Notices

Wire size to fuse panel?

Old 12-02-2003, 03:42 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Hanover, NJ, USA
Posts: 251
Default Wire size to fuse panel?

Hello,
Last year I ran a #2 wire to the positive side of the fuse panel, to prevent voltage drop. Should the ground wire off the panel be the same size back to the batteries?

Happy Holidays,
Steelhant
Steelhant is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 03:58 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newport, RI, USA
Posts: 350
Default Wire size to fuse panel?

Yes, without a doubt. think of the path as a two way street in and out of the panel. Number 2 wire in and anything smaller out is going to cause a backup.

Joe
JGKIII is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 04:46 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Default Wire size to fuse panel?

Yup, the same size wire back. There and back gives you the total length of the circuit also; for use in sizing wire, amp load, and voltage drop. #2 should be more than enough.

Boston Whaler, "MUMBLER", 24' Outrage, twin 175 HP Evinrude Ocean Pros. Snowball, the cat...
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 02:15 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default Wire size to fuse panel?

If the run is more than 2 feet, you need to consider protecting it with a fuse or a breaker at the battery.
Sea_Dad is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread