have been using the Dell for this purpose.
caltexflanc is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 09:07 AM
  #12  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 66
Default

I have split my Mac HD with Fusion. I can then can generate my updates on my machine. OSX does not take kindly to the split drive. I will have blue screen shut downs. Not very dependable. In my opinion, Windows is not very reliable anyway.
hwbjr is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread