Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

A short chronicle of structure scan problem

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

A short chronicle of structure scan problem

Old 06-22-2011, 05:57 AM
  #21  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Flensburg, Germany
Posts: 1,973
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Nitecapt View Post
Thank you....I tried that as well. Still waiting to hear from Navico....some customer service! If you have a REAL problem, you may be on your own.
they (Navico Germany) are only 30km from me....

Short enough to throw something seriuos.
Old 06-22-2011, 11:49 PM
  #22  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Flensburg, Germany
Posts: 1,973
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by divefreak View Post
they (Navico Germany) are only 30km from me....

Short enough to throw something seriuos.
btw I´m loosing the side scan function around 20-22kn and 18m of water....

going slower or getting in shallow water brings the reading back

Downscan is fine until aprox 30kn.

Not that it is of any use at this speed,
Old 06-23-2011, 08:11 AM
  #23  
Edd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,944
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Nitecap are you using a T-joiner or Multi-joiner in your network? If so, have you changed those out?

Edd
Old 06-24-2011, 05:54 AM
  #24  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northport, NY
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Edd View Post
Nitecap are you using a T-joiner or Multi-joiner in your network? If so, have you changed those out?

Edd
After the transducer goes into the LSS1, it plugs directly into the back of my NSE 12. I'm not sure what you mean by a T-Joiner or Multi Joiner?

There is a Y cable to join the 2 transducers into one cable to go to the LSS1 but that's it.

Can you explain?
Old 06-24-2011, 05:56 AM
  #25  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northport, NY
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by divefreak View Post
btw I´m loosing the side scan function around 20-22kn and 18m of water....

going slower or getting in shallow water brings the reading back

Downscan is fine until aprox 30kn.

Not that it is of any use at this speed,

Could that be crud on your transducer?

I'm glad the people on this forum are making suggestions because I'm sure not hearing back from Navico. I'm about ready to write to the CEO.
Old 06-24-2011, 06:32 AM
  #26  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 435
Received 29 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Did you say that you are losing the structurescan at anything over 20 knots? That is way to fast, structurescan will not pick up anything going that fast.
Old 06-24-2011, 10:58 AM
  #27  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 5,741
Received 87 Likes on 57 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Nitecapt View Post
It certainly is not he NSE 12.
Are you still sure about this?? If you have ruled out transducer & LSS by running duplicate sustems, then I would think it could be an issue w/ the head unit. That, or you are running your t'ducer cables past some serious interference ;?
Old 06-28-2011, 07:04 AM
  #28  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northport, NY
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Now more than 2 weeks!

Originally Posted by Nitecapt View Post
Thank you....I tried that as well. Still waiting to hear from Navico....some customer service! If you have a REAL problem, you may be on your own.

Well, I have tried to be nice, but quite simply put, NAVICO has just been completely unresponsive. Charter after charter comes On my boat and says "what's that". My answer is always the same "A very expensive side scan set up that does not seem to work and the company ignors my requests for help."

I will be writing to the CEO Lief Ottoson this evening. I am late writing an article about structure scan and this has cost me more money than I care to divulge. All I can say is that from my experience, when the chips are down, Navico just isn't there for you. Do a search on here with "Navico tech support" and you will quickly learn about their reputation. I should have listened to others.

Regardless of their answer (or non answer) I will post this group meticulously as to what occurrs. I will also likely post all of the dates of attempted contact and emails that have gone back and forth.

Last edited by Nitecapt; 06-28-2011 at 07:06 AM. Reason: typos
Old 06-28-2011, 07:30 AM
  #29  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northport, NY
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I sent a link to this thread to my Navico tech support person. I received a response within 5 minutes. He advised that he had left me a voicemail message some 10 dyas ago that he would be sending the area sales rep (who is knowlegable about these issues) to look at my problem. While I have no recollection of having received such a voicemail, I would give him the benefit of the doubt so if it occurred, I woudl owe him an apology, however...this doesn't explan the lack of response to the additional email sent on 6/16 with a request for status. It still does not explain the lack of response from the VP who I quoted in a previous post.
As promised, I'll keep you posted.
Old 06-28-2011, 09:24 AM
  #30  
Edd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,944
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

I'm wondering Nitecapt if your 'extremely qualified technician' has talked to the same Navico techs you have?
After re-reading this thread twice in the last 45 minutes, there is one obvious conclusion that sticks out for me. The obvious is NOT the obvious. You have redundant LSS-1 systems running into the same NSE-12. Both LSS-1 systems rendering the identical problem. You say; "It's obviously not the NSE-12.". I say, what else is there left to troubleshoot? I'm wondering if you are this insistent with Navico on the NSE-12?

Is there another boat in your area which you could place your second LSS-1 and transom transducer on (temporarily) for verification? It wouldn't need an NSE-12 but any HDS would tell the tale. Seems if the LSS-1 worked fine on a donor boat, that too would indicate the NSE-12.

Edd
Old 06-28-2011, 12:31 PM
  #31  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northport, NY
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Edd View Post
I'm wondering Nitecapt if your 'extremely qualified technician' has talked to the same Navico techs you have?
After re-reading this thread twice in the last 45 minutes, there is one obvious conclusion that sticks out for me. The obvious is NOT the obvious. You have redundant LSS-1 systems running into the same NSE-12. Both LSS-1 systems rendering the identical problem. You say; "It's obviously not the NSE-12.". I say, what else is there left to troubleshoot? I'm wondering if you are this insistent with Navico on the NSE-12?

Is there another boat in your area which you could place your second LSS-1 and transom transducer on (temporarily) for verification? It wouldn't need an NSE-12 but any HDS would tell the tale. Seems if the LSS-1 worked fine on a donor boat, that too would indicate the NSE-12.

Edd

Edd,
I agree with your observations. Tech support is insistant that it cannot bethe display since the function of the display is only to show what is being sent to it via the lss-1. I actually suggested this to the tech at Navico and suggested that perhaps I might want to attach a Lowrance HDS unit to the cable. There has been no effort to supply me with one, perhaps because they have concluded (right or wrong) that this can't be it.
I think you are right on the money, since there are 2 independant set ups on the boat. Perhaps a different display may behave differently.

I do see what looks like rocks here and there on the bottom, but there is little detail and I can drive slowly past a buoy and can't see the chain or the mushroom anchor which should be clearly visible. Sometimes I see what may be the chain, but it looks like a hair is on the screen.

Thank you for your encouragement.

Ray
Old 06-29-2011, 01:37 AM
  #32  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Flensburg, Germany
Posts: 1,973
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by StPeteRebel View Post
Did you say that you are losing the structurescan at anything over 20 knots? That is way to fast, structurescan will not pick up anything going that fast.
that´s why i wrote this below...

Originally Posted by divefreak View Post

Not that it is of any use at this speed,

btw it still picks up but there´s lots of clutter on the screen
Old 06-29-2011, 05:26 AM
  #33  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 5,741
Received 87 Likes on 57 Posts
Default

I'm going w/ a bad connector at the head unit, or you have your LSS's mounted next to a microwave that is always running...
Old 06-29-2011, 08:05 AM
  #34  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northport, NY
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kitebuz View Post
I'm going w/ a bad connector at the head unit, or you have your LSS's mounted next to a microwave that is always running...

I asked the tech at navico if there was any possibility thatthe cause may be at the head unit. His reply was:
"It is settings of the ducers, the nse is just a dumb display in this showing the video generated by the lss-1"

So I have to trust that this is the case. I believe they are working on sending the area sales rep who is knowledgable in how the unit works. Unitil then, I'll just have to wait.
Old 06-29-2011, 10:12 AM
  #35  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 5,741
Received 87 Likes on 57 Posts
Default

Good luck w/ it. I will be interested to hear what they come up with on it. The display might be "dumb" but if the connection is bad/loose, you are going to get an interruption in the signal.
Old 06-29-2011, 10:29 AM
  #36  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: haddam, ct
Posts: 597
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have an LSS-1 with an HDS 10. I can't always see a navigational bouy chain. I am not worried about it though. I too fish LIS, and the water is filthy enough where I get enough clutter at times to not be able to see these chains.

It picks up wrecks and rocks though very well.
Old 06-29-2011, 08:37 PM
  #37  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: LA - Lower Alabama
Posts: 561
Received 17 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

i just installed the hds10, 3g broadband and the LSS1. I took it out in the Gulf the other day and in 100ft of water i was fishing a army tank that was sunk several years ago. I wasn't very pleased with the side scan but thought I didn't have setting right. The down scan was ok but I was expecting much more from the side scan. I was having another issue with the 3G radar that concerned me more. My brief conversation with their coustomer service didn't leave me with a fuzzy feeling. I going to make some adjustments to my install of the radar and see if it helps. In 100ft of water that is fairly clear I was looking for much more from the side scan. Any suggestions on what the contrast should be set to? On my way in I drove past a channel marker and the post showed once and didn't show another. According to the person I bought the equipment from I have 30 days to return. i will go with the hummingbird because several guys down here are running them and I have seen the displays and they are impressive. I am very pleased with hds10.
Old 06-29-2011, 08:46 PM
  #38  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northport, NY
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Yeah...I'm having real misgivings about the product and even more about the tech support. I have had mine too long to return.The 12" Simrad display is beautiful, but of no use if side scan doesn't work. I bought the 6KW open array antenna which is also outstanding. My problem is that I spent a small fortune for the installation and have no use of the structure scan which is why I switched to the unit in the first place.

Something tells me that I have come upon a reality that will come to light in the future and that is that the product simply does not perform as advertised.

This sounds like class action material to me. We'll see.
Those of us that continue to have problems...keep a record, I may contact you at a later date.

Last edited by Nitecapt; 06-29-2011 at 08:49 PM. Reason: typos
Old 06-29-2011, 10:27 PM
  #39  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 290
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I have 2 nse -12 units and my structure scan works great. I can see wrecks in over 250 ft. I can see bait under sargasm out a couple hundred feet. I have the plastic transducer on my world cat.
Navico customer support has been great and the 3G radar is unbelievable. Very happy with Simrad.
Also my BSM-2 chirp is so baddazz. I can see bottom running at 28 knots 4000 ft deep.
Old 06-30-2011, 03:56 AM
  #40  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northport, NY
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

It's nice to see that someone has it working. I did a search on this forum about Navico support. Mostly I see disappointed people.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.